Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No band polarises opinion at the moment...
...quite like A7X. Some consider them geniuses, others sellouts, and its mainly down to this LP (I've never really understood the concept of "selling out" - the bands we love do their thing, and we vote with our feet. Simple, no?).
So then, City Of Evil. This was the first A7X record I heard, I must have listened to it 100 times in the last 10 months, and I...
Published on 7 April 2006 by D. Walker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A7X
I love listen to Avenged Sevenfold music and brought this because it has some of there best songs on it. Not bad i because i payed only 3.86 for this album.
Published 10 months ago by Gareth


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent album by consumate musicians, 25 July 2007
This review is from: City of Evil (Audio CD)
I had never heard of A7X until I heard 'Bat Country' on a friend's PC. I bought all of their albums based on that one first hearing. City of Evil is an album which does not contain a bad track. As someone who has listened to rock and HM for many years and has seen all the greats, Rush, Metallica, Megadeth, Queensryche, ACDC, Iron Maiden, Rammstein, etc, I was very pleased to come across a band who were heavy and melodic at the same time. Great riffs and superb melodic neo-classical guitar work. Helloween meets Megadeth! What a relief to discover that there are still bands out there who can play! Buy this album!! Now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure genius!!!, 8 July 2007
By 
Mr. H. J. E. Rendell "metal god" (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Over the years this band has been writen of by most of the rock community but in my opinion i cannot see why. They have gone from strength to strength and i feel that this is there best album. The drumming is fast and sharp, the guitar work by syn is amazing and the varied vocals by m shadows makes this album an all together classic. I own all three of their albums and this is the best. Once you listen to it once or twice your are hooked on it and beware it is very addictive. All of the songs are excellent but the ones that really stand out are 'MIA' 'Beast and the harlot' and 'bat country' This is a good avenged sevenfold album to start with and i also recommend the previous two. By this album and stop reading the reveiws....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its Brilliant but is it better than Waking the fallen?, 16 Jun 2005
City of Evil is technically a very different album to Waking the fallen. It has dropped the screaming and the sound is much more intense and in a way perfectly mainstream material, but has this made it a bad album?
NO NO NO NO NO!!
City of evil is a corker, it is fantastic if not a little daft(the WOAHH YEAHHS! in burn it down for example).
The guitaring is more complex than in waking the fallen, that is hard to believe i know but you have to listen to the way that basically all the way through the songs is one continuous guitar solo. The drumming is fast paced and technically excellent with drum solos(especially in "blinded by chains") that seems only The Rev(yes thats his name) can pull off, as ive certainly not heard anything like it before.
The album is different, but different can be good, even groundbreaking as this album is definatly that.
If you want "crash, bang, wollop" mixed with harmonic singing and musically technicallity of a much more experienced band, then this is for you, even if you dont want that then buy it anyways cause its awesome.
Is it better than Waking the Fallen, its the same but in so many different ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New, Bigger, Better A7X, 9 Jun 2005
By 
T. Lee "HNBTomm" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are a previous fan of A7X you may be wondering how this album can possibly stand against the brilliant "Waking The Fallen" but seriously this rocks way, way harder. With "City Of Evil" it almost feels like they've gone back to the drawing board of how metal should be played and stuck a new twist on it. The screaming is all gone (and lets face it with every one and their grannies screaming out lyrics these days is anyone gonna miss it?) and is replaced by much more melodical, heartfelt singing. Shadows has clearly noticed that "screamo" bands are a dime a dozen these days and has wisely led the band in a new direction preventing them from being pigeon holed into flash in the pan genre. This is the main difference between from their previous efforts but in my opinion this decision has paid off sevenfold (sorry). The music itself remains absolutley superb, yet still different from their previous outings. There are a lot more guitar solos this time round (Shadows and Vengeance are clearly capable of playing the guitar extremely well and have finally lived up to their full potential on this album). The Reverand's drumming is once again top notch and will put amazed and envious faces on drummers everywhere, Christ's bass playing fits in perfectly with the speed of the drumming and together they make up a damn good rhythm section. Highlights on this album for me include "Trashed And Scattered" and "Bat Country" but I don't believe there is a bad song on this record. If listened to repeateadly it could be accused of being repetitive but in my experience not until the 8th hour in a row! There are more epics on this record also like the mighty "I Won't See You Tonight (Part 1)" and with the brilliant Maiden influenced "Strength Of The World" ringing in at just over 9 minutes this is Avenged Sevenfold at their most heart felt epic best. You ain't heard nothing yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is their "Master Of Puppets", 24 Dec 2006
By 
Ian Clement "Rockin and Rollin all night" (Eyemouth, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a modern classic! Synester Gates will be remembered among great guitarists such as Slash, Jimmy Page, Angus Young, James Hetfield and so on. From beginning to end this album has a totally new style, a bag load of riffs and tons of metal attittude! M Shadows voice is what makes it outstanding as well. He just puts his heart and soul into the album and you can clearly see it. You can tell I totally adore this album. So for the love of God buy it and see what i see in this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sit back, adsorb the music and appreciate!!!, 21 April 2006
By 
S. James "Thought Thief" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes! City of Evil is different from their first 2 albums, but by God I absolutely love it. All those who complain about it not being as good as Waking the Fallen, must be out of their minds for the most part (though everyone has their own opinion). If you put it in for the first listen and then come to your judgement, then more fool you. If you're looking for something that is exactly the same as Waking the Fallen, then more fool you, with raised eyebrows. If your looking for a great album, that is brilliant from beginning to end, and shows the progression and musical skill of a great band, then buy this album! Nuff Said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent change in sound from a7x, 28 Feb 2006
By 
Avenged Sevenfold's current album, not as good as their previous album Waking The Fallen in my opinion, but still excellent.
The screaming from the previous albums has been dropped here leaving a more mellow sound, that i feel appeals more to the mainstream audience without losing its heavy appeal. I am not to sure whether or not this is a good thing, but the album certainly sounds very different to the previous two.
However i am not here to review the other albums, and this album itself is excellent. As always with avenged sevenfold, there is a lot of variation within the album, but still managing to keep the unique sound of the band. Tracks rage from, the ridiculusly fast paced trashed and scattered and beast and the harlot to the melodic, epic conclusion of M.I.A. The most famous track from the album is the recently released bat country which i must admit is a really catchy song, but i do not feel that it is their best as many people do.
Overall i feel this is a superb album with some great drumming and guitar work, along with some more melodic but still impressive vocals. It is by no means perfect but certainly deserves more than 4 stars! so i would highly recomend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Massive Avenged fan and this is one of Fav albums of there's with tracks like Seize the Day and Beast and the Harlot. Fantastic stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 25 Feb 2014
I bought this album when I was 13. I am now 23 and this is still my all time fave album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Revolutionises Metal, 22 Jan 2014
By 
City of Evil was the third album I heard from Avenged Sevenfold (Avenged Sevenfold, Nightmare, City Of Evil, Waking The Fallen, Diamonds In The Rough, Sounding The Seventh Trumpet, and finally Hail To The King), and looking back after listening to all their records in order, I can see this is the one where they know what direction they want to take. As their first all sung album, this really sets the way for the bands future and in my opinion revolutionises metal by their unique style.
Song Scores:

Beast And The Harlot - 8/10
Burn It Down - 7/10
Blinded In Chains - 7/10
Bat Country - 8/10
Trashed And Scattered - 8/10
Seize The Day - 10/10
Sidewinder - 9/10
The Wicked End - 8/10
Strength Of The World - 9/10
Betrayed - 10/10
MIA - 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews