Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soo Cool
This music is so easy to listen to and relax. There is the feeling of history and the toil and danger, but never a feeling of depression.
Published on 22 Feb 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Expected better from Vangelis.
Not one of Vangelis's best Albums...but sound quality is excellent.
Published 7 days ago by D.White


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soo Cool, 22 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This music is so easy to listen to and relax. There is the feeling of history and the toil and danger, but never a feeling of depression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent soundtrack, 2 Nov 2008
By 
LXIX (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The multi-million selling "1492: Conquest of Paradise" is another musical masterpiece from Vangelis.

Christopher Columbus's first voyage from Spain to the Bahamas, Hispaniola and Cuba was a truly significant and momentous event in human history. The film, directed by Ridley Scott and released to mark the 500th anniversary of this journey, is greatly enhanced through this accompanying music.

Every track in this 55 minute CD is quality and there's great variety - for example, the gravitas of the maritime sounding "Conquest of Paradise", the Latin hymns of "Monastery of La Rabida", the Hispanic atmosphere in "Deliverance", the regal air that is created in "City of Isabel", the innocence of the indigenous peoples and the beauty of their existence in "Eternity" and the subsequent ethnic tension and conflict skilfully captured by "Moxica and the Horse".

It's also worth mentioning "Hispaniola". This song is a sonic force of nature that blends Flamenco, latin and tribal elements to create a wonderful sense of destiny and a turning point in history.

It's no surprise that music from this album has been used by others in a diverse number of fields such as sport and politics all over the world. Overall, a must have soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movie music CD's, 21 Sep 2007
By 
Wim Nelis "Wim" (Geel, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you ever saw the movie (who did't??) you must agree with me that the music was awesome. This is one of those CD's that have been composed very well and even without the movie you get a very good picture in your mind what's going on. There is one song where I just imagine the 'Pinta', 'Niña' and the 'Santa Maria' sailing through the rought seas towards the new world...really gripping. Even after so many years I still play this CD on a regular basis. Stronly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Majestic, heaving, choral...., 22 Jun 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Though I had the title track on my Vangelis compilation, 'Portraits' which was a real highlight, I only recently came to know this lesser known film score by the London based Greek keyboard wizard.

I bought the DVD of the film, but as anyone who knows that film, with Gerard Depardieu awkwardly handling his leading role as Columbus, and with the lumpy narrative, the music suffers.

Much better to let this CD unfold at a decent volume either on proper hi-fi or through good headphones. Then, you get that epic journey washing over you, refreshing and submerging, so much so, that you can nearly smell the salty sea and hear the creaking timbers of the ship. It works as an album too, with most pieces (these are 'pieces', not tracks!) seguing nicely one from another.

1492 is more symphonic - and even 'classical' that than say, Chariots of Fire, but don't let that put you off and I think is probably an all-round better album than that one. But, this is still powerfully accessible and hugely emotive stuff, you just have to appreciate good music, crafted by the best man who composes AND plays all his own music, in the World.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Moments, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My last copy of "Conquest of Paradise" was stolen which does not surprise me as it is a great piece of music. I was worried that I would not be able to replace it but this c.d. is just what I wanted. Every track is evocative of the time and place in history and so very well presented as to make you want to cry! I would recommend this c.d. to anyone who loves top class background music and it goes particularly well with Sunday lunch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning soundtrack album from Vangelis., 28 May 2010
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I received this as a Christmas present way back in 1992 when it was released. I've been playing it on my hi-fi and in my car on and off since. I think this is one of Vangelis's best soundtrack albums. It is luscious and dreamy in its soundscapes and essence of the high seas and of Christopher Columbus's conquest across the Atlantic to discover the Americas way back in 1492. For this brilliant piece of music, Vangelis uses his usual standard of sounds and music on his synthesizers accompanied by an orchestra and choir along with solo voices to get the atmosphere of the 15th century.

My favourite tracks if I were to choose any would be "Conquest of Paradise" because of its vision of riding across the surf and travelling through the waters and "Pina. Nina. Santa Maria (Into Eternity)" for its epic feel and quality of the music mixed in with the various sounds Vangelis conjures up on his synthesizers.

One of my favourite Vangelis CDs and it's this album that made me fall in love with Vangelis's music and made me realise how much an influence he has become to many musicians out there. This CD is relaxing and makes you drift and visualise the landscapes that gets painted on the listeners' minds when they're listening. A wonderful soundtrack to a pretty decent film by Ridley Scott. Celebrating 500 years since Columbus 'sailed the ocean blue'. Magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vangelis 1492, 14 Feb 2010
By 
Stephen Flay (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a brilliant album. Vangelis has created some beautiful and moving passages of instrumentation and some dramitic and hypnotic rythems which are backed up with deep synthesised base. This is a great CD for long car journeys and you just have to play it again when it finishes. My favorite track in 10, moxam and the horse which lasts for about10 minutes. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting and hypnotic, 17 July 2001
By A Customer
Its haunting and atmospheric tunes fire the imagination with ancient kingdoms and peoples and their struggle against the conquistadors. It is not depressing though, just beautiful to listen to preferably at sunset with a good glass of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of THE best Vangelis albums, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's one of the only Vangelis albums I have that I could listen to over and over again.
The music is detailed and very melodic and for me very relaxing.
My Wife enjoys listening to this album too despite being a pop music fan.
Infact, I think she has turned into a Vangelis fan too.
The tracks on this album are pieced together well and really suit the soundtrack for the film.
Vangelis at his very best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stirring film theme CD from the master of the over-the-top instrumental, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, so not to everyone's taste by any means and there are some less strong moments in here - but a great stirring film theme CD - and strangely popular with our kids as road music when they were teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews