Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not classic Yes? My backside....
An absolute gem of an album, proving that, irrespective of the vagaries of fashion, talent will out. Yes descended into something of a chaotic state after "Tormato" with all manner of splinter groups, super groups and solo projects taking place. "Drama" was little more than a holding exercise, but with the recruitment of Trevor Horn (ex-Buggles) on production duties, Yes...
Published on 24 Mar 2004 by Shark Sandwich

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Review for discounted CD version!!
If you're thinking of buying this album, you know what the music is like - brilliant- this review however is of the BUDGET CD version WHICH IS COPY PROTECTED. If, like me, you play all your music through a media player but BUY ALL OF YOUR CD'S BECAUSE MP3 DOWNLOAD QUALITY IS RUBBISH.... then don't wast you money on this, because (unless you have some software I don't) you...
Published 16 months ago by ST Nicholls


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not classic Yes? My backside...., 24 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: 90125 (Audio CD)
An absolute gem of an album, proving that, irrespective of the vagaries of fashion, talent will out. Yes descended into something of a chaotic state after "Tormato" with all manner of splinter groups, super groups and solo projects taking place. "Drama" was little more than a holding exercise, but with the recruitment of Trevor Horn (ex-Buggles) on production duties, Yes were leading the field yet again.
There are no duff tracks (altho' "Changes" and "Hold On" are a little AOR for my liking), and "Owner of a Lonely Heart", "It Can Happen", "Our Song" and "Hearts" are absolutely breathtaking - power pop combined with stunning musicianship and fantastic arrangements. It wipes the floor with any of the 5-minute-wonder rubbish that passes as rock these days.
The album was recorded in 1983, but it sounds space-aged even today, thanks to the genius of Trevor Horn. The remaster is just fantastic - I've just listened to it on a rubbishy 30 Matsui stereo and it STILL sounds miles better than the original CD issue. Generous provision of extra tracks and informative sleevenotes too.
Anyone who wants to understand why Yes are SO much more than "prog rock dinosaurs" (GOD I hate that phrase) - BUY THIS ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changes!!!, 6 Aug 2007
By 
Stotty (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 90125 (Audio CD)
After the Drama album and tour of 1980, Jon Anderson replacement Trevor Horn went into music production and guitarist Steve Howe eloped with keyboardist Geoff Downes to form the hugely successful Asia. That left bassist Chris Squire and drummer Alan White to pick up the pieces.
Although they never admitted that Yes had split up, there was no doubt that it was over. However, along came guitarist/keyboardist/songwriter/producer Trevor Rabin, followed by original Yes keyboard player, Tony Kaye. They formed a group called Cinema which looked set to record with Trevor Horn as producer, and then Jon Anderson, who had got to hear some of the Cinema music, decided he wanted to sing on it, and a new look eighties version of Yes was born.
There is more to 90125 than meets the eye. To say it's a commercial sell out is quite untrue.
'Owner Of A Lonely Heart' may have chart/radio friendly appeal, but the vocals and bass playing are distinctly Yes. It also benefits from some exciting Trevor Rabin guitarwork. It works as almost a 'Roundabout' for the eighties.
'Hold On' is typical 1980's arena rock, but the vocal harmonies are unmistakably Yes.
'It Can Happen' is a traditional Yes number with a Steve Howe esque sitar/guitar sound and a memorable melody.
'Changes' has some complex instrumental passages, hammered home with some powerful drumming, and good vocal interplay between Anderson and Rabin.
'Cinema' is a good instrumental workout which I feel should have opened the album, and this leads into the poppy 'Leave It'. I must admit I'm not a fan of this track, but having said that, it works as almost a 1980s version of 'Your Move' from The Yes Album.
'Our Song' is a fairly forgettable track despite some useful keyboards from Kaye, but next track 'City Of Love' is a real show stopper with some unfamiliar hard rock style vocals from Anderson.
Album closer 'Hearts' is the longest track on the album and is arguably the best track on 90125. The vocals and lyrics are typically Yes-like and the instrumental section is quite superb with hard rock guitar, wrapped around Tony Kaye's classy hammond organ solo, reminiscent of the first three albums that he played on.
The production is probably the best and most innovative of all Yes records, and the modern cover and band logo indicate a fresh approach for a newer band, more relevant to changing musical tastes.
The music on 90125 may be more accessible than any previous Yes record, but the individual performances from the band members are excellent throughout. Special mention has to go to Trevor Rabin who plays as if Steve Howe had never existed. In fact his impact on this album is a similar one to Howe's on The Yes Album. He takes the bull by the horns and gives it everything on guitar. His songwriting is also first class. Rick Wakeman has always admitted that he would have loved to have played in this incarnation of the band, so that has to count for something.
Yes had to make this album if there was any chance of the band continuing to make music in the future. As a Yes record, it is a pivotal one in their history. Taken on it's own, it's a simply cracking album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes re-invented, 18 Feb 2004
By 
Robert Frampton "Rob Frampton" (Dartford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 90125 (Audio CD)
There was an air of horror among many Yes-fans when this album first came out. Gone was the epic, indeed quasi-symphonic, sound of old - this was a band who, through Trevor Horn's production and new guitarist Trevor Rabin's heavier tendencies, was embracing the future. What's more, the future worked!
The glossy sheen of these songs still sounds fantastic, and "Owner of a Lonely Heart" is a great pop song (calm down all you prog fans to whom the word 'pop' is anathema!), but Yes hadn't entirely abandoned their penchant for the grandiose, as many of the other tracks testify.
The sleeve notes make it plain that this was almost a Chris Squire/Trevor Rabin project until Jon Anderson was lured back to the fold, and the Cinema version of "It Can Happen" gives a hint of what this group might have sounded like.
My only (slight) problem with this re-release is that it omits the opportunity to include some other remixes that were issued at the time (I've got them on a cassette single and I'd like to get them on CD before the tape wears out!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!!!!, 14 Feb 2004
By 
andrew byrom (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 90125 (Audio CD)
I've been waiting for this CD to get the remaster & reissue treatment for years. It is without doubt the best album of the 80's and for me Yes's best release. Produced to the eye balls, it has some of the finest guitar ever recorded, there are guitar riffs on this CD that you could land a plane on! The songs feel huge, Trevor Horn's production throws everything but the kitchen sink into the mix. 'Owner of a Lonely Heart' hit number one in the US and was the lead single for the album, named by the way after the catalogue number of the CD. It's isn't however the best track, 'Cinema', 'Leave It', 'Changes' all push it close. Great, great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought out of curiosity., 12 May 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 90125 (Audio CD)
DAMN, DAMN and again DAMN!!!
I saw this new reissue as a second time around remaster.
The first remasters came out in 1994 or thereabouts.
I ordered and received it recently from Amazon and WOW!
This time the remastering has been done properly and the
quality of sound reproduction is FANTASTIC!.
The reason for the openning expletatives is that now I shall
have to renew most of the rest of my YES collection on CD!!
Yes and as they say "Curiosity Killed the Cat", and in this case,
my wallet!
Finally, when are YES going to release a PROPERLY remastered copy
of "BIG GENERATOR"??
Great Album but a DREADFUL original transfer to CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Review for discounted CD version!!, 13 Mar 2013
By 
ST Nicholls "viggenboy" (Saxmundham, Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 90125 (Audio CD)
If you're thinking of buying this album, you know what the music is like - brilliant- this review however is of the BUDGET CD version WHICH IS COPY PROTECTED. If, like me, you play all your music through a media player but BUY ALL OF YOUR CD'S BECAUSE MP3 DOWNLOAD QUALITY IS RUBBISH.... then don't wast you money on this, because (unless you have some software I don't) you will have bought a useless plastic bird scarer.

I've heard about these copy protected discs before, but never encountered one, so when it just made awful noises, I thought it (or my media centre) were faulty, but the the Yes album disc I bought at the same time did the same thing.... move to the car CD player, where it played fine Grrrrrr.

If you are listening music publishers, I already bought both of these TWICE before, so you've had your money's worth out of me so to suggest that I'm some sort of crook is insulting. Why should I NOT be able to make good quality MP3/WMA versions of MUSIC I HAVE PAID FOR, especially if you are only going to sell mp3 versions that are only worthy of playing on a 1973 music centre!!!

Be sensible for crying our loud!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Trevors, 3 Jan 2003
By 
Steven Moses - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 90125 (Audio CD)
Things started to get a bit silly in the Yes camp when Anderson walked out with Wakeman leaving Squire to bring in The Buggles for 'Drama'. Squire believed that Trevor Horn and Geoff Downes could replace Anderson and Wakeman. He was wrong even though Downes was a fantastic keyboard player. Horn had yet to find his true calling behind a mixing desk....until now.
In came South African multi-instrumentalist, singer and songwriter Rabin and it his tunes and harmonies with the returning Anderson and Horn's brilliant production that brought Yes into the pop age.
Gone were the dodgy and dated hippy lyrics and 10 minute bass solos to be replaced by 4/5 minute pop songs. Obviously "Owner..." is the stand out track here but the album is excellent overall. Anderson's voice is never better, reigned in by Horn's crisp and modern production and Rabin's ear for a catchy pop hook. It doesn't get 5 stars for me as Wakeman is missing but then again I am very biased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 90125 By YES, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 90125 (Audio CD)
the Eleventh studio Album by the group YES is 90125 from 1983. Jon Anderson returns and the album is produced by Trevor Horn. The album also features the return of Tony Kaye on Keyboard.
The album did well and single "Owner of a lonely heart" charted in the UK and went to number one in the US.
Track listing is 1 owner of a lonely heart 2 hold on 3 it can happen 4 changes
5 cinema 6 Leave it 7 our song 8 city of love 9 Hearts Bonus tracks are 10 leave it (single version) 11 Make it easy (from yesyears) 12 It can happen ( from yesyears) 13 its over (previously unissued) 14 Owner of a lonely heart (alternative mix) 15 Leave it (previously unissued)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS HOW I GOT INTO YES - so I am biased. LOVE IT, LOVE IT..., 13 Mar 2013
By 
Mr Paul Savory (Wrexham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 90125 (Audio CD)
I was 16, and very late getting to know "proper" music. It sounded so new and different when I first heard "Owner Of A Lonely Heart".

THE BOOKLET (16 pages). Always loved the cover - so modern, clean and sharp (still one of my favs covers by anyone). In this edition the cover, spine and inner sleeve have tried to have been recreated to the best. The inner sleeve is a straight copy but not shrunk. The lyrics are on same green colour, and type fonts and spread over 7 pages. There is also an essay of how 90125 came about. There are a few black & White photos.

THE MUSIC. Clean and sharp - but what was so modern then is so dated now AND THAT IS THE POINT: will YOU like it? For me basically the album is "Pop/rock", not prog. It sounds very '80s. But listening to Radio 2 often, what are the 2 most played Yes songs? Wonderous Stories & Owner of a lonely heart. If you are familiar with 90125 but not the bonus tracks don't worry most of the 6 are good.

THE LINE-UP. JON ANDERSON / TREVOR RABIN / ALAN WHITE / TONY KAYE / and of course CHRIS SQUIRE. But the sound was crafted by producer, TREVOR HORN.

ME. I was already into The Floyd, but disappointed but the lack of music on "The Final Cut" (1983 also). When I heard "Owner..." well I had to know more. I had the LP for Xmas 1983. I have never tired of this LP but was satisfied enough with the original cd sound and owning "YesYears" since its release in 1991, with 2 of the bonus tracks here. But as of yesterday I now own this Remastered and Expanded edition and having only paid 3, well. I slowly bought other Yes - (in order (I think)) 1. THE YES ALBUM 2. GOING FOR THE ONE, 3. CLOSE TO THE EDGE and then the 2 years before ABWH all of their lps. The big surprise for me is when it came to BIG GENERATOR, which sounds similar to 90125 in production styling, I got bored after a few years of Big Generator. Perhaps the 3 year gap was too long and by that time I had discovered the '70s Yes?

SOMETHING SIMILAR. only to mention the stunning (I remember BBC1 broadcasting it years before VHS and loving) 9012LIVE concert. The cd and dvd: 9012 LIVE- THE SOLOS/ Expanded 9012 Live [2006] [DVD]

USELESS TRIVIA. I only knew "Owner.." but still remember Mike Reed announcing a Yes competition on Saturday Superstore (which ran from 1982-7) and telling us, the kids, that you should go and call your dad into the room as this comp would probably be more interesting to him - not in our house. I didn't win... but I didn't enter either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes music at its polished best, 26 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 90125 (Audio CD)
90125 is often regarded by Yes purists as not being "proper" Yes music. The music world was taken by surprise when this highly polished, brilliantly produced album appeared - especially since it came from a band as unfashionable as Yes. 90125 had the hard rocking edge and straightforward riffs (thanks to Trevor Rabin's guitar) that previous Yes albums lacked. Add the straightforward keyboard work of Tony Kaye, the driving bass of Chris Squire and the production by Trevor Horn, and you have one of the classic rock albums of all time.
For me, "Owner of a Lonely Heart" has to be the best Yes track of all. But every song on the album is a perfectly honed piece of rock music. If you listen carefully to "Cinema" and "Hearts", you can also hear the musical link with past Yes music which is often overlooked. The previous album "Drama" provided a foretaste of what was to come. But it needed the clean guitar work of Rabin and the trademark Trevor Horn production to lift 90125 to a new level of musical achievement. This is accessible, listenable rock music. No overblown pretension or superfluous 20 minute excusions into self-indulgence here. Just excellent sounds. This is my favourite album for driving long distance.
Unfortunately, like all unique albums, Yes have been unable to repeat the success of 90125. One problem with the excellent studio production is that the music sounds two-dimensional when played live: just listen to 9012-live the solos. By the time the next studio album, Big Generator, appeared in 87, Yes had lost producer Trever Horn and, with him, they lost that edge which they have been striving to regain ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews