Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece... and has the rotating wheel cover!
This was the first Zeppelin album I ever bought, and loved the rotating wheel in the cover, which is what this vinyl replica edition has as well. Hats of, not just to Harper, but also to whoever decided to reissue all the Zep albums in their original forms (e.g. this, the cut-out windows on Physical Graffiti, the brown paper bag on In Through the Out Door etc).
I'm...
Published on 3 Aug. 2005 by Paracelsus1966

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 1997 Remaster from the original tapes by Jimmy Page and George Marino at Sterling Sound is the far superior Led Zeppelin III CD.
Purchasing the 2014 remaster of any Led Zeppelin album is a huge mistake. I have recently made this mistake with a Led Zeppelin III replacement CD purchased in a hurry.

The 1997 remaster from the original tapes by Jimmy Page and George Marino at Sterling Sound is the far, far, far superior Led Zeppelin III CD. This info is always printed right next to the bar...
Published 4 months ago by ALEXANDER D.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece... and has the rotating wheel cover!, 3 Aug. 2005
By 
Paracelsus1966 (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first Zeppelin album I ever bought, and loved the rotating wheel in the cover, which is what this vinyl replica edition has as well. Hats of, not just to Harper, but also to whoever decided to reissue all the Zep albums in their original forms (e.g. this, the cut-out windows on Physical Graffiti, the brown paper bag on In Through the Out Door etc).
I'm not going to say anything about the music, as we all (should) know that this is a masterpiece, which still sounds as brilliant as it did the day it was recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's the way, 11 Jan. 2011
By 
I would rather listen to this so-called 'underrated' album on repeat for fifty years than listen to 95% of modern chart music. If there's anything to appreciate about Led Zeppelin above anything else, it's their diversity - rock, blues, folk, African rhythms, you name it, they're not sticking to one genre. Robert Plant has demonstrated time and time again through the Zep years and in his solo career that music shouldn't be static, the boundaries should always be pushed. My advice, buy this album in order to get a taste of Led Zeppelin doing everything. It's a shame this album wasn't appreciated for what it is when it was released. Oh well, that's the way...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Do As Thou Wilt Shalt Be The Whole Of The Law.", 31 July 2003
By 
J. D. Scali - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Do As Thou Wilt..." is a famous quote by the infamous Aliester Crowley that was stickered to some copies of the original late 1970 LP Led Zeppelin III.Apart from the lack of this sticker,this is a superb reproduction of the original gatefold sleeve,including a revolving wheel that changes some pictures on the front as it is gyrated.The CD bears the LP label and is the remastered version."Do as thou wilt.." became the working policy of Jimmy Page,a Crowley admirer.
Led Zeppelin III represents the band's consolidation both collectively and individually with the fusion of Rock,Blues and Folk,Page's visionary quest,more apparent and cohesive than ever.The density of the orchestrations is now copious,with electric and acoustic instruments playing along in perfect harmony,definitely Page's crowning achievement as a producer.
"Gallows Pole" is the prime example of this density and diversity,with acoustic and elecric guitars playing with a banjo and a mandolin to a bass/drums rhythm.The developement of the piece is gradual as it goes from Country to Celtic to Rock.Robert Plant "plays" various characters with his amazing vocal work.Plant mastered his vocal delivery on this album.
An eastern-flavored string arrangement composed and conducted by John Paul Jones on "Friends" with a single,haunting acoustic guitar driving the song;"acid" delta blues with bottleneck frenzy on "Hats Off To Roy Harper",virtuoso finger-picking and strumming with a clear nod to Bert Jansch on "Bron-Y-Aur Stomp",pedal steel guitar embelishments for "Tangerine" and "That's The Way" are this album's path to glory.
In spite of being called "mellow" for its acoustic constructions,this album features some of the heaviest material ever recorded by Zeppelin,like the stunning viking attack of "Immigrant Song" wih its frightening war cries,or the playfully revolving mix of "Out On The Tiles",written from a riff by drummer John(Bonzo)Bonham;or some of the sickest sounds like the slide guitar on "Celebration Day" complete with ever changing riffs,and the costume-made,wrist-slashing blues "Since I've Been Loving You" with all its dramatism and ethereal guitar work.
So many riches and still an underappreciated album,Led Zeppelin wouldn't sleep on the laurels of their own success cloning "Whole Lotta Love" and decided to go further,following their wills became their only guideline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zeppelin's best album . . . . and probably the best album ever made., 22 Dec. 2014
By 
Kenkonti "Little-bit-of-bread-and-no-cheese" (Chelmsford, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: III (Audio CD)
This is Zeppelin's best album . . . and probably the best album ever made. Every song is a wonder, superbly written and superbly played. Page's guitar playing is majestic, Plant's voice at it's most soulful.

If you one of those people that think that Led Zeppelin should be just loud and thrashing then this isn't the album for you, you'll probably like 'Immigrants Song' and no more - but you're missing out on something amazing and magical. 'That's the way' for instance, beautiful, delicate, and hypnotic. 'Bron-Y-Aur Stomp', a homage to the companionship and love of our canine friends (in Plant's case his dog 'Stryder'). And 'Tangerine', with it's recollections of a past love. Every track here is a gem.

This album is set apart from others by it's soulfulness, it's depth, and it's connections with nature - both the nature of the human soul and the wonder of the environment around us. Wonderful lyrics, amazing music - and the album sleeve is pretty good too. Music never got better than this . . . and probably never will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 1997 Remaster from the original tapes by Jimmy Page and George Marino at Sterling Sound is the far superior Led Zeppelin III CD., 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: III (Audio CD)
Purchasing the 2014 remaster of any Led Zeppelin album is a huge mistake. I have recently made this mistake with a Led Zeppelin III replacement CD purchased in a hurry.

The 1997 remaster from the original tapes by Jimmy Page and George Marino at Sterling Sound is the far, far, far superior Led Zeppelin III CD. This info is always printed right next to the bar code on the back cover of every album.

The important bits here are "George Marino at Sterling Sound " and "from the original tapes."

This is also true for Led Zeppelin albums I & II & IV & Houses of the Holy & Physical Graffiti.
The slight difference with Led Zeppelin I is that it is a 1994 remaster ... but still "George Marino at Sterling Sound " and "from the original tapes" is the one to go for.

These "George Marino at Sterling Sound from the original tapes" remaster CDs really are taken directly from the original 1969, 1970, 1971, 1973 & 1975 tapes and are faithful in all frequency ranges with the right levels. They are a pleasure to listen to, especially on a really good stereo that can produce all those frequencies.

The 2014 remasters have not been taken from the original tapes and have some quite peculiar and deeply irritating changes.
The 2014 mid tones seem less affected, but still they are slightly flattened as if they have been down sampled mp3 style.
The 2014 bass end of absolutely everything is muddy and far, far less distinct and clear than it should be. I have many recordings which I have compared (vinyl, tape & CD) and so the substandard quality on the 2014 versions is definite. At first it is hard to believe what has been done and then it becomes an unavoidable irritation.

So, in summary:
The 2014 versions should be avoided.
The 1997 & 1994 "George Marino at Sterling Sound" versions are fantastic.

The funny thing about their cost is that if you shop around online for any one album the purchase prices of both versions are of about the same spread of bargain to expensive. So, there is no cost penalty for getting the decent version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin III (MP3 Download)
All of Zeppelin's original studio albums are amazing. In my life I have had them all in one form or another. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zeppelin!, 5 Feb. 2013
By 
D. E. Colvill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin III (MP3 Download)
Great album - zeppelin demonstrating that they were more than balls out rockers more of a roots band. mmmm mmmm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: III (Audio CD)
Best Zeppelin album for me. Jimmy at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Little Piece of Their Acoustic Side, Why Not???, 20 Mar. 2012
Ok, as of the 19/3/12, I have finally got around to listening to this album in full. I have some comments of my own to put out there.

The first is in relation to the version of this album that I possess. I own the Vinyl Replica version of this album that came with the 'Definitive Collection' box set, which was released back in 2008, if memory serves me correct.

What can I tell you about the album? Well, first of all, the sound is pretty incredible, easily one of the finest versions I've heard. Also, the sleeve of the CD looks and feels just like the original LP sleeve did way back in the 70s. What makes it all the more better is the fact that it also has the 'spinning wheel' on the front cover, again like the original LP, which is lovely.

Now, onto the real stuff: the songs. First of all, I want to say that it is easy to see how fans of the group would have been 'dismayed' (to use such a term) upon hearing this album for the first time. 'II' clearly showcased Led Zeppelin's 'heavy' side and, in doing so, epitomised the future ground that the band would cover. III, however, discards this just a little bit and brings a little piece of their acoustic side to fruition and, as my review title states, why not??

The album opens with the Viking-Norse Saga(s) inspired 'Immigrant Song', which is a fine opening, in my opinion. Now, the first 5 tracks on this album do retain the 'heavy' sound of Zeppelin; it's important to remember this, however, you cannot escape the acoustic feel that these songs bring. That said, from 'Gallows Pole' to the final track, this album showcases Zeppelin's acoustic side, and why not? Quite simply, it really works in their favour, in my honest opinion.

Song of the album, for me, has to be the beautiful number, 'That's The Way'. A lovely piece of acoustic masterpiece. 'Tangerine', again another acoustic number, is a very close second, in my opinion.

So, in conclusion, all I really have to say, as a genuine Zeppelin fan and, of course, a music lover, is buy this album, ASAP!! It really has something for everyone and, at the moment, is right up there with Zeppelin's best work, for me anyway. I am aware of the criticism this album receives, but people are entitled to their opinion on that front, and that's life.

Get Buying!!! Happy Listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Words are not enough, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin III (MP3 Download)
Simply the best music ever recorded
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Led Zeppelin III
Led Zeppelin III by Led Zeppelin
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews