Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
119
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2008
Forget the accusations of rip off this band are the illegitimate offspring of AC/DC and Def Leppard with more hooks than a strip of velcro. Yeah, I'll accept that the sound ain't exactly pretty or original but so what!! This is old school rock 'n'roll as it should be played, politically incorrect,loud, brash and fun. Thank God the Aussies can still turn stuff like this out instead of the dreary mind numbing emo dirge that we seem obsessed by. Buy it now, play it loud.
11 comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2008
I'd love to review this album without mentioning the 4 magical letters (A, C, D and C), but I can't! Runnin' Wild is quite simply a great fun, hard rocking, heavy riffing, sexually charged, full throttle, 3-chord masterpiece from an Australian band fronted by two brothers. Ring any (hells) bells? From the opening bars it is plainly apparent that Airbourne offer no apologies for wearing their influences proudly on their sleeves. And why should they? If you're going to sound like anyone, you may as well sound like the best. We're certainly not in tribute band territory here, they're simply the next generation of Australian garage rock. No need to go into any further detail, if you love AC/DC and Rose Tattoo, you'll love this. Nuff said!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2008
Standard riffs, standard lyrics, standard chords - but hey, why change a tried and tested formula? These Aussie lads can put the power on and no mistake! Sure its Bon, Angus, Malcolm et al from their early days, but as I'm sure even AC/DC would say, "We all have to start out somewhere". The great music wheel has spun round once more and now it's Airbourne's turn. They have arrived (landed?)at the right time to put some much needed life back into a stale music scene. More power to their amps. Rock on!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2008
UNBELIEVABLE!! Sounding like a cross between Bon & Brian era AC/DC, every track is an absolute future classic. No ballads or blues numbers, just heads down, anthemic, headbanging rock n roll. If you're waiting for the next DC album, this'll keep you going till then. Touring the UK in February, I've got my tickets for Brum Academy, can't wait!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2007
You won't pick up a better rock n' roll album this year than Airbourne's debut 'Runnin Wild'. The comparisons are there, notably with fellow Aussie rockers AC/DC and Rose Tattoo but what sets this album aside is there are no ballads or no attempt at singing 'da blues'. It's pure energy from the opening track 'Stand Up For Rock N' Roll' right through to the closing 'Let's Ride'.

The title track 'Runnin Wild' moves along like the preverbal steam train, eventually grinding to a crashing halt, leaving the passenger (in this case, the listener) gasping for oxygen and searching for those imaginary guitar strings for their air guitar.

Vocalist Joel O'Keefe belts out rasping vocals during 'Too Much, Too Young, Too Fast' then diving into possibly the strongest track on the album 'Diamond in the Rough', a track that's sure to be a crowd pleaser.

'Fat City' has a touch of The Cult to it (Electric era) but then again Rick Rubin who produced the Cult's Electric album is after all a huge AC/DC fan.

'Blackjack' kicks into ear smashing crescendo and will have the lights in your house blinking.

'What's Eatin You' is laced with Def Leppard style harmonies and touches of AC/DC's Malcolm Young are evident throughout.

'Girls In Black' will have dandruff flying everywhere and no doubt produce the obligatory showing of 'puppies' at Airbourne gigs.

'Cheap Wine & Cheaper Woman' is pure Rose Tattoo, in fact it could even be Angry Anderson singing!

'Heartbreaker' - OK, we've heard the riff a million times but damn these Aussie folk do it so well.

'Lets Ride' completes the album and just leaves the listener thirsty for more - Oh well.... back to track one and play the whole thing all over again.

Many folk from the UK will not heard of Airbourne. I found them on myspace about this time last year and have been a fan since.

If you like your music loud, gutsy and edge of the seat then this killer debut album is for you.

Airbourne... I Salute You.

Fid

Birmingham, UK
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2008
Im an 'old school' rocker in my late 30's.

I stumbled upon Airbourne quite by accident , but by the heavens did they blow the cobwebs away.
First track my head was going , foot stomping and i even felt the urge to get up and air guitar - and believe me when i tell you that takes some doing these days.
I know they sound like AC/DC at their best (*imo) , but how is that a bad thing?

If you like music with no pretentions or excuses you wont be disappointed. Turn it on and turn it up!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2008
Can't add much more to what has already been said below, except that this is a top-notch rockin' album. Yes, they sound like AC/DC, but they have the hunger for success and youthful blood pumping through their veins as an extra spark - well, not a spark, like being plugged into the mains! Every track is adrenaline rush / air-guitar heaven!
These guys deserve to be BIG! No, cancel that, these guys WILL BE BIG! Just buy this thing, there's nothing more to be said!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2008
A long time ago I read a review in a music magazine of an album by a band called BB Steal (who were, co-incidentally, also Australian). The album was produced by Phil Collen of Def Leppard and the reviewer ended the review by stating "this is the album Leppard wish they'd made".
You know the way you can hear the first 15 seconds of a song and know you're either going to like it or not? I stumbled upon the video to the third track on Airbourne's album ("Too Much,Too Young,Too Fast")and immediately thought "oh yeah!!" and thought I'd see what the whole album was like.
This album is a gem. No ballads, just balls-out, energetic rock'n'roll. There isn't a weak track on the album..every one gets you hooked within 15 seconds and keeps you there. Fantastic riffs abound and the 'tongue-in-cheek'lyrics are delivered with a growl.
This is the album AC/DC should've made. Very reminiscent of Bon Scott-era DC and if this is Airbourne's debut album they should be very proud.
By the way, another reviewer on this site said Airbourne were 'a pub band'. Everyone's entitled to their opinion, but if I went in to my local and these guys were appearing I'd be ecstatic!
Buy it, it's a beaut.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
First heard these fellas because they did the soundtrack to Lost Boys 2, (err, or 3 maybe - don't judge me). Thought they were amazing so bought the album. love it. If you like ACDC, this is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 1 February 2008
The Aussies seem to have a way of stripping rock down to its pants and letting it all hang out!

As you may notice none of the reviews below go into any of the track by track, every note analysed sort of review... NO! They are short and sweet. This album is short and sweet and IT ROCKS! YAAAAAAAAAAAH!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)