Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Airbourne at speed of sound in the stratosphere.
Standard riffs, standard lyrics, standard chords - but hey, why change a tried and tested formula? These Aussie lads can put the power on and no mistake! Sure its Bon, Angus, Malcolm et al from their early days, but as I'm sure even AC/DC would say, "We all have to start out somewhere". The great music wheel has spun round once more and now it's Airbourne's turn. They...
Published on 23 Jun 2008 by David Wright

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of room for improvement
After a few listens to this, some irritations become clear.

The vocalist's range is limited from 'shouting' to 'shouting louder' - and any 'song' consists of simply alternating between the two.

The lyrics are clumsy at best. For example, in Cheap Wine & Cheaper Women, the line 'Women come and go, they never do remain' grates with me every time I hear...
Published on 30 Dec 2008 by shinysteve


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Airbourne at speed of sound in the stratosphere., 23 Jun 2008
By 
David Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Runnin Wild (Audio CD)
Standard riffs, standard lyrics, standard chords - but hey, why change a tried and tested formula? These Aussie lads can put the power on and no mistake! Sure its Bon, Angus, Malcolm et al from their early days, but as I'm sure even AC/DC would say, "We all have to start out somewhere". The great music wheel has spun round once more and now it's Airbourne's turn. They have arrived (landed?)at the right time to put some much needed life back into a stale music scene. More power to their amps. Rock on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Apprentices' Teaparty, 27 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Runnin Wild (Audio CD)
I'd love to review this album without mentioning the 4 magical letters (A, C, D and C), but I can't! Runnin' Wild is quite simply a great fun, hard rocking, heavy riffing, sexually charged, full throttle, 3-chord masterpiece from an Australian band fronted by two brothers. Ring any (hells) bells? From the opening bars it is plainly apparent that Airbourne offer no apologies for wearing their influences proudly on their sleeves. And why should they? If you're going to sound like anyone, you may as well sound like the best. We're certainly not in tribute band territory here, they're simply the next generation of Australian garage rock. No need to go into any further detail, if you love AC/DC and Rose Tattoo, you'll love this. Nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something Stirring Down Under, 24 Jan 2008
By 
David Jones "nitrodj" (Tamworth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Runnin Wild (Audio CD)
Forget the accusations of rip off this band are the illegitimate offspring of AC/DC and Def Leppard with more hooks than a strip of velcro. Yeah, I'll accept that the sound ain't exactly pretty or original but so what!! This is old school rock 'n'roll as it should be played, politically incorrect,loud, brash and fun. Thank God the Aussies can still turn stuff like this out instead of the dreary mind numbing emo dirge that we seem obsessed by. Buy it now, play it loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Airbourne - bringing back true rock n roll, 19 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Runnin Wild (Audio CD)
Airbourne, a band currently being classfied as the newer version of ACDC. and quite rightly so. They been together for a number of years now and since those aussie boys got signed to roadrunner they have taken the UK by storm with sell gigs in many venues (i lucky enough to see them twice was amazed at both performances) the stage presecene is fantastic and interaaction with crowd is surely there.

The album running wild itself is high class. Greatly composed set of songs with fantastic true rock n roll riffs. not only do the older fans who grew up to the likes of acdc love it but also the younger genreation of today love it too. with catchy guitar riffs from stand up for rock n roll to the old school style song of too much too young too fast, this cd is a must for any rock n roll fan.

recommend this album to anyone, even jsut a slight interest to rock n roll its a must. Airbourne are looking to be one of the biggest bands of this year.

enjoy.
xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Damn!, 19 Jun 2008
By 
J. Homfray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Runnin Wild (Audio CD)
Im an 'old school' rocker in my late 30's.

I stumbled upon Airbourne quite by accident , but by the heavens did they blow the cobwebs away.
First track my head was going , foot stomping and i even felt the urge to get up and air guitar - and believe me when i tell you that takes some doing these days.
I know they sound like AC/DC at their best (*imo) , but how is that a bad thing?

If you like music with no pretentions or excuses you wont be disappointed. Turn it on and turn it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock Fans - Just Buy It!!!, 22 May 2008
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Runnin Wild (Audio CD)
Can't add much more to what has already been said below, except that this is a top-notch rockin' album. Yes, they sound like AC/DC, but they have the hunger for success and youthful blood pumping through their veins as an extra spark - well, not a spark, like being plugged into the mains! Every track is adrenaline rush / air-guitar heaven!
These guys deserve to be BIG! No, cancel that, these guys WILL BE BIG! Just buy this thing, there's nothing more to be said!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballbustin' Pub Rock, 2 July 2007
By 
R. Fiddaman "fiddaman64" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Runnin' Wild (Audio CD)
You won't pick up a better rock n' roll album this year than Airbourne's debut 'Runnin Wild'. The comparisons are there, notably with fellow Aussie rockers AC/DC and Rose Tattoo but what sets this album aside is there are no ballads or no attempt at singing 'da blues'. It's pure energy from the opening track 'Stand Up For Rock N' Roll' right through to the closing 'Let's Ride'.

The title track 'Runnin Wild' moves along like the preverbal steam train, eventually grinding to a crashing halt, leaving the passenger (in this case, the listener) gasping for oxygen and searching for those imaginary guitar strings for their air guitar.

Vocalist Joel O'Keefe belts out rasping vocals during 'Too Much, Too Young, Too Fast' then diving into possibly the strongest track on the album 'Diamond in the Rough', a track that's sure to be a crowd pleaser.

'Fat City' has a touch of The Cult to it (Electric era) but then again Rick Rubin who produced the Cult's Electric album is after all a huge AC/DC fan.

'Blackjack' kicks into ear smashing crescendo and will have the lights in your house blinking.

'What's Eatin You' is laced with Def Leppard style harmonies and touches of AC/DC's Malcolm Young are evident throughout.

'Girls In Black' will have dandruff flying everywhere and no doubt produce the obligatory showing of 'puppies' at Airbourne gigs.

'Cheap Wine & Cheaper Woman' is pure Rose Tattoo, in fact it could even be Angry Anderson singing!

'Heartbreaker' - OK, we've heard the riff a million times but damn these Aussie folk do it so well.

'Lets Ride' completes the album and just leaves the listener thirsty for more - Oh well.... back to track one and play the whole thing all over again.

Many folk from the UK will not heard of Airbourne. I found them on myspace about this time last year and have been a fan since.

If you like your music loud, gutsy and edge of the seat then this killer debut album is for you.

Airbourne... I Salute You.

Fid

Birmingham, UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return for Rock, 26 April 2008
By 
Alfonso Criscuoli "alcris73" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Runnin Wild (Audio CD)
Keeping this review simple is as easy as Airbourne makes it look in stripping rock back to its roots and playing it down and dirty and producing a potentially all time classic album. Airbourne are like fillet steak to a hungry pack of lions and I think we have all been hungry and waiting for an album like this to come along for a long time. The whole album is my favourite track, it is so rare to find an album now that every song is classic. Yes they do sound like AC/DC but I fail to see how that is a bad thing unless you do not AC/DC!!. Anyone who misses this misses out!! Very well done indeed boys i'm certain they will go from strength to strength!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight Forward Rock, 23 Mar 2008
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Runnin Wild (Audio CD)
Everyone is saying it - Airbourne are AC/DC reincarnated. And that's not far from the truth. Often AC/DC are accused of putting out unadventurous rock music, but y'know what? Who else does it? Not many and that makes this kind of music so refreshing because it's not pretentious or overblown - it's straight forward heavy rock done really well. Bluesy hard rock very like AC/DC or Rose Tattoo and if you like that sort of music then you will definately love this. Buy it because if we wait for AC/DC to put something new out we'll have a long wait and I for one need some good old fashioned rock being produced. This is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCK N' ROLL BABY!!!!!!, 17 Jun 2008
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Runnin Wild (Audio CD)
In the past the Aussie's have given us AC/DC and now they have given us Airbourne who with the absence of old school Rock n' Roll in modern society they produce a breath of fresh air. Amongst the emo rock, heavy metal, Nu-Metal and other forms of new age rock, Airbourne give us the true classic sound of rock and it's something that everybody can get up and start dancing to.

The album indeed is short but that doesn't diminish the pleasure you can derive from it as each song is something memorable and sends your heart racing to the beat of the base guitar. Due to the recognition and admiration that Airbourne have received from the mainstream media over the past couple of months, this will show the music execs that their is still a market out there for this type of sound and sign some more talented bands with the same vision of reviving the 70's rock sound.

My top 5

1. Too Much, Too Young, Too Fast
2. Runnin' Wild
3. Girls In Black
4. Stand Up For Rock N' Roll
5. Hellfire

Cool album that is capable of having everybody rocking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Runnin' Wild
Runnin' Wild by Airbourne
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews