Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lead Balloon in name only, 5 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lead Balloon - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this show. It's funny, smart, cleverly written and contrary to the title doesn't go down like a lead balloon. Jack Dee is supported by a cast who compliment his almost humourless character. So humourless it's funnier than most of those comedy shows who deliberately go for the laughs. Many series fall short of the first wave, but this one doesn't. Can't wait for series 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Class, 9 Jan 2009
This review is from: Lead Balloon - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this show and series 2 was of a really high standard, combining some really awkward situations (e.g. the Dinner Party in 'Hero') with great understated performances (particularly Ben and Sam) and wonderful caricatures (neighbour Clive and cafe owner Michael). Marty and Mel provide the perfect foils to Rick Spleen's neurotic view of life; bringing out and highlighting the worst in him. And then of course there is Magda, one of the best comedy creations in recent times. Every episode gels brilliantly with each scene linked together by the catchy feelgood jazz tune and then of course the excellent Mr Weller comes on as the titles roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upliftingly funny, 28 Mar 2009
By 
SilentSinger (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lead Balloon - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Taking off from a superb series one, series two really gets into the stride of Dee's acerbic sarcastic humour. There are eight episodes in this season and are all cringingly funny, especially the dinner party misunderstanding which Rick has to extricate himself from. The other characters are also given more scope and blossom as a result and Rick's partner Mel acts as an excellent foil to his more bizarre lies and schemes. Overall I'd recommend this series to anyone who appreciates laid back dry wit and don't be put off by the continual comparison to 'Curb Your Enthusiasm' - a series which is totally different in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful entertainment, 2 Nov 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lead Balloon - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Lead Balloon has to be the most under-rated comedy show on T.V.
I don't understand why it wasn't prime time tele.
Jack Dee is Rick Spleen a jobbing comedian who mostly does the corporate circuit and spends most of his days writing
funny scripts for his next gig with a world weary American writer named Marty (Sean Power).
Every day Rick lunches at the same cafe with its neurotic host Michael (Tony Gardner), and every episode
something always goes wrong for Rick.
At home Rick has a wonderful down to earth wife called Mel (Raquel Cassidy) and an eastern european cleaner called Magda, played brilliantly by Anna Crilly. The set is completed by an annoying neighbour and a teenage daughter who manipulates Rick for money and favours.
This is a gentle show with gentle but clever humour. If not laughing out loud you'll find yourself always smiling as poor, downtrodden Rick desperately tries to win, just once.
I loved this series, without a doubt Jack Dee's finest work. wonderful entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better even than the excellent first series, 15 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lead Balloon - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If you like dry (and sometimes bleak) humour you've probably already seen the first series but if you haven't, may I suggest you get that too? This second series is even better than the first, excellent, series and some of the very funny characters are explored more here, second time around.

No spoilers of course but to give you a flavour, Magda (Anna Crilly) says something like 'in my country we have name for people who are depressed and want to make suicide'. 'Tourists?' asks Rick.

I think the series has a timeless quality with some wry insights into the familiar in the same way as Tony Hancock and Steptoe showed and I think the series will sell for years. It deserves to. Also the extras are worth seeing and Jack Dee explains that he knew he had just the right actors for Ben (Rasmus Hardiker) and Sam (Antonia Campbell-Hughes) at the audition when they told him vacantly how busy they were and not sure they could fit the series in. Great perfomances all round, deadly lines, very funny. This is quality comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 13 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lead Balloon - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
In its second series, Lead Balloon continues going from strength to strength. Rick Spleen is a brilliantly-portrayed character, comes across as tactless and sarcastic, tries to worm his way out of the situations he ends up in. But you also feel he has a more sensitive, misunderstood side to him so he still comes across as sympathetic. In these episodes Spleen attempts to nurse a sick wife, manages to make a cheery kids' TV presenter turn violent, attends an advice class for drivers who've been caught speeding and continues being deluded by various TV companies.

A fantastic series which really shows the darker side of comedy. Hope they release Series 3 on DVD soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Is Even Better Than The First Series, 19 Jun 2009
This review is from: Lead Balloon - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The first series was fantastic but series two is ten times better.

Often follow ups aren't good, but Lead Balloon nails the sequel series. In this series Jack and his colleagues have delved into the characters and explored their personalities. Episodes like when Mel is sick explores her temper. She seemed like a cool character at first but now she clearly has her limits.

Anyone who liked the first series will love this...and if you thought the first series wasn't brilliant then you may think this series is alot better.

The comedy is clearly more funny the second time around. I would recommend this to anyone who likes comedy or sitcoms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tears of laughter!, 16 Feb 2009
By 
Alc Reilly (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lead Balloon - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say, if you loved series 1 then there is no question regarding whether you should buy series 2 or not! This is British comedy at its best, its dry, it's sarcastic, it's close to the bone, it's edge of the seat stuff as Rick steers himself painfully through domestic, professional and social disaster zones!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lead Balloon - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great series, wish they had made more as it was very funny and relatable at times. Always good to watch for a pick me up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Stroke of Genius, 4 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lead Balloon - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot recommend Lead Balloon enough! Jack Dee is just absolutely brilliant as the sour faced comedian, cleverly contrasted with his witty, charismatic writer,truly angelic wife and extremely laid back kids. But it doesn't end there. I would have to describe all the characters one by one as there is absolutely no weak point in this comedy series! Great choice of soundtrack too. Love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lead Balloon - Series 2 [DVD]
Lead Balloon - Series 2 [DVD] by Jack Dee (DVD - 2008)
£6.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews