Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Thru A Different Door......
I bought this way back in '79,the day it came out,i loved it then and i love it now,im always stunned at the negativity towards this album,along with,Zep 3, Zep 4 and Physical graffitti i believe its one of their best,i would always listen to this in preference to say zep 2/presence or Houses,this was a band stretching out not throwing in the towel.I've lost count of the...
Published on 16 April 2011 by Mr Blackwell

versus
31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as you might think, but not the best
Led Zeppelin's final album may seem the most dated today, due to it's then revolutionary use of polyphonic synthesizers and it's very intensive production, foreshadowing the 80's sound. This also leaves the guitar lacking in raunch and the vocals somewhat muffled. Yet as an example of where Led Zeppelin was going in the late seventies, it's very interesting. Opener 'In...
Published on 2 Aug 2004 by mtro


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Thru A Different Door......, 16 April 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In Through The Out Door (Audio CD)
I bought this way back in '79,the day it came out,i loved it then and i love it now,im always stunned at the negativity towards this album,along with,Zep 3, Zep 4 and Physical graffitti i believe its one of their best,i would always listen to this in preference to say zep 2/presence or Houses,this was a band stretching out not throwing in the towel.I've lost count of the times i've said this but closed minds just wont accept this disc,a band damned for trying something different,was that not all the rage at the end of the 70's,i doubt if they would have remained on this track,im sure the hard rock overlords would have returned had circumstances not denied us.

Just listen,enjoy and marvel at a band experimenting,yes some old rock and blues are still here but with JPJ getting his turn in the limelight following Jimmy's on PRESENCE then enjoy what is here: a magnificent opener 'In The Evening' with its hypnotic,thrusting guitar,'Carouselambra' one of their best epics,the poignant 'All My Love' and the intensity of Plants performance on 'Im Gonna Crawl',so what if 'South Bound Suarez' & 'Fool In The Rain' are a side step from the band's past,listen with open mind, they are two excellent songs,only 'Hot Dog' lets the side down.

A thoroughly entertaining disc,unfairly maligned,should be appreciated for its class and the attempt to do something a little different,thats what Zeppelin's great strength was,not conforming to everyone else's view of them,doing what they wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every band has one?, 17 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. P. BROOKSBANK (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Through The Out Door (MP3 Download)
Is this album Led Zeppelin's equivalent to Yes's "Drama" album? It would seem so. I for one like "In Through the Out Door" although I must admit I can see no redeeming features in "Hot Dog" whatsoever. I like the mood changes, the anguish and the anthemic quality of tracks like "In the evening." I will upset a few Zep fans now, I never thought their work was consistant and no I dont think "Stairway to Heavan" was their finest moment. "Kashmere" is pretty much at the top for me and "No Quater." Back to "In Through the Out Door," "Carouselambra" is a storming track and
"All of my love" /"I,m gonna Crawl" show a side of the band that some fans perhaps wouldn't like to acknowledge. My one regret is that like Thin Lizzy I never saw them live. I was away when they played the double weekend at Kebworth back in 1979.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zeppelin's swan song sees them through the Out Door in 1979, 12 May 2013
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In Through The Out Door (Audio CD)
Zeppelin's 8th and final studio album was recorded at Polar Studios in Stockholm in the final weeks of 1978 and released in August 1979, just over a year before Bonzo's death brought about the demise of the band. ITtOD is usually seen as a `transitional' album with a character all its own.

As `Presence' was Jimmy Page's project, it's John Paul Jones who really shines on ITtOD with many of the writing credits shared with Plant, and JPJ's keyboard work and arrangements drive much of the action. Robert Plant said at the time: "'Hey hey mama say the way you move' didn't really have a great deal of import any more. `In Through The Out Door' is more conscientious and less animal".

The opener, `In the Evening', sounds like it should have appeared on the `Houses of the Holy' album, such is the similarity in style. The one issue with this track is that Plant's vocals are too far back in the mix, and the production might have been improved. `Fool in the Rain' is real top 20 material and has received endless airplay on US radio stations. `Carousalambra' is a great track, probably the most ambitious on the album.

`All my love' is dedicated to Plant's deceased son. A surprisingly energetic and upbeat composition with JPJ adding some fine synthesizer work, it's one of only two songs ever recorded by the band where Page has no writing credits (the other one is `South Bound Suarez' again on this album).

The star track for me is the closer `I'm gonna crawl'; a classic long, slow blues number in the mode of `Since I've been loving you' and `Tea for one'. In Zeppelin's 11-year stellar career Plant has rarely been heard on better form than here: surely no other white European singer ever captured the blues with such power, such mastery of the dynamics, such feeling. It's here too that Jimmy Page emerges to produce wailing blues guitar lines to perfectly complement Plant's awesome performance in the unique conversational style the pair had made their own.

ITtOD sees Zeppelin developing and moving on, and JPJ coming into his own as a composer and arranger. Had Bonzo been able to keep his booze habit under control and continued living and breathing, and had the band continued to compose and perform throughout the 1980s, ITtOD indicates the probable direction the music would have taken.

The album artwork was designed by Storm Thorgerson of Hipgnosis (who did such a great job with artwork for Pink Floyd during this period): an unusual concept whereby the album was sold in a sealed plain buff sleeve like a bootleg, inside of which was one of six different possible cover designs each showing a different pair of photos of a scene in The Absynthe Bar in New Orleans. If water was applied to the artwork, it permanently changed colour and you never knew in advance how it would look. In 1980 it was nominated for - but didn't win - a grammy for Best Album Package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different........but still a great album!, 5 Mar 2012
This review is from: In Through The Out Door (Audio CD)
I brought this album to complete the collection, and I wasn't sure what to expect as a lot of reviews have been negative towards the album. After listening to the album I was very surprised with the negativity towards it. Yes it is different than previous Zep records, as it is more keyboard lead as opposed to heavy guitar riffs. But it still rocks and some of JPJ's playing is fantastic especially the keyboard riff and the rocking bass behind carouselambra. The album also features a timeless classic with its opener "in the evening" which is arguably as good as anything they have ever done. Those two songs are not just the only positives to take from the album I find that album flows nicely and all tracks (excluding maybe hot dog) are very good and enjoyable to listen too.

So to sum up yes the album is softer and less guitar lead, but is still a mighty album worthy of anybodys music collection, especially a Zep fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pity about the Frankfurter, 17 Dec 2003
By 
David J. Kelly (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Through The Out Door (Audio CD)
This was my introduction to Led Zeppelin, the first Zep LP I bought as a 15 year old. It got me hooked and my ELO habit soon faded. So this album has a special resonance for me and when I bought it on CD it was the first of the original albums I bought on CD. In the Evening is a superb opening with Jimmy Page on top form. Southbound Suarez and Fool in the Rain have a latino feel and many Zep fans hate these tracks but to me they just show that the band could go where they wished. Hot Dog, however, is a waste of space and spoils the whole album, it should have been on Coda instead of Darlene. What was side two opens with the prog of Carouselambra before going into the tender ballad on, All of my Love. The album closes out with the bluesy I'm Gonna Crawl.

In Through The Out Door may not have been Led Zeppelin's magnus opus but it does not deserve the opprobium heaped on it by many Zepheads. Well apart from Hot Dog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the greatest, but not bad., 5 Feb 2006
This is ofcoarse not Zeps greatest album. Nonetheless it contains great songs. But if you compare it to for example LZ II it just isn't that good.
The album starts of rocking with In The Evening and its a great song.
The next is South Bound Saurez, which is a song that I just don't understand. Its average i guess.
Fool In The Rain is not very typical LZ, but has a great riff and a good vocal prestation from Plant. The drumming is also great.
Hot Dog is a behated song, but i love it. It shows that LZ had a great sense of humor, and it actually is funny. If you don't like the song, you don't like the humor.
Carouselambra (or whatever it is) is the only song that I actually don't like on the album. (But maybe you will?)
All Of My Love. Nice ballad, good lyrics. Its an OK song.
I'm Gonna Crawl. This song reeks of blues and its simply awesome. Maybe not as great as LZs earlier bluesy stuff, but it still makes skivers go down your spine.
All in all a good album and worth buying. But if you don't have the earlier albums buy them first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, even Hot Dog. Open your mind !!!, 2 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Through The Out Door (Audio CD)
Why do fans of a band, and even a genre of music, believe that any variation to that is a bad thing. Maturity is a great thing. Listen. Explore. You might enjoy. This is a great album.

Listen to Hot Dog with an open mind, and you will tap your feet, the steel guitar solo in the middle is class.

If this was The Clash, who I am sure share many fans with Zep, no one would bat an eyelid about numerous styles on an album. Yet Zep get criticised for differing styles.

This album shows why Plant's subsequent solo work is so good. (Roll on Sept 13th).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as you might think, but not the best, 2 Aug 2004
This review is from: In Through The Out Door (Audio CD)
Led Zeppelin's final album may seem the most dated today, due to it's then revolutionary use of polyphonic synthesizers and it's very intensive production, foreshadowing the 80's sound. This also leaves the guitar lacking in raunch and the vocals somewhat muffled. Yet as an example of where Led Zeppelin was going in the late seventies, it's very interesting. Opener 'In the Evening' is a typical magestic Led Zeppelin rock number,(in the vein of Kashmir) enhanced by Jones's synths. 'South Bound Saurez' is a strange boogie style number with Jones taking center stage on piano. 'Fool in the Rain' is a weird samba type song which again shows Led Zeppelin doing something very different. 'Hot Dog' is one of Zep's worst songs in my opinion, a tastless ode to 50's rock n roll. 'Carouselambra' is the gem of this album, plastered in synths and charged with an ominous energy that carries it through it's ten minute duration. 'All My Love' is Robert's lament to the death of his son, Karac, but though the sentiment is genuine the dated synths fail to make the impact acoustic guitar would. Final number I'm gonna Crawl is a blues, but again the twist is the incorporation of synths, but it still works fantastically in the vein of it's predecesors Since I've been loving you and Tea for One. So, if you have got all the other albums and fancy something different, get it, especially for Carouselambra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...don't shoot the piano player!, 29 May 2007
By 
This review is from: In Through The Out Door (Audio CD)
Though many Zeppelin fans thought "Prescence" showed the band were past their

peak, many felt "In Through the Out Door" seemed to show a lack of cohesion within

the Zeppelin camp, dogged by personal misfortune, and signified the beginning of the

end. As the titled suggests, the rise of Punk and the aforesaid personal difficulties, the

group were finding it worrying that their crown seemed to be slipping. Personally I think

there are some great songs on this album which history has been unkind to, the albums

still contains the classic mysterious Zeppelin signatures though it is dominated by John

Paul Jones' synthesisers and appears largely experimental though underrated - there is

some fine work by JPJ here.

Having taken up Abba's invitation to use their Polar recording studios in Stockholm the

end result, though not apparent on the primitive setup I was using in 1979, was poor

sound quality in comparison to their earlier albums, and though Jimmy Page's expert

remastering did little to improve the veiled sound I wish they'd recorded the album back

at Olympic Studios in London where their meteoric rise to fame first began.

The cover was an interesting though largely ignored concept by Hipgnosis, a bemused

buyer would find the sleeve was contained in a brown paper "jacket" with the band and

album title "rubber stamped" in the top corner, with the main sleeve "hidden" within.

The main cover showed a man sitting at a bar burning a "dear John" letter, surrounded

by five other characters: the barman, a rather tipsy floosie, a "detective" in the corner,

another rather tired-looking bar-room girl and a piano player. The six different sleeves,

labelled on each spine as "A,B,C,D,E and F" showed a different pair of photos with a

different point of view seen from the six characters within the scene. If that wasn't

enough, the inner sleeve showed two sketches of some bar debris which could actually

be coloured in using a wet brush like in a child's book!

The quiet mysterious eastern-style intro to "In The Evening" belies the straight rock

song that follows, with a typical Bonham beat swathed in synthesisers, though the next

song "Southbound Suarez" is a more upbeat rock'n'roll "sha-la-la" piano boogie style

shuffle. "Fool in the Rain" is a rather simple song but features some fine shuffling drum

work from John Bonham and keyboards from JPJ, and breaks into a Santana style latin

groove containing a growling Page solo, a good track which I still find hard to keep still

to! Some fast fingering by JP is featured on the hill-billy style "Hot Dog" about a girl

who "took the Greyhound at the general store", and "she took my heart, she took my

keys from in my old blue dungarees", a fun song (try and keep still to this one!) which

nicely rounds off side 1.

If JPJ's influence was merely evident on the preceding music, on side 2 it literally

dominates - the heavy synthesiser-driven "Carouselambra" is widely considered the

best most Proggish track on this album, and features strong drumming from JB though

Plant's vocals are so drowned within the mix they are barely decipherable. Some amazing

passages from JPJ's synthesiser intertwined with Page's dramatic power chord guitar statements

make this a tingling listen, with Plant's vocals reminiscent of the old dragon-and-sorcery

lyrics of earlier material, "Faceless legions stood in readiness to weep, just turn a coin,

bring order to the fray..", the song then breaks into a different more dramatic

direction with "Held now within the knowing, rest now within the beat, take of the fruit,

but guard the seed.." followed by some spine-tingling power chords from Jimmy - very

dramatic stuff! "All My Love" is much more sedate, and contains some beautiful and

catchy almost Vivaldian keyboard passages from JPJ and singing from Plant, leading up

to a similar mood in "I'm Gonna Crawl", about unconditional love and devotion,

something an old fool like me would know about but scoff at occasionally (!) - though

I'm not going to scoff at "In Through the Out Door" as I still think it's a great album, one

which I still love hearing, and deserves more recognition , it was better than many

other albums released in 1979, Led Zeppelin had already set the bar very very high!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much maligned but original album, 5 May 2006
By 
C. O'toole "bigcon" (co. down N ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Through The Out Door (Audio CD)
This 1978 album was the last that Zep would commit to vinyl, the formula completely overhauled after Robert Plant tragically lost his son to pneumonia whilst the band were full flight on their behemoth 1977 US tour. Plant took a year off to recover and John Paul Jones beat the rest to the studio and programmed a lot of keyboard backing. The album opens with "In the Evening" classic Zep rock with a killer riff, the style changes with samba "south bound suarez" yee haw country rock "hot dog" and "fool in the Rain " "carouselambra is an epic cut of different sections which dominates side two a bit like Jan Hammer in places, the guitar and drums are excellent but are buried down the mix for a change, "all my Love" is a great track marred but crappy now dated keyboard effects and "i'm gonna crawl" emerges from a banal keyboard refrain into one of the most powerful emotive blues type songs of Zep's career. It's not their best work but it's worth a look for "in the Evening", "i'm gonna crawl" and the hilarious "hot dog".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Through The Out Door
In Through The Out Door by Led Zeppelin
Buy MP3 Album£7.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews