Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great eighties orch-pop album....dream on!
Recently , the latest in a long sad line of MP3 players i have owned went on the blink and so i was forced to go back to my old cassette walkman. This meant scouring the boxes under the bed for cassettes to play on it. Grabbing a handful at random i have had the pleasure of listening to albums i haven't heard in years. Foremost amongst these is the debut album from The...
Published on 17 Dec 2007 by russell clarke

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Start
As I have all three original CDs by The Dream Academy, I haven't bothered to get these re-releases. For one, they're not remastered and two there are no extra tracks! What's that all about then?

The Dream Academy were superb, a truly great band. Three fine musicians and melodies to die for. This debut included their one and only true hit "Life In A Northern...
Published on 17 May 2007 by Coincidence Vs Fate


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great eighties orch-pop album....dream on!, 17 Dec 2007
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dream Academy (Audio CD)
Recently , the latest in a long sad line of MP3 players i have owned went on the blink and so i was forced to go back to my old cassette walkman. This meant scouring the boxes under the bed for cassettes to play on it. Grabbing a handful at random i have had the pleasure of listening to albums i haven't heard in years. Foremost amongst these is the debut album from The Dream Academy.
Released in 1985 the album is multi-faceted sumptuous pop experience utilising for that time exotic instrumentation- strings , woodwind, heavy percussion and synthesisers but most importantly it contains ten excellent songs. The band comprised of singer guitarist and main song writer Nick Laird-Clowes, keyboard player and song writing contributor Gilbert Gabriel and multi-instrumentalist ( Though she mainly played the oboe) Kate St John . The album was produced by Dave Gilmour Laird- Clowes and Alan Tarney.
The song everyone remembers off the album is the single "Life In A Northern Town" with it's video shot in Hebden Bridge in the Calder Valley. Written as a tribute to Nick Drake(Whose critical renaissance had started around this time) the song is memorable for it's lilting verse and percussion heavy and euphoric chorus. It is by no means though the best song on the album. "Love Parade" , the follow up single is a glorious pop confection that mysteriously bombed in the U.K. charts. "This World" is a swirling vertiginous orch-pop epic about Laird-Clowes friends drug addiction while "Bound To Be" sounds typically eighties with its burbling bass lines but the audacious jabbing strings give it real dramatic tension." Johnny (New Light)" tender strummed chords give way to a galloping chorus ."In Places On The Run" is a dreamy almost narcoleptic ballad haunted by Kate St Johns plaintive oboe. Incidentally, her oboe playing is one of the main reasons this is such a great consistent record , something she also achieved on Julian Copes "Fried" album.
In-between there is the tense but symphonic "The Edge Of Forever", the more ductile eighties tones of "Moving On" complete with meandering saxophone, the stocky orchestral strains of "The Party" and the closing acoustic ballad "One Dream", all showcasing consummate melodies and verdant arrangements. Laird-Clowes is a decent vocalist veering away from bombast and unnecessary affectation and Kate St Johns backing vocals are just terrific.
The band went on to make one more album "Remembrance Days" in 1987 before splitting but in truth that album was a tad under whelming .Laird -Clowes has gone on to record as Trashmonk. Dream Academy is one of my favourite pop albums of the eighties. It has aged better than a great deal of eighties music , though it must be said the stuff that hasn't dated well still has a glossy charm as well . This is cultured expansive pop music , commercial sounding but with a singular vision all its own . Yes it is possible to make music like that though it,s hard to envisage it nowadays .......unless I've been dreaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes there's just no justice, 1 July 2005
This review is from: The Dream Academy (Audio CD)
Why this band didn't make it big time is a mystery to me.They were amongst a select group af bands producing what I would describe as classy pop music of the highest level(others included Prefab Sprout and Aztec Camera).This is a great album with no duds or fillers.From the booming 'Life in a Northern Town' to the thoughtful,ballad-like 'One Dream'this is quality.Buy it and listen !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful piece of music, 10 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dream Academy (Audio CD)
Everyone knows the first song "Life in a Northern Town" but "Edge of Forever" may be as good. "Love Parade" is also a stand out song. A classic album from a so-called one-hit wonder 80's band (an undeserved label)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE STUDENTS WHO NEARLY MADE IT GLOBAL, 5 Feb 2001
By 
garymortons@aol.com (LIFE IN A NORTHERN TOWN,UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dream Academy (Audio CD)
ONE OF THE MOST UNDERATED BANDS OF THE 80`S,90`S,I HAVE ALL THERE MUSIC INCLUDING THERE HARD TO GET "A DIFFERENT KIND OF WEATHER" WHICH I BOUGHT IN USA IN 1990,THEY SEEM BIGGER IN THE USA, I PLAY THEM ALL OVER AGAIN AND AGAIN,BUT AS THIS WAS THE DEBUT ALBUM WHICH ONLY PRODUCED THE UK HIT "LIFE IN A NORTHERN TOWN"THIS BRINGS IT ALL BACK,I HAVE NOT HEARD A BAD TRACK ON ANY CD BY DREAM ACADEMY.THE RANGE,WORDS,EASY LISTENING AND DIFFERENT STYLES MAKE IT A MUST FOR ANY CD COLLECTION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A search found., 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dream Academy (Audio CD)
I chose this rating because not only the tune made me remember good times I always only got the chorus bits until my son informed me what it was and who the group were, Most importantly the lyrics conjure up all sorts of imagery which is now more surrealism than real which supports the name of the group brilliantly "The Dream Academy"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Start, 17 May 2007
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dream Academy (Audio CD)
As I have all three original CDs by The Dream Academy, I haven't bothered to get these re-releases. For one, they're not remastered and two there are no extra tracks! What's that all about then?

The Dream Academy were superb, a truly great band. Three fine musicians and melodies to die for. This debut included their one and only true hit "Life In A Northern Town", which was originally titled "Morning Lasted All Day" trivia fans. It's still a great track after all these years and it really set the bands stall out.

Some of the other tracks are here probably could be described as filler, but there are still some storming tracks in "The Edge Of Forever" and "The Love Parade". The latter being a single I really thought would become a hit for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dream Academy (Audio CD)
life in a northern town and dave Gilmour too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's only a northern dream, 7 Dec 2011
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dream Academy (Audio CD)
Aware only of this album's reputation and the big hit which opens it, I recently took a chance on it without being affected by the nostalgia factor. Its only substantial weakness is to have been made when pop production values were at a nadir: over-polished, factory-sealed sounds with clunky drum machines that render some great musical ideas sterile. In Dream Academy's case, however, this is partly avoided by the addition of acoustic instruments, particularly woodwind, which soften the sharp edges and enable it to retain some of its warmth. Arrangements vary subtly too, allowing each track its own identity. 'Bound To Be', for instance, features a Four Tops style rhythm guitar whereas a more spare arrangement featuring trumpet and double bass gives 'One Dream' a more poignant touch.

The lyrics are well above average too; there is some good storytelling on here to complement the melodic nature of the songs. With a considerable helping of some heavyweight outside assistance, this is quite a classy pop album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 6 Jan 2010
By 
Michael 80 (San Francisco,USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dream Academy (Audio CD)
I have this album on cd and a very worn out lp. After 20 years or so I still listen to it. What does that tell you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dream Academy (Audio CD)
Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dream Academy (US Release)
The Dream Academy (US Release) by The Dream Academy
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews