Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankly, this compilation is almost too good!
Although the very decent "softly with these songs: best of roberta flack" compilation was already in existence, this product is even better. The track listings are extremely similar, but there are enough subtle changes to make this a near-definitive selection of seventeen songs.

All the big hits feature, such as "Killing Me Softly...", "Feel Like Makin' Love",...
Published on 27 Jan 2008 by P. B. Koeb

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Roberta Flack
My 1st cd of Roberta Flack. She has a very strong voice but i only enjoyed about 3 songs from this album
Published 11 months ago by mazz


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankly, this compilation is almost too good!, 27 Jan 2008
By 
P. B. Koeb (Aljezur, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although the very decent "softly with these songs: best of roberta flack" compilation was already in existence, this product is even better. The track listings are extremely similar, but there are enough subtle changes to make this a near-definitive selection of seventeen songs.

All the big hits feature, such as "Killing Me Softly...", "Feel Like Makin' Love", "The First Time Ever....", "The Closer I Get To You" and "Tonight, I Celebrate My Love". There are four tracks taken from the supreme "Roberta Flack featuring Donny Hathaway" album, including the full, magnificent seven plus minutes of "Don't Make Me Wait Too Long". "Back Together Again" is done as an edit, and does sound a little odd. The worthwhile "Oasis" album also yields a few selections and the set is brought to a close by the soulful "Trade Winds", which Rod Stewart would cover on "A Night On The Town".

All in all, a near-perfect collection. The sort of compilation which is guaranteed to hit the spot, whenever you give it a play. The one change i would make would be to find room for the great "Uh-Uh Ooh-Ooh Look Out" from "Oasis". (This track DOES feature on the "softly with these songs" compilation, but in an unsatisfactory remixed form.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roberta at her finest !, 6 April 2010
By 
The duets featured with the equally smooth vocal tones of Donny Hathaway make for a perfect musical match as heard on a number of songs featured in this terrific collection. Equally in combination with Roberta singing solo so beautifully such powerful sentiments as expressed in the songs "Making Love" and "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face" serve to make this selection a musical must to be added to anyone's musical collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 26 Jan 2010
By 
Brian Martin "lucky laddie" (Erskine Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A Rhino compilation that usually means class, and this is no exception great selection of tracks, well-engineered and good liner notes by David Nathan. All the hits here are including duets with Donny Hathaway.

Get the original Rhino compilation for sound quality.
5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars drops of pure magic, 24 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Very Best Of Roberta Flack (MP3 Download)
vital and elusive - how does she manage that! There are lovely moments in this album and revive memories from years ago. not all tracks stand the test of time but the gems like 'Killing me softly' are still gems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The magic lingers on, 18 Oct 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted a memory of a concert I went to this year in Washington when Roberta Flack sang with the National Symphony Orchestra. I was on holiday from Cornwall in the UK and it was worth making the trip just to hear her sing! This CD captures some of the magic moments when she first brought these songs onto the music scene. It seems a long time ago when I first heard her sing, but in the concert and on this CD her artistry is as fresh as ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars He loved it!, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased for my dad. He loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great C D fantastic artist, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great C D fantastic artist, everyone who has listened to it has said what a wonderful voice she has
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful songs, 26 Jun 2014
By 
D. Dodd (Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love her voice and this album has all my favourite tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best vocalists of all time. There are some wonderful tracks on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roberta Flack, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really only bought this CD for one song, although all the songs a listenable. What else is there to say, you either like Roberta or you don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Roberta Flack
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews