Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest recorded work from rock's most neglected talent
This album is the second long player released by the sisters - who for all intents and purposes are Andrew Eldeitch. Floodland is the greatest work from rock's most neglected talent. Forget the ball and chain 'goth' tag and instead concerntrate your attentions upon the work of a lyricist whose subtext's have subtexts and a (very) dry humour all of their own. From a...
Published on 6 Nov 1999

versus
0 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Still waiting...
Where is it? Ordered weeks ago and yet to receive this disc...??? Please help and send or re send. U have orders 20 discs and received all except this one
Published on 7 May 2012 by Patiently waiting...


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest recorded work from rock's most neglected talent, 6 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Floodland (Audio CD)
This album is the second long player released by the sisters - who for all intents and purposes are Andrew Eldeitch. Floodland is the greatest work from rock's most neglected talent. Forget the ball and chain 'goth' tag and instead concerntrate your attentions upon the work of a lyricist whose subtext's have subtexts and a (very) dry humour all of their own. From a first listen the stand out tracks are the powerful 'Lucretia' and the opereatic 'This Corrosion' co-produced by that old ham Jim Steinman (the track Meatloaf could never quite pull off) but repeated plays reveal 'Driven Like the Snow' as the album's high point. The song builds to an emotional climax of stunning intensity. Leave your prejudices behind and discover the work of an artist who proves that rock still has a lot to offer beyond the usual cliches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best album I have ever heard!, 18 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Floodland (Audio CD)
Out of the ashes of the old Sisters, in the aftermath of litigation and recrimination, this album reaffirmed the faith of die-hard fans. As far as I am concerned, the Sisters never made music like this before or after - and neither has anyone else! From the thumping bassline of Lucretia to the Baroque swirls of This Corrosion, the record takes your breath away. And still does. It's hard to believe we first heard it in 1987; it was so far outside of it's time that it has not aged at all. There are still twists in the lyrics that suddenly make sense after more than a decade. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This, And Buy It Now, 14 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Floodland (Audio CD)
This album absolutely owns. Admittedly, I wasn't a fan of what is classed as "goth", but regardless, I love this album.
It's dark, yet not depressing. It's like little else, really.
Dominion/Mother Russia is a fantastic album opener, and quite possibly the best track overall. Lucretia My Reflection and Driven Like The Snow also stand out similarly. 1959 is pretty much the only ballad-like song, and is somewhat separated from the rest of the album by this. Still not a bad track, though.
This Corrosion, however, is an absolute epic of a song, lasting - as someone said earlier - nigh on 11 minutes.
Fantastic song, fantastic album. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T.S. Eliot Goes Black Rock, 15 Mar 2004
This review is from: Floodland (Audio CD)
Floodland goes some way to prove that Andrew Eldritch is one of rock's most underrated talents - though some would claim that's his own fault.
This is a gorgeously doomy, yet impossibly dancey, record - and one of the 80's greatest albums. Eldritch mixes his typically abstract, T.S. Eliot-inspired lyrics and 'Low' era Bowie vocals with a wall of industrial gloominess that would make Phil Spector proud. Standout tracks include the intense 'Dominion', the haunting 'Driven Like the Snow' and the beautifully mournful '1959'. But it is the Jim Steinman produced fatted calf of 'This Corrosion' that, for sheer apocalyptic rock attack, has the greatest impact.
And Patricia Morrison looks simply divine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Love Love this record, 29 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. R. J. Macleod "replicant" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Floodland (Remastered & Expanded) (MP3 Download)
One of the best Goth albums ever. Dark pulsed and poetical. Political syth driven rock and Patrica Morrison is a bit of a babe. Fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peerless gothic rock, 13 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gothic rock? Call it what you want, this is a simply brilliant album. The presence of the extra tracks is welcome, especially the cover of Emma (originally by Hot Chocolate), but it's the classics that make this worth your money. All three of the Sisters' LPs have their moments. For me, the absolute standout tracks on First and Last and Always were Nine While Nine and Some Kind of Stranger, with the title track and Marian bringing up the rear. On Vision Thing, the mighty I Was Wrong and Something Fast were the two that really stayed with me, with a tip of the hat to When You Don't See Me and More. Everyone has their favourites, but I believe Floodland's highpoints stand comparison with the Sisters' very best work. I'm thinking in particular of Lucretia My Reflection, Driven Like The Snow and 1959 - written after someone suggested to Eldritch that he try composing something on the piano.

While I've never been able to separate their very best tracks, I will say that I think Floodland ranks as the band's strongest album overall. It's the one I come back to again and again. It has everything: bitter, sweet and bittersweet lyrics worthy of Philip Larkin, driving bass rhythms, and a masterclass in production atmospherics. The only gothic rock album by anyone else that even comes close, in my humble opinion, is Bloody Kisses by Type O Negative. Oh, and if anyone's interested, the videos made to promote this album, and available on the Shot collection, are terric too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goth meets pure pop, with glorious results..., 13 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Floodland (Audio CD)
One of the few standout albums from a very lean musical period (the late '80s), "Floodland" is a glorious response to the breakup of the "original" Sisters. The three headline singles ("Dominion" - one of the best starts to an album ever - "Lucretia" and "This Corrosion") have at least one foot planted in the realm of unabashed stadium rock and the other tracks, whilst quieter and lyrically darker, also show plenty of pop nous. This is "goth" that any mainstream rock fan would love. The one completely introspective track - "1959" - is also a gem.

You'd like to think, on the strength and confident commerciality of this album, that band leader Andrew Eldritch was intelligent enough not to take himself too seriously - sadly, subsequent events seem to disprove that theory (although it must be said that "Vision Thing" is also a fantastic album). The Sisters could and should have gone on to be as big as Depeche Mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Goth Rock Second To None., 15 Feb 2000
By 
R. Hirskyj "bobh" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Floodland (Audio CD)
This album is still the best goth album ever made. Even with that old fluff boy Steinman, the Sisters manage to add some bite and soul to a passable production job. The Sisters sadly did not repeat this high point, probably due to line-up changes and record company hastles.
Buy and wonder why you did not buy this when it came out and have missed years of enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to see Emma make an appearance finally., 5 Dec 2006
I've owned Floodland since it was originally released in the 80's and it has always taken a special place in my heart. However, I've just bought this copy too, primarily for the full version of Neverland, and the Sister's version of Hot Chocolate's Emma. Emma was always one of my favourite Sister's songs and it's great to finally own it on CD rather than an ancient vinyl B side. It's the one Sister's song that sounds so full of raw emotion and never fails to bring a lump to my throat as Emmaline descends further into depression. Although it was a cover, Andrew sings it like it was his experience of a close friend. A truly classic album, now improved with the better sound quality and extra tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ooh I love this!!, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floodland (Audio CD)
Reluctant Ex Goth very happy indeed. Well as happy as an ex goth can be I suppose. If you know what I mean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Floodland (Remastered & Expanded)
Floodland (Remastered & Expanded) by The Sisters Of Mercy
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews