Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Dance with the Diva
A real come-back for Cher , returning to the top music charts with a very contemporary range of compositions. The diva makes with Believe a very high personal statement, setting new standards with strikingly electronic vocals. The very modern beats of Believe are the ultimate on dance floors whereas Dov'e L'Amore shows much more traditional strikes. Believe sets...
Published on 16 Nov. 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but mediocre
The 'Believe' album was a great success for Cher, and nobody could have predicted that she would have had such a smash so late in her career. The title track was one of the biggest hits of 1998, and further singles 'All or Nothing' (a gem in her back catalogue), 'Strong Enough' (a kind of modern day 'I Will Survive') and 'Dov'è l'amore' all met with high chart...
Published on 28 May 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but mediocre, 28 May 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Believe (Audio CD)
The 'Believe' album was a great success for Cher, and nobody could have predicted that she would have had such a smash so late in her career. The title track was one of the biggest hits of 1998, and further singles 'All or Nothing' (a gem in her back catalogue), 'Strong Enough' (a kind of modern day 'I Will Survive') and 'Dov'è l'amore' all met with high chart placing's. However, if I'm honest, these songs are the best tracks, and the rest of the album just isn't as memorable.

It's a fun dance album, but lacks the usual personality from Cher in the songs, which is lost in the production. Perhaps it's because I prefer her rock music and the outstanding 'It's A Man's World' album, but I found 'Believe' to be one of her weaker albums, despite it's success. It has it's good moments, but the real gems can be collected together if you bought the singles at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dance with the Diva, 16 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Believe (Audio CD)
A real come-back for Cher , returning to the top music charts with a very contemporary range of compositions. The diva makes with Believe a very high personal statement, setting new standards with strikingly electronic vocals. The very modern beats of Believe are the ultimate on dance floors whereas Dov'e L'Amore shows much more traditional strikes. Believe sets Cher definitely on top of pop music. I really enjoy her album and it will certainly get you into dancing mood as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong Enough to rock the world, 28 Aug. 2003
By 
welek (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Believe (Audio CD)
The first time I heard Cher's powerful wall-piercing vocal STRONG ENOUGH on the radio, I told myself I'm going to miss the 70s goodness of disco and gayness if I don't dump my then heartbreaking relationship and move on with my life...
DO YOU BELIEVE IN LIFE AFTER LOVE? Yes, for the sake of survivors, Cher will always be a grand guidance figure to shelter us from the cruelty of love when it leaves you bleeding.
Despite of a few critically too cliche-sounding disco tracks, I gave 4 stars to the bold release of this record and insist "this is the (curing) album for the lonely" and hurt.
P/S: The CD sleeve printing is a platinum pearl-like silverish blue which adds the disco feel to this album. I actually bought it twice for an original German copy to replace the "duller" local edition in my country Malaysia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars below average collection of tunes, 10 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Believe (Audio CD)
THIS CD WAS A DISAPOINTMENT MAINLY DUE TO THE FACT THAT MANY OF THE TRACKS APPEARED TO HAVE BEEN RECORDED IN SUCH A FASHION THAT DISTORTION IS APPARRENT, AND AT ONLY 44 MINUTES LONG IT IS OVER WELL BEFORE YOU MIGHT REASONABLY EXPECT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tougher than the rest, 3 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Believe (Audio CD)
After 'Love Hurts', 'Heart of stone' and 'It's a man's world', which are all great albums, Cher's new direction is not for everyone. Die hard AOR fans, woudl reject this album instantaineously, but for the rest of us, the album is yet another touch of class. Though the AOR fans may have deserted the album, a new legion of fans scrambled to buy this great album.
Highlights include the obvious hits 'Believe' 'Strong Enough' 'All or nothing' and the album version of 'Dové L'Amore' but the remix of We all sleep alone stands out just as high as the other classy tracks.
It may only have ten tracks on it, but that's still only about £1 per song, and songs by Cher too, "Cheap at half the price"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cher, 18 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Believe (Audio CD)
I have been a Cher fan for many years since her Sonny and Cher days but my favourite Cher track is its in his eyes the Soup soup song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only Cher Could Pull This Off, 8 Jan. 2003
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Believe (Audio CD)
"Believe" was one of those instant classic songs that defied modern trends by turning an early 80's dance theme into a late 90's monster hit. It's a powerful song and only the brilliant producer Junior Vasquez could produce such a hit. However, the remaining songs are a disappointment, showcasing Cher's amazing voice, but lacking originality. "We All Sleep Alone" is a pleasant soulful rendition that closes the CD, but the middle sounds like the filler that it is. However, only Cher could take ten songs to sell a huge album, just by her own tenacity and talent. Having the one gigantic hit doesn't hurt either. It's worth buying the album just for this song. If you really only want this song, the CD single has so many dance versions, it fills an entire CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Believe (Audio CD)
Another ageless diva performing to a very high standard on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Believe (Audio CD)
Received on time and item as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Believe (Audio CD)
Love this album ! Fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Believe
Believe by Cher
Buy MP3 Album£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews