Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cascading Style Sheets? No, just tunes...
I'm a sucker for a bit of foil-blocking on a CD cover so I bought this. And it's darn funky. Essentially it's a bunch of hot Brazilian girls and an old guy making electro-party tunes in the LCD Soundsystem stylee.

With songs like 'Meeting Paris Hilton' and 'Music is My Hot Hot Sex' it could all be a bit arty-style-posturing, but it's the sound and lyrics have a...
Published on 6 Sep 2006 by E. Wright

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to standard
It's a mad album but, 6 months on, I find myself ignoring the large majority of tracks. "Let's make love and listen death from above" is still a great track, but the other ones sound a bit immature, like schoolgirls sniggering at the dirty words they can say. Not a sexy album at all.
Published on 6 Feb 2008 by Phil Betjeman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cascading Style Sheets? No, just tunes..., 6 Sep 2006
By 
E. Wright (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cansei De Ser Sexy (Audio CD)
I'm a sucker for a bit of foil-blocking on a CD cover so I bought this. And it's darn funky. Essentially it's a bunch of hot Brazilian girls and an old guy making electro-party tunes in the LCD Soundsystem stylee.

With songs like 'Meeting Paris Hilton' and 'Music is My Hot Hot Sex' it could all be a bit arty-style-posturing, but it's the sound and lyrics have a tongue-in-cheek hint of Har Mar Superstar about them. It's the kind of music you'd expect to hear at a particularly good Sonar house party.

Great for parties, put in on your stereo multi-changer with LCD, Hot Chip and Datarock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original, fun and barmy, 18 Jan 2007
By 
Ms. D. A. O'neil (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cansei De Ser Sexy (Audio CD)
I was given loads of music for Christmas because I needed to update my CD collection and have only just got round to listening to it because I saw the fantastic video for Off The Hook on MTV2 and I just LOVE it!

It doesn't have to grow on you, it's not complex, it is immediate and exhilarating, the whole album is great and out there. It's totally addictive and cool and you should own this it will make you happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bonkers Rock from Brazil, 4 July 2007
This review is from: Cansei De Ser Sexy (Audio CD)
I thought I'd give this album a shot after seeing this Brazilian lot at Glastonbury where they put on a thoroughly enjoyable show despite the inevitable rain. And what a peculiar mixture it has turned out to be - a bit like them. CSS appears to be a consortium of female multi-instrumentalists with a token male on drums - except when he's playing keyboards and the lead guitarist has taken over on the drum stool. See what I mean?

The music is a similar melting pot in that it comprises a patchwork of rhythms drawing from 70s disco and 90s indie over some solid drumming and semi-rap vocals. A bit like you'd expect The Fall to sound if given a disco treatment and a female vocalist in place of Mark E Smith.

It's all a bit hit and miss but never less than enjoyable. Some of it like `Alala' and the fabulous `Off the Hook' is very good indeed where driving chunky electro pop melds with a decent tune. Elsewhere, it doesn't quite work, but nothing ever outstays its welcome so if you don't get on with any particular track, there's always another arriving soon.

Overall, it's a fun listen and an album I'm glad to own. If you fancy something a bit different and frankly, bonkers, give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, catchy and out there..., 24 Feb 2007
By 
J. Bloss "jethrox1" (Buckingham,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cansei De Ser Sexy (Audio CD)
CSS have come up with a really catchy pop album. Okay so there's some explicit lyrics but they don't overshadow what CSS have come up with - an electronic/rock pop album. Once you have heard "Alala" a couple of times it's very hard to get it out of your head and "Music is my hot, hot sex" is another great song with a great chorus.CSS have imbued this album with fun,weirdness, sexiness and some cool tunes. You won't find the meaning of life here but you'll certainly have a great time listening and singing along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool accents and some class tunes, 20 Sep 2006
By 
Matt (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cansei De Ser Sexy (Audio CD)
This album hasn't left the CD player since I got it as 'Patins' just won't leave my head alone! I'm glad I bought this for that track alone!

It doesn't get 5 stars because most of the tracks are a bit too girly and simplistic for my tastes, although still well listenable. The single 'Lets make love..." is great and bound to get you moving like an imbecile.

Maybe I just like them because I think Lovefoxxx sometimes sounds like Kim Gordon (Sonic Youth) with a brazillian accent (maybe it's just a fantasy though).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nu rave fun with bonus tracks, 16 Aug 2013
This review is from: Cansei De Ser Sexy (Audio CD)
I have loved this album since it was first released. Its upbeat and raw and captures CSS at their best. The Brazilian version has some extra tracks sung in Portugese which was my main reason for purchasing this version. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most promising debuts of 2006, 5 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cansei De Ser Sexy (Audio CD)
This was one of the most promising debuts of 2006. The songs on it are lively, upbeat and infectious, from the fun disco of 'Lets Make Love and listen to death from above', to the fierce and adrenalin-fuelled elctro of 'Alala'. This album does not relent in it's determination to make the listener enjoy themselves, or dance, or both.

'Patins' and 'Off The Hook' are both exercises in how to create great Indie music, the former being one of the most raw and raucous songs on the album, whilst the various musical combinations work well in all of the nooks and crannys of this album.

This album is colourful, wacky, interesting and endearing, much like the band who spawned it. Long may they avoid the lure of major-label profiteering, and continue to make glorious electro/disco classics like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You have to fight for your right to party, 9 Dec 2006
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cansei De Ser Sexy (Audio CD)
I would call "Cansei De Ser Sexy" a party album with absolutely no originality whatsoever, except I haven't been to a party for a good many years so I cannot empirically make that claim. I will suffice by saying that if I was in charge of a party CSS would definitely get an airing at some juncture.

This is a buoyant but adult album, leaving a trail of hedonistic pheromone tinged fumes in it's wake yet the most interesting thing about it is that the original version of the album by the Brazil based band featured tracks sung in Portuguese, but when the album was picked up by Sub Pop for release in the USA and UK the Portuguese tracks, four in total, were dropped lest I hypothesise, should the potential audience be alienated by a load of foreign sounding rubbish.

Crass decision though that was , at least it's British release has allowed us to hear this excellent album which mixes electro pop with subtle Latin nuances , a sussed ear for a floor filling tune and a joi de vive that would make Keith Chegwin blanche. The band consists of five girls and a male drummer and though their gestation may have been as amateur backup to Too Many DJ,s it's clear they have an effortless instinctive grasp of pop dynamics so the albums fusion of sinister synth beats, chunky handclaps, and skittish funk/disco rhythms very rarely sounds awkward or forced. To make things even more interesting there is a sly (and sometimes downright lavicious) sense of humour evident in titles like "Meeting Paris Hilton" and the rather obtuse "F**k Off Is Not The Only Thing You Have To Show". Best of all is "Off The Hook" and "Musk Is My Hot Sex" which are as addictive as a vigorous massage and twice as much fun.

Ordinarily I would rather pierce my eyelids with a road drill than indulge in an album purporting to be fun and party orientated but to let such grouchy snobbery stop you hearing an album like "Cansie De Ser Sexy" is to indulge in the forced removal of the proboscis to spite the face .It's a bit puerile and definitely not for kids but like so many things that verge on the objectionable it wouldn't be half as pleasurable as it is if it wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to standard, 6 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Cansei De Ser Sexy (Audio CD)
It's a mad album but, 6 months on, I find myself ignoring the large majority of tracks. "Let's make love and listen death from above" is still a great track, but the other ones sound a bit immature, like schoolgirls sniggering at the dirty words they can say. Not a sexy album at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Upbeat and good fun., 2 Mar 2007
This review is from: Cansei De Ser Sexy (Audio CD)
Excellent, From the start this cd gets going, css sucks leadsthe cd and from there it just keeps building up."Patins" and "alala" have not come off my stereo all week, really catchy and energetic.

Lovefoxx

has a great turn of phrase and occasionally her Brazilian accent comes through and it is very seductive in a strange way.

Apparently their label Sub Pop made them cut four songs in Portuguese from this cd, which is a shame, as a listener I wish the label would have credited the audience a bit more , I'd have loved to have heard them singing in Portuguese more, not all of us are as closed minded as the powers that be at Sub Pop!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews