Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly evocative music from The X-Files
The music of Mark Snow helped make The X-Files one of the most engaging, remarkable shows in television history, yet it is easy to overlook the importance of the show’s consistently amazing weekly score, what with all of the intrigues and dark mysteries challenging Agents Mulder and Scully. With this album, one gets the chance to concentrate on the music in and of...
Published on 6 April 2003 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A travesty
The X Files has great music but this CD ruins it all by using weird voice overs and snippets making the whole music experience dire. This CD went straight to Oxfam after one painful play through.
Published 14 months ago by M J LEVY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly evocative music from The X-Files, 6 April 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The music of Mark Snow helped make The X-Files one of the most engaging, remarkable shows in television history, yet it is easy to overlook the importance of the show’s consistently amazing weekly score, what with all of the intrigues and dark mysteries challenging Agents Mulder and Scully. With this album, one gets the chance to concentrate on the music in and of itself, albeit laced with numerous bits of dialogue, and the true power of Snow’s genius is impossible to dismiss or ignore. I’m quite out of my element when it comes to discussing this music; I suppose it is best classified as electronic music with all sorts of funky nuances I won’t even attempt to describe because nothing I could say would truly do them justice. These tracks are actual pieces used in The X-Files over the course of its first two seasons, and so it should come as no real surprise that their exceptional ethereal quality easily transports one’s imagination into the cryptic world haunted by the indefatigable Agent Mulder and his faithful friend and loyal partner Agent Scully. This album is amazingly evocative of the television show I and so many others became much more than addicted to. Proof of my addiction is the fact I bought this album; generally, I dislike music without singing. This, however, is much more than a musical score; it is undeniably X-Files in its very nature, and as such I really and truly enjoy listening to it. It’s not something I pop in the CD player on a regular basis, but it is just what the doctor ordered when I am in a certain dark yet inquisitive mood and could well serve as excellent music to study by. You don’t even have to listen to this album; all you have to do is sit back, relax, and let Mark Snow’s musical score transport you on a trip of imagination colored by haunting, cosmic dissonance to a world where truth is no longer out there somewhere but is instead inside your very head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic, 1 Feb 2010
By 
When I listened to this CD I felt so nostalgic about the TV Serie. It's a moving compilation with the best quotes of The x files. Great for listening at night, it's quite relaxing, and sometimes spooky. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the x-files rock!, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good compilation of soundtracks from the excellent series. I liked this one better than another x-files music cd which I had purchased before. Only thing is the talking in between tracks, may not be to everyone's taste, but I still liked the tracks. CD in good condition and sent within the time specified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A travesty, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The X Files has great music but this CD ruins it all by using weird voice overs and snippets making the whole music experience dire. This CD went straight to Oxfam after one painful play through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth and the Light : Music from the X Files, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is brilliant - It is exactly what I want - I would definitely recommend you guys to anyone

THANK YOU ALL FOR EXCELLENT SERVICE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 19 May 2012
By 
Arve Eriksson (Göteborg, Sverige) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't know that there's more to say than the title - the tracks on this CD are nearly all haunting, fitting background music for creeping around the supernatural. Listen to some samples from this CD if you need help deciding. This isn't like classical music, and will not provide many surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews