Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the chili peppers zenith
First off, I'd like to state that I'm not a RHCP mega-fan. Having said that, this album is my favourite album, by anyone, ever. It's also worth saying that if you consider yourself an avid Chili Peppers fan on the basis of 'By The Way' then don't bother with this album. You will have probably heard 'Under The Bridge' and read that this album is their greatest offering,...
Published on 16 April 2006 by Phil, psn: p4tiny

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the Japanese version...
i bought this by acccident not realising it was the japanese import and after waiting (a looooong time) for it to get to my house it was actually alright.... it came in a card sleeve instead of a plastic case (i actually prefer it that way) and it came with lyrics and all the rest inside as well. all in all it was alright (and it's an amazing album, might i add, great...
Published on 28 May 2007 by Ben Raspberry


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have For Fans New And Old., 6 Jan 2004
By 
A. Keefe "Ryan Keefe" (Isle of Wight, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
This CD is a must have for any Red Hot Chili Peppers fan. It is a brilliant mix of all time classics and songs that are unknown but are still as good or even better. Some of the melodic songs like 'I Could Have Lied' or the well known 'Under The Bridge' are perfect for just listening, but if your a bassist, like me, then you will appreciate the funky bass lines in songs such as 'Give It Away', 'Naked In The Rain' and Apache Rose Peacock' delivered by the legendary Flea. Chilis at thier best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most complete album you will ever hear !!, 14 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
Most people know the Red Hot Chili Peppers as the guysa who wrote the classic 'Under the Bridge', well they are and this album encapsulates all the best moments of the Chili Peppers 15 year career in one magical album. From the moment of the first chord of 'The Power of Equality' to the end of the last note in 'They're Red Hot' you are delivered on a rollercoaster of emotion. The beautiful 'Under the Bridge' and the equally evocative 'I could've lied' show off the more mellow side of the band, whilst the frenetic bass lines in 'Give it Away' and 'Naked in the Rain' give Flea the chance to show to the world what a truly great bassist he is. There is not one song on the album which cannot be counted as a masterpiece in its own right and the curious mix of funk, rock, and rap delivers a fresh, upbeat and complete album. Anthony Kiedis' lyrics are spat forth as though his life depends on it, and the title track 'Blood Sugar Sex Magik' utilises every talent he has. John frusciant's guitaring is at times awe-inspiring, the solos in 'My Lovely Man' (a brilliant tribute to the Peppers original guitarist, Hillel Slovak who overdosed on heroin) and 'I could've Lied' are among his very best. If you don't have this album, go out now and buy it because it truly is one of the most complete album you will ever buy. And then you'll want the rest !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST CHILIS ALBUM, 7 Mar 2002
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
In my opinoin this is the best chili peppers album so far.It features the best band line-up,
and some of their best songs.This album probably
best illustrates the musical mixture that the
Chilis input into their music-Rock,Rap,Metal,jazz
and of course...FUNK.
Buy this now and you wont be dissapointed...but if you want a more sombre album buy-
"Californication". Ta'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Chilis Album, 24 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
I have all the Red Hot Chili Peppers albums and this is easily the best. You forget how many classics come from this album: Give It Away, Suck my Kiss, Breaking The Girl, Under The Bridge, all of which are on the greatest hits album.

It has great guitar riffs, great rock solos, powerful vocals and bass lines and drum beats which complement each song perfectly, making great catchy amazing tunes.

My favourite tracks are :

Funky Monks

Suck My Kiss

Mellowship Slinky In B Major

Give It Away

Blood Sugar Sex Magik

Under The Bridge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album from the Masters Of Funk, 10 Oct 2003
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
A Great Album for any funky monks out there! there are so many songs of a high calibre that i'll just have to go over them one by one
Power Of Equality: 9/10 A Very Political song from the Gulf War days, interesting vocals and chorus.
If You Have To Ask:8/10 A Memorable chorus and some rather strange lyrics to this one "If You Have to Ask........ You'll never know" A Great chorus and fun Lyrics
Breaking The Girl:10/10 Good 12 string guitar work from Mr Frusciante, some interesting lyrics as i've probably said for all of 'em but they are!! I don't know about you but the insrumental bits remind me of Led Zeppelin's Stairway To Heaven......
Suck My Kiss:11/10 an absolute stunner of a song with great guitar/bass work, vocals, drumming and anything else involved, good solo etc..
Funky Monks:8/10 a strange song, good guitar work in the intro however make it up
I Could Have Lied:10/10 a sweet and sorrowful ballad, even with swearing throughout, but who can call themselves a chili's fan if they can't tolerate rudeness?
Mellowship Slinky in B Major:8/10 Another odd one.
Righteous & The Wicked:10/10 A Song Speaking out against a lot of things, war & pollution being the main ones.
Give it Away: 11/10 A GREAT song, a classic buy the album solely for this song and the next 2! With more odd chili lyrics and interesting tunes and a chorus that'll be in your head for days!!
BloodSugarSexMagik:10/10 another great one, with more odd lyrics focusing on the 3rd word in the title!
Under The Bridge:11/10 If you haven't alread heard this one where've you been for the past 13 years? covered by numerous artists, notably the All Saints this is a sheer gem, a spine tingling intro and some sweet and soulful singing help make this the most lyrically decent song ever!
Naked in The Rain: 7/10 probably the weakest song on the album
Apache Rose Peacock: 9/10 Not for the faint of heart this is Anthony Keidis saying it as he sees it, lyrically just Odd. Ahem
The Greeting song:8/10 Probably a filler, but a good one!
My Lovely Man: 9/10 The Chili's tribute to Ex-Guitarist Hillel Slovak, don't misinterpret the lyrics!
Sir Psycho Sexy:9/10 another wierd one and a staggeringly long Track, 8 minutes, Phew!!!! almost as long as this review! some odd lyrics, where do they get this stuff?
They're Red Hot:7/10 the only one not written by the chili's but interesting nevertheless i think it only managed to find it's way onto the album because of the title, but hey ho!
I hope this review proved useful to you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CG-BloodSugarReview-Greatest Album ever made, 22 Jan 2007
By 
Cameron Kiedis "Cg22FAFC" (Irvine,Ayrshire,Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
This is what I firmly believe is this the best album ever made.There is not one complaint at all about it,it is perfect.With this it may host the best song ever made Under the Bridge.Its unexplainably cool and original,the songs link up beautifully,its clever,hard hitting,to the point and is better than the mindless nonscence you will here from any modern day punk group.At times it is loud and raucous(Suck my Kiss),at times it is beautiful on a phenomenal scale(I could have Lied),at times it is so outrageous that its excellent!(Sir Psycho Sexy).

1.Power of Equality-10/10-Fast,Funky and decietfully intellegent.

2.If you have to ask-9/10-Keeps the set pace and not bad in its own right.

3.Breaking the Girl-10/10-Thoughtful,Beautiful and Personal.

4.Funky Monks-9/10-Interesting mix of start-stop and guitar riffs.

5.Suck My Kiss-10/10-Loud,hard driven,sware motivated and excellent.

6.I Could have Lied-10/10-Something else,Beautiful and makes you think.

7.MellowshipSinBMajor-8/10-My least favourite but its not bad.

8.Righteous&The Wicked-9/10-Great build up for give it away,works well.

9.Give it Away-10/10-That amount of energy for four minutes is phenomenal!

10-BloodSugarSexMagik-9/10-Concieves a different light on the record

11-Under the Bridge-10/10-Classic.Nothing like it,in the world,ever.

12-Naked in the Rain-8/10-Good listening,slightly repetitive.

13-Apache Rose Peacock-10/10-Another high point,funkiest tune on the album

14-The Greeting Song-9/10-Good Tune,Dont know why its towards the end.

15-My Lovely Men-10/10-Tribute to Hillel Slovak,Id be proud if i were him.

16-Sir Psycho Sexy-10/10-Penultimate 8 minute masterpiece,great guitar finish to the song that sums up a phenomenal record.

17-Theyre Red Hot-9/10-Perfectly Placed to add a nice touch to the end of the album and to cool you down.

Overall,phenomenal record,essential piece of music history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Album Took Them From Underground To Mainstreame, 17 Aug 2008
By 
Mike S (South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
The reason this album took the red hot chili peppers from underground to mainstreme is because of Rick Rubin, Anthoney Kidies described him as the person who makes the chili's complete and I agree after listing to this album.
I can't find a track I don't like ...... SUPERB could listen to this album all day.

Here's a track listing rated out of 10, my critical review.

Power Of Equality - 10
If You Have To Ask - 10
Breaking The Girl - 9
Funky Monks - 8
Suck My Kiss - 10
I Could Have Lied - 9
Mellowship Slinky In b Major - 9
The Rightous And The Wicked - 9
Give It Away - 11
Blood Sugar Sex Magic - 10
Under The Bridge - 11
Nakid In The Rain - 8
Apache Rose Peacock - 10
The Greeting Song - 8
My Lovely Man - 8
Sir Psycho Sexy - 10
They're Red Hot - 9

If you want a mixture of emotions and talented muscisians at work on 1 cd, 17 songs that go on for 74 minutes then BUY THIS ALBUM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album...NOW...do it now..., 13 Jun 2005
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
BUY THIS ALBUM! I can guarantee you will not get sick of this album. It is AMAZING. I have all the RHCP's albums and this is by far the best, buy it you will not regret it. Every song is fantastic and you will have these songs stuck in your head for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant, 6 Nov 2003
By 
Kate G. (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
I thought when I first got this it was over-rated (the two most recent I loved on the first listen), but after a few listens, this is one of the best yet. Under the Bridge is one of the BEST songs EVER! Overall, a few tracks I'm not too keen on, but A must buy cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BloodSugarSexMagik, 24 Oct 2003
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
This is one of the chilis' finest albums.It portrays the friendship of the funky foursome and the stunning tracks prove this.Their previous album "mother's milk" gave them their first taste of stardom but this album totally catapulted them into the big league.BloodSugarSexMagik contains a variety of different genres from aching ballads to freaked out funk.With first single "Give it away" they shook the world with their splendidly psychedelic video but were unaware that their second single "Under the bridge" would shake up their lives aswell. Their overnight success may have sent guitarist John over the edge but we must always be reminded of where it all started.This is an incredibly awesome album which should always find it's way into a "RedHotChiliPeppers" fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews