Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the chili peppers zenith
First off, I'd like to state that I'm not a RHCP mega-fan. Having said that, this album is my favourite album, by anyone, ever. It's also worth saying that if you consider yourself an avid Chili Peppers fan on the basis of 'By The Way' then don't bother with this album. You will have probably heard 'Under The Bridge' and read that this album is their greatest offering,...
Published on 16 April 2006 by Phil, psn: p4tiny

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the Japanese version...
i bought this by acccident not realising it was the japanese import and after waiting (a looooong time) for it to get to my house it was actually alright.... it came in a card sleeve instead of a plastic case (i actually prefer it that way) and it came with lyrics and all the rest inside as well. all in all it was alright (and it's an amazing album, might i add, great...
Published on 28 May 2007 by Ben Raspberry


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the chili peppers zenith, 16 April 2006
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
First off, I'd like to state that I'm not a RHCP mega-fan. Having said that, this album is my favourite album, by anyone, ever. It's also worth saying that if you consider yourself an avid Chili Peppers fan on the basis of 'By The Way' then don't bother with this album. You will have probably heard 'Under The Bridge' and read that this album is their greatest offering, (which is true) therefore will expect more of the same mellow type material as heard on 'By The Way,' and the aforementioned mega-hit off this album. You will be bitterly disappointed. This album is funk metal through and through, and the singing is mostly in the rap style. So.... if you're open minded, and want to know what the true Chili Peppers are all about, read on.

The Chili Peppers first 2 albums, (self titled and Freaky Styley) sound to me like nothing more than kinda enjoyable but very amateurish funky jam sessions. It came together in a big way with 'Uplift' with far superior melodies and actual songs! That album, and the subsequent 'Mothers Milk' (which was the first album with the current line-up, and the same line-up as on BSSM) had many a highlight, and I love those albums too. However, BSSM was a giant leap in every respect. With Rick Rubin at the production helm this album sounds like real funk rock pros who know they're at the top of their game, and they set out to create their greatest work. They succeeded totally.

Every single track, with the exception of 'They're Red Hot' (which was obviously intended as a joke throwaway, so it's forgivable) is a 10* winner. Tracks 1 & 2 flow seamlessly together to create an amazing opening medley of pure funky rock with soaring choruses, and cutting lyrics. Flea slapping his base like never before, John playing in a far heavier style than we're used to now and Chad anchoring it all down with some of the clearest drumming ever recorded. Along with 'Under The Bridge', (and to an extent 'I Could Have Lied') 'Breaking The girl' is the other all out "slow" track and is equally as great as its more famous cousin. The lyrics aren't as good, but the music is better, with Chad banging out a solo on scrap metal. Bizarre but perfect, it's a beautiful track.

I'm not gonna review every track, but suffice to say, most of the rest of the album continues in the same funk rock vein as set out in the first 2 tracks. 'Funky Monks' is one of my favourites, with an explosive guitar solo from John, which I relish all the more, cos I know he'll probably never lay down such a sound again, (here's hopin with Stadium Arcadium!!). Of course everyone knows 'Give It Away' and it is undeniably superb, but IMHO not the best funk rock song on this album by a long shot. For me, the title track outstrips it, as does 'The Righteous And The Wicked' with its ace bass riff and powerful chorus. 'My Lovely Man' is another highlight, as it's a lyrically beautiful tribute to the late great Hillel Slovak, their original guitarist, and sonically a great rocker, with John yet again unleashing an amazing extended guitar solo. Also of note is 'Naked In The Rain' which is unremarkable, compared to the rest of the album, (which means that it's still great) but it does contain an awesome slap bass solo from Flea, which really rocks. Hard.

For me, the real last track of the set, and the best, is 'Sir Psycho Sexy' and it's a brilliant way to finish. Yes, the lyrics are pornography in an audio form, but even on 'By The Way' the lyrics are pure filth, (not to this extent, granted) so it's what the Chilis are all about, only on this track they take it to the extreme! The first half of the song is a funk rave-up, in the style of most of the rest of the rest album, but then just over half way through, it breaks down into for me what is the most beautiful music on the whole album, (not acoustic like 'Under The Bridge' etc. but simply music that floats, in a tripped out manner). It's a classic Chilis song.

Again, I implore you to steer clear, if you're a hardcore 'By The Way' fan and expect this to be similar. It isn't really anything like 'By The Way'.... having said that, if your favourite track off 'By The Way' is 'Can't Stop' then you may want to give this a spin. It's a long album though, and heavier than 'Can't Stop' but don't dismiss it; endure and hopefully you'll get to love it as I do. It angers me to some extent how few songs were included off this album on their greatest hits album. You'd be better off buying 'What Hits!?' 'Greatest Hits' and BSSM. It really is their best album.

A seminal release. Cheers for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this really is one of the best albums you will ever hear, 18 Mar 2004
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
This album means so much to me that it is hard for me to articulate my admiration for it.... But here goes: The chili peppers are as vital, and sincere as music gets, and this album captures that completely. From the sublime "could've lied" and "Under the bridge" to the unbeatably funky "Funky monks","sir psycho sexy" and "if you have to ask" there is no weak track. No-one can call themselves a chilis fan if they do not own and love this album. The musicianship is unbeatable, the songcraft absolute genius and the end solo to "sir psycho sexy" is just something else.
Now go ahead and buy the album. It's not for any particular music lover, Its for lovers of truly great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE best album i have EVER heard.....bar none., 16 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
Er...wow. This is an INCREDIBLE album. THe songs contrast in styles and emotion, from the bittersweet 'Under The Bridge' to the buoyant 'Give It Away'.
My personal favourite track is 'I Could've Lied', which I could listen to on repeat for days... EVERY track is superb. Even the quirky 'They're Red Hot' is a valuable part of the album.
The album's continuity is excellent, considering the 74 minute duration. I never skip any tracks, and each one contributes to forming the mood of the next.
Track Ratings:
1)The Power Of Equality-8/10 A perfect opener with a brilliant chorus.
2)If You Have To Ask-7/10 Memorable chorus, decent verses.
3)Breaking The Girl-10/10 One of the best tracks, Kiedis at his best.
4)Funky Monks-8/10 Takes a few listens to get into, but when you do it's well worth the wait. Brilliant bass from Flea.
5)Suck My Kiss-10/10 The best up-tempo track, with the fast paced verses building up magnificently to the wonderful 'Suck my kiss...' line.
6)I Could've Lied-10/10 Poetic lyrics and subtle guitar work. Beautiful.
7)Mellowship Slinky In B Major-8/10 Carefully delivered vocals are complimented by the (again) excellent bass.
8)The Righteous & The Wicked-9/10 Sharp guitars and a truly wonderful chorus.
9)Give It Away-10/10 Begins as it means to go on, no messing-straight into funk and (once again!!!!) memorable chorus. This song will stay in your head for hours...
10)Blood Sugar Sex Magik-10/10 Im giving a lot of tens, aren't I... Dark and brooding vocals fit with the BEST guitar work on the album perfectly. Get's int oa VERY funky groove and stays there. Excellent.
11)Under The Bridge-10/10 I only consider this second best song on the album because I've listened to it so many times. For the first, say, 1000 listens this will be regarded as probably THE most lyrically competetnt song EVER.
12)Naked In The Rain-8/10 Hugely underrated-tight guitars and particularly good lyrics in the verses.
13)Apache Rose Peacock-7/10 Together with 'Sir Psycho Sexy', the definition of 'KERRRAZZY' lyrics. Very cool.
14)The Greeting Song-9/10 Very fast, very fun, very funky, very enjoyable.
15)My Lovely Man-8/10 The ending makes the song. Also, very poignant lyrics when taken into context (written about ex-guitarist who died...). Fantastic guitar solo, too.
16)Sir Psycho Sexy-8/10 Surprisingly, doesn't grate for an 8minute track. But the lyrics, oh the lyrics. How did they come up with this stuff? The wierdest lyrics since, well, track 13.
17)They're Red Hot-7/10 Short, humourous, uplifting and very very odd.
I have a very eclectic taste in music, from Roni Size to Nirvana, from Red Snapper to System of a Down, from Rage to Roots Manuva, etc. But this is an true classic, and absolutely EVERYBODY should own this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The redest hottest peppers in the world!, 10 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
I bought this album without knowing any of its songs... simply because I didn't think I could be disappointed by the RHCPs... and I wasn't!
As ever, Anthony Keidis proves he is one of the very best lyricists (in English language anyway) in the world. There is magik, there is true emotion throughout the album. The mix rap-funk-rock-punk is successful and works as if it was the most natural thing in the world... and maybe it is!
I listen to this album quietly in my bed before going to sleep, or full decibels with friends at parties, with a glass of "red blood" sitting quietly with a few close mates...
I heard Anthony on a radio interview and was not surprise to hear the personality that already shines through his lyric writing: a very deep, witty and funny bloke with his head way above the sky, who doesn't take himself so seriously, and a maaaaad sense of humour! One you'd like for a mate! (not just a pretty face and a gorgeous bod then! ;) )
This is a fantastic album, "stuck" in my CD player, doesn't wanna get off my ears... and I love it!
JUST buy it! You can't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word: perfection, 8 Aug 2005
By 
L. Cooney (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
The best band in the world - not even the Beatles can brag that their members constantly rank in the top fives of most people's greatest guitarists/bassists/drummers/frontmen - with one of their earlier albums, and it can only be described as essential. This is the album that made California funk cool again by giving it a rock edge, expressed in choppy, hormone-drenched scream-alongs such as Give It Away and Suck My Kiss, which ring with an adrenaline no other band has ever quite been able to achieve. However, whilst some rock bands may fall down on their ballads, the soul-searching Under The Bridge (who hasn't felt Anthony Kiedis' loneliness in the big city - in this case LA - expressed perfectly in the swelling chorus, 'take me to the place I love, take me all the way'?) and Breaking The Girl, an ode to Kiedis' childhood in the faux-glamourous world of the So-Cal underground scene, provide a nice contrast to the raw energy expressed elsewhere. A mesmirising CD that gets even more amazing with every listen as the layers are peeled back. The Chilis may have improved on their singles with classics such as Californication and By The Way; but for sheer musical exuberance, injecting an I-don't-care attitude that disguises the dark side of the rock scene (a premature antidote to Nirvana's Nevermind perhaps?) and achieving that rare feat of being more than the sum of its seventeen cuts, this has to be the one for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Best Album _ Their Best Material _ 12 Years Old, 18 April 2003
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
The California funk rockers had come of age when they released this little gem way back in 1991 and still yet they had never brought a record that broke so much ground since then.
Branded as RHCP's best album ever, it is very hard not to agree with them, this album has all the ingredients of a classic. Every song had a little charm to it whether it be the catchy chorus of Give it Away or the rock guitar anthem of Suck my Kiss, the Chili's has showed they could take such styles and make it sound like they had been doing that style for years.
Lyrically the album is very offensive compared to By the Way or Californication. With songs concerning making sweet love (Apache Rose Peacock, Sir Psyco Sexy) dominating (The Righteous and the Wicked) and all out funk tunes (the title track, Give it Away) Blood Sugar Sex Magik will forever be their best album ever and that is a fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 3 Mar 2003
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
Without a doubt the most creative chili peppers album - this has much more compelling lyrics than any to follow it, and those who jumped on the Chili Wagon for Californication, or By the way, will be surprised at the change of pace in this album - but let me say it is a sheer dissapointment to re-listen to their follow up albums - with songs like Track 11 'under the bridge' being absolute bliss to listen to and just so hard to follow up well... I would easilly label this the best of all Chili albums, and would happily give it more than 5 stars if it were possible. If you consider yourself a Chili Peppers fan and dont own this album, thn order it - NOW! Yo wont regret it (unless your some sort of insane chimpanzee or something =D). In advance; I leave you with but one word: Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Brilliance, 15 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
This is definatly one of the greatest Chili albums they have released. With John back on guitar completing the group, the Peppers have come up with some of their finest work to date. Although not my favourite RHCP album, that spots reserved for Mothers Milk, Blood Sugar Sex Magik is definatly a close second. They have everything that is needed for a perfect album, fast up beat songs (If you have to ask), well known catchy tunes (Give it away) to the slower ballads (Under the bridge (obviously)). Anyone giving this album less than 4 stars should not even be listening to this era of the Peppers work and cannot call themselves a true fan, they may be more suited to By The Way or Californication, mellower but nonetheless still great albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST Album; Blood Sugar Sex Magik, 12 Sep 2003
By 
Mary (Leeds, W. Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
From start to finish this is the most addictive and magic album i have ever heard. With John Frusciante playing guitar along with Flea and Chad it will the best music you will hear. The lyrics sung by Kiedis are amazing and all the songs contribute to their best album. My favourite songs have to be Power of Equality and Suck My Kiss. However Funky Monks, Breaking the Girl, Greeting Song and The Righteous and the Wicked are also worth a mention to name but a few. It also has the more famous Give it Away and Under the Bridge to get you hooked. The song I Could Have Lied is not noticed straight away aswell as Breaking the Girl but can turn into the most emotional tunes on the album. My Lovely Man tribute song also adds to the flavour of this album as well as the great Sir Psycho Sexy.
If you are a more recent fan this would make your collection but steer clear if you don't like this harder sound. Personally you can't help but love this album even on the 1000th hearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best chilis album of all!! Astounding!!!, 28 Feb 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Sugar Sex Magik (Audio CD)
Blood Sugar Sex Magik feautures the classic and best Chili Peppers line up at their creative peak! This is a groundbreaking and innovative album that still sounds fresh and new today, almost 12 years after its recording. The musicianship is breathtaking, Kiedis's lyrics are diverse funny and great and the Chilis rock and groove with a style all of their own.This is my all time favourite Chilis album. Their new stuff is great, but in my opinion this album sees the Chilis at their most exciting and vibrant. Buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews