Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool
Album no 3 for john legend is a mixture of uptempo rnb songs mixed with the usual ballads. This is a solid album and is only mared by the poor last 3 tracks which has made me knock a star off. The single Green Light is excellent and is prob the albums best tracks but there lots of other cool tracks. Some of the ballads arent as strong as some of his previous ones but are...
Published on 23 Oct 2008 by Mr. Russell C. Witheyman

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hhmmm...not quite there
This album is not bad but there is something missing from it, it hasnt quite got that soulful feel that you usually get from JL. The trouble is that when you hear the first song, you think wow, great, but really, thats as exciting as the album gets. The track with Kanye is ok, the track with Brandy and the track with Estelle are both worthy efforts but overall this album...
Published on 17 Dec 2008 by D. Mwiinga


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool, 23 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolver (Audio CD)
Album no 3 for john legend is a mixture of uptempo rnb songs mixed with the usual ballads. This is a solid album and is only mared by the poor last 3 tracks which has made me knock a star off. The single Green Light is excellent and is prob the albums best tracks but there lots of other cool tracks. Some of the ballads arent as strong as some of his previous ones but are still good and all the uptempo numbers are excellent. John even dabbles with reggae on 2 tracks and 1 has co-vocals by Estelle to great effect and the track turns out to be an album highlight!

One of the better rnb albums iv'e heard this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hhmmm...not quite there, 17 Dec 2008
By 
D. Mwiinga "Ecclesiastes" (Rdg Area, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evolver (Audio CD)
This album is not bad but there is something missing from it, it hasnt quite got that soulful feel that you usually get from JL. The trouble is that when you hear the first song, you think wow, great, but really, thats as exciting as the album gets. The track with Kanye is ok, the track with Brandy and the track with Estelle are both worthy efforts but overall this album sounds a bit dull. Its just not as exciting and you know thats true when you find yourself only repeating 3 out of 12 songs and skipping too many.

Like most artist, he set the standard by which he is judged with his first album and this is not on par. I mean this takes away nothing from JL as he is still a soulful artist and you can sense that but not to a great depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than his last album (4.5 stars), 21 Oct 2008
This review is from: Evolver (Audio CD)
John Legend is one of my favourite R&B singers without a doubt. He really reminds me of what is right with the genre and that once upon a time we had people like Sam Cooke. His albums are quality first and this is no exception. This album for the most part is far more up tempo than his last album Once Again. The lead single with Andre 3000 (Green Light) is evidence of that. The album has a few features peppered in (Andre 3000, Brandy, Kanye West, Estelle) but they are not overwhelming. The tempo calms down towards the end of the album and there are two songs where Legend continues to dable in reggae. I saw him live in Brixton where he remixed Used to Love U from his first album into a reggae remix and there are those features on Estelle's album Shine where there was a reggae sound. It does really suit his voice and it doesn't sound gimicky like some other R&B artists (Mariah Carey). Here is a brief look at some stand out tracks

Good Morning Intro/Green Light ft. Andre 3000 - the up-tempo track is very Outkast reminiscent which is nice for a group I haven't hread from in a while. There isn't an obvious piano track on here so I like to hear John doing different things. 5/5

It's Over ft. Kanye West - this track about someone who just doesn't get it when you've broken up, is brassy with horns and again a slightly modern drum and electric sound. There is a lingering female vocal as well. Kanye's rap is all right again with the vocoder (think T Pain). 4/5

Everybody Knows - this is almost countryish in its start with just an acoustic guitar and a simple drum line. John's voice stands out and the lyrics are very well written. The song is about your ex finding someone new which works well flowing from the first song. This song is subtle and is an easy listen. Rather addictive.

Quickly ft Brandy - pulsing almost flashing lights tempo with stand out bass. This is a BEAUTIFUL song and it is great to hear from Brandy again. This is one of my favourite tracks on the album for sure. Well worth downloading on its own if you don't want to buy the whole album at first. 5/5

Cross the Line - again this sounds very Andre 3000/Outkast. It is about 'crossing the line' with a friend. The production is below John's voice and the production never really takes off but stays nicely low key. Excellent track. 4/5

No Other Love ft. Estelle - 4/5 - Reggae style track. Estelle really shines on this track with John and these two I hope continue to work together on tracks. They compliment each other really well with John's raspy voice. This track is very listenable and John sounds comfortable in the genre.

This Time - 4/5 - this is a little higher production with rich strings and a piano (first time I've noticed a piano in the entire album to memory).

I Love, You Love / Good Morning - If you really loved Once Again, you will love where the rest of this album is going and these two tracks epitomise this best. More mellow, John's voice, a single electric guitar on I love, you love (think mellow dire straits). Good Morning is very mellow again and rich in john's vocal being the focus.

If You're Out There - campaign song written for Barack Obama which is very production rich and uplifting which is obviously meant to be the direction of the song. I think that the song is somewhat out of place on the album but I understand that he would put it on his next album as the song is popular with many in the campaign. 3/5

Can't be My Lover - LOVE THIS TRACK - sounds like Buju Banton is on the track and again I think John must genuinely love reggae music cuz he sounds very comfortable on this track. I can't wait to hear this live. 5/5

Buy this album. A lot of albums will come out over this Christmas run up and this is one of them that is a must to buy. I normall say download individual tracks and if you are going to do that, chose the ones that I have spoken about on here, but if you notice. That's probably about 80% of the album. I cannot speak more highly of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another great album, 6 July 2013
By 
Ms. F. A. Buckland "Leafy" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolver (Audio CD)
It's so rare that one artist puts out album after album of really high quality stuff - after one or two the standard usually dips, but it seems John Legend's creative juices are still flowing as fast and as beautifully as ever. Favourite track has to be Good Morning - so catchy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Class and cream of Legend!, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolver (Audio CD)
Heard all the tracks on Spotify some years earlier and thought they were so good that I bought the album. No regrets whatsoever. Legend is truly amazing - his duet with Brandy, Quickly, which was written by Frank Ocean (amongst others) takes your breath away. This Time still gets me emotional. These are but to name a few of what it has to offer. Highly recommended. Less intense than his last and the one before, but equally charming and spine tingling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice item, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolver (Audio CD)
I bought this item for a christmas gift. I love it and my friend love too.
Buy this item, because is lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A most fortunate accident!, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolver (Audio CD)
I bought this cd by accident and it's the best accident I've ever made!
Having not particularily liked the over rated "Get Lifed" album (apart from a few tracks), I had kind of gone off John Legend. I was looking at this Evolver album (attracted by the amazing 1.75 price) when I somehow accidently bought it by mistake. It arrived and I love it! There are some great tracks on there duets, with Brandy and a few others which are beautiful, and I love the reggae feel of some of the other tracks, one of which just makes you want to get up and dance and sing along. Best accident I ever bought! Buy it and ay this price you just can't complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars more class, 12 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evolver (Audio CD)
More class from Mr Legend. Evolver doesn't deliver surprises but it does deliver more class tunes from a young veteran. His voice is perfect, of course. He's backed by excellent musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Evolving into what?, 24 Jan 2009
This review is from: Evolver (Audio CD)
John Legend has been a breath of fresh air to me in the sea of maunfactired pop/RnB churned out by the big labels these days.Sadly the onset of downloading increases the need to produce pop tunes with lots of bass but no real substance.A downloadable quick fix of pop.'Get Lifted' was a great debut and for me, 'Once Again' hit the spot in just about every tune on the album.A number of guest appearances and collaborations (Estelle et al) since then appear to have influenced Mr.Legend to be experimental with his art(Evolve?).Sadly I am in favour of some devolution as as to me this album misses its potential in a number of areas.Its not that it does not contain some good songs as there are a few as is the case for Greenlight, Everybody Knows,Good Morning which are the kind of material Legend demands.Sadly there are a few dissapointing moments on the album including a couple reggae influenced tunes that just don't work.How is it most black American artists really don't cut it when it comes to reggae or dance hall.The sound is nearly always overproduced and too polished.Get Wycliffe to produce it and it might have worked.
The closing Trevor Horn production (obviously out of work due to Seal making a soul album) is a somewhat treacley anti-war ballad which reminds me of Oletta Adams' 'Get Here'.A bit contrived for my taste and a bit dated in my opinion .
If you lean towards pop/soul there is enough here to make it worthwhile. If,like me P.D.A (We Just Don't Care) from the last album made you smile with pleasure then you may be a little dissapointed with this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars John is a legend..., 23 Dec 2008
This review is from: Evolver (Audio CD)
Beautifully produced album, love it...I love Johns voice so I wasn't dissapointed but quite different to the last album I bought, Get Lifted, which I also rate highly. If you love soul/ hip hop - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evolver
Evolver by John Legend (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews