Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much like the movie...
As fans of his movies will know, Michael Mann treats music as a fundamental tool in his movies to enhance and (at times) subvert the atmosphere of each scene. As such, those who liked the movie (and I count myself as one) will like this album. Smooth electronica mingles at times with heavily distorted power chords and at others soulful vocals. Taken together with the...
Published on 9 Aug 2006 by J. Pitman

versus
27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars missing most of the key songs from the film
This album is okay as far as it goes... but, alas, that's not very far at all. As with the Jarhead OST, this is a soundtrack album that fails to include the key track featured in the trailer, in this case the Jay-Z/Linkin Park collaboration from the opening scene. The new stuff from Audioslave is also sadly lacking. You do get a fair bit of Moby (I think there may be an...
Published on 12 Aug 2006 by la_pretzel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much like the movie..., 9 Aug 2006
By 
J. Pitman "Jujijoker" (The land of constant beauty) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As fans of his movies will know, Michael Mann treats music as a fundamental tool in his movies to enhance and (at times) subvert the atmosphere of each scene. As such, those who liked the movie (and I count myself as one) will like this album. Smooth electronica mingles at times with heavily distorted power chords and at others soulful vocals. Taken together with the gentle but insistent beats of the soundtrack comprising the last four tracks, it is like listening to an audiobook of some of the more memorable scenes.

Stand outs are the mesmeric "One of These Mornings", "Anthem" and "Sinnerman", the evocative "Pennies in my Pocket" and (for me the highlight) "A-500", the slick groove that accompanied the flight to the Domenican Republic - the chord progression sounds like a homage to "Crockett's Theme".

Those of you who like electronica and ambient music generally will also find things to like about the album, though perhaps the less said about the nu-metal cover of "In the Air Tonight" the better...

One warning - the two Audioslave tracks that stand out in the movie do not appear on this soundtrack, on account of the band's impending new album. Nor does "Numb/Encore"...but to be honest if you can't find a copy of that somewhere, you're not trying hard enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars missing most of the key songs from the film, 12 Aug 2006
By 
This album is okay as far as it goes... but, alas, that's not very far at all. As with the Jarhead OST, this is a soundtrack album that fails to include the key track featured in the trailer, in this case the Jay-Z/Linkin Park collaboration from the opening scene. The new stuff from Audioslave is also sadly lacking. You do get a fair bit of Moby (I think there may be an official quota for obligatory Moby content in film soundtracks), a decent Nina Simone remix, and an okay nu-metal cover of In The Air Tonight, but that's about it. Which is, frankly, a bit cheeky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feel like a bit of gutsy music, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At first didnt like the production / sound quality. Now got myself a Kenwood CD player sound fab. Such a variety of
music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Soundtrack, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the movie, and the soundtrack is a great accompaniment. Even so, its easy to listen to on a day to day basis. Very happy with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars once again..., 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
... we get a movie soundtrack with major songs missing, especially the first song, jayz/linkin park's numb.
dumb dumb dumb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miami vice soundtrack, 20 April 2012
Bought this soundtrack for my car , it is brilliant love the salsa music as well" it actually makes you feel as if you are really in Miami - mixture of all sorts - I recommend if you like miami vice - "buy it"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very solid soundtrack, 16 July 2011
By 
J. Clark (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miami Vice Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (U.S. Version) (MP3 Download)
A good collection of tracks, the only thing missing is that it doesn't feature the title track which is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like reliving the film, 2 Sep 2006
Absolutely agree with J Pitman read their review. Fantastic album even with the trailer track missing, haven't stopped listening to it, in the car and around the house. There's something for everyone on the album, my boyfriend and I have very different tastes in music but we can agree on listening to this album when we are together. Does help if you've seen the movie though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loyal but Mixed Soundtrack, 12 Jan 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The soundtrack is loyal to the movie. However, in the movie the music is well placed. Outside the movie it's just a mix of tracks that do not go well together. Listening to this soundtrack makes for little excitement. Most tracks will quickly be skipped and only a few listened to in length.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, 9 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderfully atmospheric soundtrack. Like most Michael Mann films, music played a huge part in setting the tone for this hugely underated film. There are several notable omissions - the two Audioslave tracks for instance, but don't let this put you off they are easily found elsewhere. This is one of my favourite soundtracks and I heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabd19354)

This product

Only search this product's reviews