Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why you should buy this album
I have always loved this band and I can tell you my first opinion was literally "WOW!!" the first song "defeatist" is a very good opener for this album and I was very impressed with the power behind this song and its lyrical content, a surprising intro which gives it a bit more of an impact and a hook which I personally love and will definitely get people moving. The hold...
Published on 31 Aug. 2006 by james hambly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As 2003's Rise Of Brutality....
After 2003's stunning Rise Of Brutality, the excellent Perseverance (2002) & the full length debut Satisfaction Is.. from 1997, I find this a little dissapointing. Whilst by no means a terrible album, the bite of the previous releases just isn't there, with songwriting that's rather in the doldrums. I also find there is a lack of really strong riffs, with the guitars not...
Published on 19 Feb. 2009 by Adam Jackson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hardcore classic!, 13 Sept. 2006
By 
L. Kelly (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
Hatebreed are not only veterans of the hardcore punk scene but long-time flag-bearers for the genre.

Over the years bands of this ilk have come and gone - some in the blink of an eye. Yet in the ever changing face of hardcore this is a band which has not only stood strong & proud but have improved in leaps and bounds with each successive release. Supremacy is no change in that pattern...

From the out & out hardcore riffs of 'Spitting Venom' & 'Destroy Everything' through to the metal undercurrents of 'To The Threshold' this album is every inch the classic in the making. Sheer primal emotion is harnessed by technical musicianship and combines with some of the most positive, uplifting lyrics ever commited to record. Every track is a defiant roar in the name of anyone who has faced adversity.

I understand that many of the reviews on sites such as this can be far too praiseworthy to be fully reliable. I often find myself questioning any sign of obvious fan worship. But quite simply this is one of those rare albums that deserves all of the praise I can give and probably more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best album, 1 Sept. 2006
By 
Robert Hill "oz20022" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
It's nearly impossible to judge Supremacy -- or any other Hatebreed record for that matter -- outside of the monotone world that the brutal Connecticut metal quintet inhabit. All of their songs clock in at under three-and-a-half minutes, rarely deviate from one or two keys, and rely on lead singer Jamey Jasta's one-note megaphone of a voice to deliver the bullets. This insular approach to writing and recording pretty much works every time -- this is metalcore -- especially on the blistering opening track "Defeatist," "To the Threshold," and "Divine Judgment," but after four albums, even the hint of a melody line or a midtempo breakdown would break through the ether like a lighthouse in a Nor'easter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their best record yet, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
Not words here,just listen to understand.
Hardcore meets metal in a perfect blend of power and aggressiveness.
Supremacy in every way.
5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars their best album since perseverance, 6 Mar. 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
This is a 3.5 out of 5 album and that emphasises that this is essentially a very good album and it is,the band have a bit more heart than they displayed on their previous album 'the rise of brutality' and the sound is more focused and the anger seems all the more real for it.

Hatebreed are like cheese on toast,you know exactly what you are gonna get,they play hardcore,usually a fast style and jamey jasta shouts his words with venom and the band all do chants and band vocals and the traditions laid down by the hardcore godfathers are all adhered too,that may be good,but of course it means that the music is somewhat samey and some would tell you that if you have heard one hatebreed,one agnostic front,one terror,or one madball cd then you have heard them all,there is a truth in that of course but i like hatebreed and this is a solid,dare i say catchy release from the connecticut mob.

Opening up with the ferocity of a pack of piranhas chasing after a chocolate coated dolphin,'defeatist' is an excellent track,fast,punchy,snarling brilliance,it is clear that the band mean business yet again,'horrors of self' follows and its dead on,nothing brilliant but good,'mind over all' and ' to the threshold' follow and with the latter track there is a phil anselmo-esque growl which is very effective.'divine judgement' contains a really killer riff about 2 minutes into the track that will send your shivers spinning and 'immortal enemies' is almost rock in its execution,pretty melodic and a little bit different from the norm,some of the latter tracks such as 'never let it die'and 'spitting venom' tread the mediocre floorboards but the final two tracks end this cd in fine style and at 36 minutes long no song outstays its welcome,this is a nasty,hate fuelled ,yet uplifting album that shows a band with its heart and soul back and the confidence to try and challenge the sound that they bathe in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard as Nails, 31 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
This has got to be the best HATEBREED album to date i've only had it a couple of day and im madly in love with it.As soon as Defeatist starts i got this chill like when i first heard Metallica's "Master of puppets" and i just knew that it was going to be huge..as well as this will.When you buy this album(and you will)first read the little booklet you get with it and read it all the way through(including to words for the songs)as it gives you a good idea of how the album came to be.The songs to listen for are.Defeatist,mind over all,to the threshold,devine judgment, never let it die and spitting venom.For the best album of the year so far..Well until Trivium bring out"The Crusade"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blistering, 1 Sept. 2006
By 
Mr. Robert Jones "jonesr001" (Woodbridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
Hatebreed have carried on where they left off with "Rise of Brutality". The intensity is there, as is the aggression, mixed with intelligence and passion. The band have surpassed themselves. If you LISTEN to the lyrics and let the riffs take you, there's some really blistering stuff here. No heroics, no egos, no 15 minute solos, just straight forward, blasting metal. No, I'm not 18, I'm 43 and I've loved metal in all its forms since I was 12. Hatebreed, along with Arch Enemy, Nevermore and Gorgoroth (to name but three) are the future of metal and the future of metal is safe in their hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 30 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
Wowza! I just got this album in the post this morning and I'v already listened to it a total of 19 times! lol I have to say they sound great! i think they are one of the few hardcore bands that stand out, alot of them sound the same, but there is something about Hatebreed that seperates them from the others! 'Satisfaction Is The Death Of Desire' is my favourite Hatebreed album but they sound just as good on 'Supremacy'-5 stars! I love the music in 'Destroy everything' and Jamey sounds great in 'Never let it die'

Well done Hatebreed for bringing out another kick-ass album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hardcore kings are back to ruin your face, 30 Aug. 2006
By 
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
This album has set new standards in hardcore music, its pretty obvious to hear! Any band who can top this has to be something special ill tell you that. The brutality in his voice along with strong guitar sounds make this record a classic to be. The opening track comes across so addictive it instantly sticks in your head. The album has definately been worth the wait and this is now their time to reign supreme on the metal world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost unbearably good, 7 Sept. 2006
By 
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
Hatebreed have been at the top of the hardcore metal scene for a while now; they've been a pretty much permanent playlist feature since Perseverance exploded into clubs in 2002. Since then they have definately matured as a band, and this album reflects that. It has undoubtedly lost something compared to Perseverance: the tracks are longer, less edgy. There's less of that raw, brutal edge that caught our attention back then. Make no mistake though, this is still Hatebreed at their best, and at volume it will still blow you clean away. While some of the nervous energy of youth may be gone, in it's place we are treated to the most monstrously powerful riffs I've ever heard and some of the best album and song composition you'll hear in the metal scene this year. I'd like to list a few standout tracks, but really it's just not possible: there is nothing less than excellent on this album from beginning to end.

This is probably not the album for someone new to the scene (nor is any Hatebreed album,) but if you've ever enjoyed metal of any kind, there is no better way to spend ten quid than this album. I've been a Hatebreed fan for a long time, and it exceeded all my expectations. Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As BRUTAL as banging your head against a brick wall, 12 Sept. 2006
This review is from: Supremacy (Audio CD)
To be honest, I thought I knew what I was expecting with a Hatebreed record.....menacing vocals, guitars and drums to rival an earthquake, but I was sooo wrong, this the 3rd release from Hatebreed, and what a release it is, not so much a record release, than the release of a beast, set to devourer everything you think you know about metal. As soon as I put Supremacy on and Defeatist starts, it doesn't give up until you have a smile from ear to ear, as if the speakers that produce this music, have suddenly sprouted claws and are pulling the sides of your mouth up, believe me, you WILL smile and you WILL love. As this band looks forward to an illustrious future, I cannot help but compare this to previous Hatebreed. It has the same hallmarks, but the precision and focus has changed, as if the music has grown and flourished. I must poit pout though.....this record, is BRUTAL...and I don't use the term lightly.....Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supremacy
Supremacy by Hatebreed
Buy MP3 Album£8.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews