Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best traditional country album ever recorded
I remember hearing in 1977 that Dolly, Linda and Emmylou planned to record an album together but I was very surprised when it actually happened ten years later after several false starts. It was certainly worth the wait - indeed, I think it is the finest album that any of them have recorded, separately or together. Given how highly I rate so many of their solo albums,...
Published on 19 Oct 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit flat
I love the music of all three of these ladies in their own ways. So I was disappointed to find this album a bit "flat". I'd expected more variety and certainly more excitement. Collaborations with other artists for one or two songs on an album often work well, but I think this was a missed opportunity.
Published 13 months ago by Surbcru


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best traditional country album ever recorded, 19 Oct 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trio (Audio CD)
I remember hearing in 1977 that Dolly, Linda and Emmylou planned to record an album together but I was very surprised when it actually happened ten years later after several false starts. It was certainly worth the wait - indeed, I think it is the finest album that any of them have recorded, separately or together. Given how highly I rate so many of their solo albums, that is saying something special.
Some of the songs may be familiar. To know him is to love him is an early Phil Spector song, which was a huge hit in the fifties for the Teddy bears and was successfully revived in the sixties by Peter and Gordon. Both of those versions pale by comparison with the version here.
Making plans is a Johnny Russell song that Dolly previously covered as a duet with Porter Wagoner. They had a number two country hit with it, only being blocked from the top spot by Old flames can't hold a candle to you, a solo single by Dolly.
The pain of loving you, written by Dolly, is another song previously recorded as a duet by Porter and Dolly. Farther along is a gospel standard. It shares the same tune as Green pastures, a song that Emmylou recorded for her Roses in the snow album. My dear companion is a song by Jean Ritchie, who has written several great songs. Rosewood casket is a traditional song of unknown origin. Hobo's meditation is a song from the pen of the singing brakeman, Jimmie Rodgers. Wildflowers is a song that Dolly wrote about leaving her mountain home in a quest for success. Those memories of you is a cover of a hitherto little-known bluegrass song. Telling me lies and I've had enough are also brilliant.
Any fan of traditional country music should listen to this, the best such album I've ever heard or am ever likely to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 heads are better than 1, 19 Jun 2005
This review is from: Trio (Audio CD)
In the 70's Ronstadt and Emmylou shared the mike together on many album tracks and they became very good friends. Emmmylou covered a few Dolly songs and in 1981 the 3 queens of country joined together to sing on Evangeline's Mr Sandman. Emmylou got together with the Ronstadt and Parton on The Ballad Of Sally Rose where along with Vince Gill sang together on the whole album. Afer much stalling due to busy careers, Dolly was becoming hugely popular as an actress and Ronstadt was becoming popular for her work with Nelson Riddle and Emmlou was still making hit albums but they soon got the time to make one of countrys finest albums ever made as proof it made the top 100 best country albums. It won a grammy as well as being nominated for album of the year. All the songs on the album are well put together and are well sung. The major hit on the album of course is the number 1 To know him is to love him. It was well worth the wait and now with 6 years since Trio 2 maybe they could do a new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I didn't realise I liked country music until I heard this, 18 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Trio (Audio CD)
I was given this album as a present and it was the first time I had listened to a country music album, but I absolutely love it and have played it again and again and again (and again, and again).
The harmonies are beautiful and the three voices are wonderful separately and blend together perfectly. The songs are simple but the overall effect is really moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars close harmonies draw you into the music and tap the emotions, 25 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Trio (Audio CD)
if you thought that country music was all cowboys and trains and good ol` boys,think again! Listen to this superb example of finely crafted musical art and let yourself be transported to a special place. From the traditional opening "The Pain Of Loving You" to the undisguised bitterness of"Telling Me Lies" this is an album that runs the whole gamut of emotions.It is very rare to come across something that is truly greater than the sum of it`s parts,this album is.Listen and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite country excursion, 23 April 2005
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trio (Audio CD)
This memorable collaboration remains a masterpiece of heavenly harmonies on some timeless songs by Parton, Phil Spector, Jimmie Rodgers, Linda Thompson and Kate McGarrigle plus traditional country classics. There is also plenty of stylistic variety, from the uptempo country wailer The Pain Of Loving You, through the lilting ballad Making Plans to the elegant interpretation of the Spector classic To Know Him Is To Love Him.
The three songbirds take turns with the main vocals, e.g. the authentic piece of Americana, Hobo's Meditation with Linda on lead is followed by the breezy song Wildflowers with Dolly taking lead, but of course the most impressive sound is where they all sing together.
One of my favorites on an album of consistent listening pleasure is the fragile and soulful My Dear Companion. The rhythmic Rosewood Casket with its lovely nostalgic imagery follows the tender and melancholy I've Had Enough. The album closes with the gripping spiritual Farther Along, an achingly beautiful and uplifting song.
The song selection is superb and the singing is a triumph as the strengths of the three singers' voices are brought to the fore in all the right places and they blend perfectly. I am primarily an Emmylou fan, but every one of the trio deserves equal credit on this one. Western Wall is another great harmony album, with just Emmylou and Linda Ronstadt but the sound is more folk than country. Trio is highly recommend to fans of all three artists, and provides a great listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trio, 29 May 2008
This review is from: Trio (Audio CD)
Great song choices here though perhaps only 'Telling Me Lies' sounds out of place, it sounds very '80's. What really sells this album is the sheer joy you feel at the harmonies. I'm not a big fan of the singers so have no agenda here, but they sound fantastic together. Stand out tracks include 'I've Had Enough', 'Those Memories' and and the aching 'My Dear Companion'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 21 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trio (Audio CD)
This is,in my opinion,the best of the "TRIO" cds. It features Dlooy Parton,Emmylou Harris and Linda Ronstadt, three of the best traditional country singers. Their harmony is tight and sweet and their voices blend effortlessly. I have the rest of the "TRIO" cds but this is,by far,my favourite. I love the selection of songs on this cd especially "Telling me lies" and "I've had enough". Although this was produced in 1995 I think it is timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To know them..., 30 Sep 2014
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trio (Audio CD)
...is to love them, and I do, yes I do.
Dolly, Emmylou & Linda got together, and I'm mighty glad they did since they made this beautiful album of eleven hand-picked songs by such songwriters as Jimmie Rodgers, Linda Thompson, Jean Ritchie, Kate McGarrigle, Rodney Crowell, Phil Spector, and Dolly herself.
They pretty much take turns to sing lead, though one or two songs they simply sing in unison. Dolly's immediately distinctive voice melds well with Emmylou's slightly gentler vocal and Linda's more upfront, forceful tones. Together, they're simply irresistible.
Perhaps the least essential track is Spector's classic To Know Him... It must have seemed like a good idea at the time, and there's nothing wrong with it, but I'm not sure it quite fits with the other songs chosen for this first of two albums these ladies made together.
It's good to hear their marvellous take on Linda Thompson's Telling Me Lies (from her first solo LP One Clear Moment) sung by Linda Rondstadt, and Kate McGarrigle's plaintive, from-the-heart I've Had Enough. The last two songs are by our old friend Anon - Rosewood Casket and Farther Along - and are a fitting way to end this lovely record by this trio of immaculate country singers, doing exactly what they want to, and singin' their hearts out.
You finish listening, wanting more...

Unreservedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit flat, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trio (MP3 Download)
I love the music of all three of these ladies in their own ways. So I was disappointed to find this album a bit "flat". I'd expected more variety and certainly more excitement. Collaborations with other artists for one or two songs on an album often work well, but I think this was a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THREE OF THE BEST, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trio (Audio CD)
With the gentleness of Dolly Parton, the power of Linda Ronstadt and the vibrato of Emmylou Harris, all combined on one CD, where could you possibly go wrong? Every song, except the last track, has one of the three taking the lead and the other two in support. On the last track they all take their turns in leading.

THE PAIN OF LOVING YOU - EH leads with this gentle mid-tempo ballad that Dolly and Porter Wagoner co-wrote, about a one-sided love affair.

MAKING PLANS - DP leads in this slow heartbreaker, the type of song that no-one does better. It is sung with feeling. Johnny Russell and Voni Morrison wrote this.

TO KNOW HIM IS TO LOVE HIM - Phil Spector penned this and it was a hit for the Teddy Bears in the 1950`s. Now EH makes it her own. Listen out for the Hawaiian guitar interlude by David Lindley.

HOBO`S MEDITATION - Jimmie Rodgers anthem is well suited to LR. It is about a hobo`s life on the railroad.

WILDFLOWERS - Self-penned by DP and accompanied by David Lindley on the autoharp, it is a story of her childhood in the mountains.

TELLING ME LIES - LR powers her way through this ballad, about the realisation that love is over. Written by Linda Thompson and Betsy Cook.

MY DEAR COMPANION - A gentle ballad sung by EH about lost love. It was written by Jean Ritchie.

THOSE MEMORIES OF YOU - DP leads in this song about unending love, written by Alan O`Bryant. Good Mandolin work by David Lindley.

I`VE HAD ENOUGH - This song by Kate McGarrigle, ably sung by LR, is about the end of romance.

ROSEWOOD CASKET - A Traditional song arranged by Avie Lee Parton and sung by DP. Sort of an old-timey feel about it.

FARTHER ALONG - Another Traditional song arranged by EH and John Starling, about the journey to heaven. All three of our TRIO take turns with the lead.

All of the songs are a little on the dark side, but well sung with the right amount of feeling and sentiment, where it is called for. The instrumentation is first-class. A must-buy for fans of real country music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trio
Trio by Linda Ronstadt & Dolly Parton Emmylou Harris
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews