Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value collection from an often overlooked soul master
This collection gives a good overview of some of the most notable tracks
by Donny Hathaway, the classy soul singer / pianist who died tragically
young in 1979. It includes a number of well-known songs which Hathaway
handles in his own distinctive style, as well as several hit duets with
Roberta Flack, whose musical style has much in common with that...
Published on 28 Jan. 2002 by Mr M A Vout

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Donny Hathaway
This cd is good but I think they should have included the track love,love,love on this cd although there is that what's going on track truly great version just that track alone makes this cd great
Published on 13 Sept. 2012 by Brian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value collection from an often overlooked soul master, 28 Jan. 2002
By 
Mr M A Vout (Shrewsbury, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This collection gives a good overview of some of the most notable tracks
by Donny Hathaway, the classy soul singer / pianist who died tragically
young in 1979. It includes a number of well-known songs which Hathaway
handles in his own distinctive style, as well as several hit duets with
Roberta Flack, whose musical style has much in common with that of
Hathaway. Most of the songs are slow ballads; for the most part this isn't
dance music but rather thoughtful and heartfelt true 'soul' music. However,
it's a pity about the dreary cover design and the lack of any biographical
details or musician credits, which would have enhanced an otherwise good
package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 19 April 2009
Donny Hathaway is a musical genius, his tone and phrasing is bar none. From start to finish this album does not have one bad track, they can make you cry or smile. This album is musical chocolate,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a voice, what music., 5 Aug. 2007
By 
David R. Bishop "Bishbaby" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Donny Hathaway is little known to the general public, beyond a duet partner of Roberta Flack. They had several hits together, included here. His solo work should be much better known. It is drenched in class and soul. If you like Stevie Wonder and Marvin Gaye, then I rate this guy right up there with them.

Sometimes the emotion that the music evokes is almost too real and painful. The first track 'A Song For You' sets the pace for much of the album. It opens with beautiful tinkling piano, then you just know that something very special is going to happen. The song has been recordrd by The Carpenters and Natalie Cole as well as others, but to my ears, this is the definitive version.

This album is a good introduction to one of the finest and most talented soul singers. I warn you that you might want more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top notch vocals, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Donny Hathaway Collection (MP3 Download)
I've only just really discovered the vocal talents of the late great Donny Hathaway even though I bought his single Back Together when it first came out in 1980. All I can say is that why on earth did I wait so long to listen to the one of the great soul voices of our time. Apart from Mr Vandross, this man has to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Donny Hathaway Collection (MP3 Download)
I purchased this collection as it has all the best song by Donny Hathaway. It is simply amazing! Everytime I listen to it it makes me want to join in and sing it too. I have some favorites and these are actually on my music list for my wedding reception. I love this album and if you have not heard it yet, do it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Probably one of the best singers around in the seventies in my opinion and ..., 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Donny Hathaway Collection (MP3 Download)
Probably one of the best singers around in the seventies in my opinion and the album I just bought has some great tracks on it. Sounds a little like George benson in some of the songs he sings who I also think great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Donny Hathaway, 13 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cd is good but I think they should have included the track love,love,love on this cd although there is that what's going on track truly great version just that track alone makes this cd great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Donny Hathaway rocks, 7 Jan. 2014
By 
maggiew (Kingston United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for a friend but as it was so cheap decided to keep it and buy something else for her. It is a great relaxing CD and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy..., 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Donny Hathaway Collection (MP3 Download)
I think we lost a pure talant, he had a lot more to give, but died young, needed more help, with his condition, but a true master of his talant..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fine album, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the track selection mainly, poor cover artwork and lack of artist information does Donny a disservice, but .overall a good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Donny Hathaway Collection
A Donny Hathaway Collection by Donny Hathaway
Buy MP3 Album£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews