Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning selection!
Crosby & Nash's first album as a duo balances sing-a-long rockers with reflective mood pieces which suprise and delight. Of the two artists, Crosby produces the quieter moments - 'Where Will I Be?'is one of his most depressing yet beautiful songs, balanced by the answer song of 'Page 43,' his first steps to recovery following the death of Christine Hinton. He also...
Published on 11 Feb 2002

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a new remaster!
Regretfully, after receiving this CD, I found out that this is just a reissue of the previously, in 1998, released issue, only this is in jewel case with a new release number and the former in digipack. It's the exact same loud and compressed master and the CD itself looks exactly the same! What a pity with such a lovely album! I'll track down the vinyl instead.
Published 23 months ago by Lars-Olof Ström


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning selection!, 11 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Crosby And Nash (Audio CD)
Crosby & Nash's first album as a duo balances sing-a-long rockers with reflective mood pieces which suprise and delight. Of the two artists, Crosby produces the quieter moments - 'Where Will I Be?'is one of his most depressing yet beautiful songs, balanced by the answer song of 'Page 43,' his first steps to recovery following the death of Christine Hinton. He also succeeds with the calmness of 'Games,' a song rejected by the Byrds.Nash equally shares the spoils - 'Southbound Train' is a Dylan-Eagles type song but with the glorious harmonies, while 'Stranger's Room' & 'Immigration Man' were based on reallife events. Equally 'Frozen Smiles' was written about Nash's troubled friendship with Stephen Stills at the time - showing that C&N didn't really need him at this point. Atlantic's decision to re-release this album was a wise one indeed. An excellent album all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Crosby & Nash, 24 Jun 2004
By 
Juan Mobili (Valley Cottage, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crosby And Nash (Audio CD)
Finally, after eons out of print, Atlantic made available again this gem from the early 70's, a great album even in the context of the great music that was still being created, regularly, back then, and probably one of Crosby & Nash's most accomplished collaborations.
Everything you likely already cherish about these two is present here, heartfelt and immaculate harmonies, strong and distinct compositions from both artists, and superb musicianship -again provided by the 60's elite of California's session players.
When it comes to specific songs, it's more a matter of personal choices than objective hierarchies. Nash's songs are particularly moving and fiercer -as much as "fierce" is ever something to be said about Graham Nash- than anything in "Songs For Beginners." Crosby's pieces carry the wonderful dramatic undertow he could invoke -it seems, at will- ever since The Byrds' days and, more poignantly, in his first solo album and Deja Vu.
All in all, a thing of beauty. No disappointments, no proverbial "black holes."
An example of the significant music that you could still expect in the early seventies, before that decade turned grandiose and stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crosby Nash , The One you should get, 2 Nov 2006
By 
noddy g (yorkshire,england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crosby And Nash (Audio CD)
This is the first album released by just Crosby and Nash and its a winner. Its that album that you want to play late at night, with rain on the windsheild,or with that open fire lit. Ok it is a bit hippy, but at the good end of the spectrum, pure Woodstock Folk music. The delight with this compared to other C and N release is that you can listen to it whole as a complete piece of music, theres no dross. Other C and N albums have their moments , all have good songs on, but not until the latest one, the one they annoyingly seem to also called Crosy and Nash , which i call ' Lay me Down', do they do another consistant album.

This album though kicks off with the splifftastic ' Southbound Train' by Nash and even if you gave up chasing smoke circles in '74 it evokes that folky feel.Wheres my Freak Bros mag gone? I would highly reccomend this album and hope a version with bonus tracks and info book comes out as I'm sure they must of recorded more at these sessions and I , and it seems most other people know very little about this not quite lost gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Special Vintage, 26 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first saw Crosby & Nash over 30 years ago sing the songs on this wonderful album. Age may have withered them but it has`nt staled their infinite variety. The music ranges from simple, accoustic love songs to excellently produced soft rock. It`s a record that captures the mood of it`s time and place. A time when music had`nt been hi-jacked by metronomic electronic gimmickery and over sophisticated stage shows. Just two men sitting in the spotlight, occasionally supported by a backing group in the best tradition of the old singer-song writers. May that Southbound Train continue to roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Partnership, 14 Feb 2010
By 
A. D. Hall (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this album since 1972. The vinyl copy still had regular playings, but decided to invest in a CD copy at a price that was just to silly to pass by. Shame there are no bonus tracks, as I'm sure there are some additional songs that never saw the light of day, or the 'extended' original takes like those that have subsequently surfaced on Remastered versions of DC's and CSN&Y boxsets, and raised the question just why the hell they were edited in the first place.
Nevertheless, this CD is quality stuff from beginning to end. Crosby's 'dark' and slightly obtuse approach to song structure is perfectly complimented by Nash's more direct approach. Anyone who regarded Nash as 'the lightweight' amongst CSN&Y should think again. True, his contributions to the early CSN(&Y) were the poppier elements of their sound, but also some of their most instantly recognisable and commercially successful numbers. Here Graham has added a bit more bite to his songs, particularly the closing 'Immigration Man'.
The album opens with Nash's 'Southbound Train' which has Nash moving from his english pop mode of Deja Vu's 'Our House' into a truly American mellow country rock sound, similar in sound and feel to much of Neil Young's 'Harvest' album, and with great success.
Crosby follows up with the excellent 'Whole Cloth', and their trend of (by and large) alternating tracks, which is followed on their next 2 albums is set. If it works so well, why change it.
Anybody who admires Crosby's work in either The Byrds, CSN(&Y) or his brilliant 'if I could only remember my name' solo debut will not be disappointed in any of his work here. In fact songs such as 'Where will I be?" and "Page 43" could be among his very best. The same goes for fan's of Nash's 'Song's for Beginners', and this joint effort is, unsuprisingly, the natural companion album to both their solo albums and Deja Vu. Given the excellence of those albums that amounts to a hearty recommendation for Crosby and Nash's first, and in my opinion, best joint album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C & N first record with bonus tracks?, 23 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. A. W. Riggs "bernard shakey" (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Released on cd some years ago to celebrate 40 years of Atlantic, this new release on Rhino claims to have FOUR bonus tracks but latest news is that there are no new tracks. Whilst one of C & Ns more consistent efforts with Crosby's Page 43 being the highlight - there is no need to buy this if you already have it ..CHECK if the additional tracks are there before buying it. CD JUST ARRIVED AND NO EXTRA TRACKS...RIP OFF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one to listen to when seriously depressed, 7 Mar 2011
By 
H. Llewelyn "Hugh Llewelyn the Welshman" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Possibly the best of any album of C,S,N & Y; C, S & N; or N & C. But must be depressed when listening to it otherwise it's full impact will not be appreciated - preferably after rejection in love, losing a love or yearning after an unrequited love. But suffering from extreme angst will do. If, on first listening, you think "Where I will be" is the saddest song you have ever heard, just wait until you reach "Games"! What an opening line - "Born in the Sunshine, dying in the rain...". How can you beat that for non-joyoussness? Definately one I am going to play at my funeral to get everyone weeping profusely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful album, 29 Aug 2008
By 
This is a fantastic collection of songs, and perhaps the best of all the albums which sprang from CSN. It has Crosby's strongest selection of songs, including the amazing Games and the haunting and moving Where will I be? This and Wind on the water represent Crosby and Nash's creative peak, with or without S and Y.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful sounds, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First had a copy of this wonderful music in 1973, on vinyl. It has managed the transition to CD in fine style without any loss of clarity.
I had the good fortune to see this duo live in concert in Nov 2013, some of the songs were sung, to highlight the quality sounds that will transcend time.
JUST A QUALITY RECORDING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crosby And Nnash, 19 Nov 2013
By 
P. R. Phillips (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crosby And Nash (Audio CD)
This is the first of three Crosby And Nash albums, perhaps the strongest of the three although many will say "Wind On The Water" was their best.Southbound Train, Whole Cloth, Strangers Room, Page 43, Games, Girl To Be On My Mind, The Wall Song and Immigration Man are my favourites.
1. Southbound Train
2. Whole Cloth
3. Blackstones
4. Strangers Room
5. Where Will You Be?
6. Page 43
7. Frozen Smiles
8. Games
9. Girl To Be On My Mind
10. The Wall Song
11. Immigration Man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Graham Nash & David Crosby (US Release)
Graham Nash & David Crosby (US Release) by Graham Nash & David Crosby
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews