Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2CD+DVD - a reason for living
Bananarama's most fun and camp album is reissued here and it's very impressive. There's much more of a good thing, much more of Bruno Tonioli not wearing very much and most importantly lots of rare and unreleased tracks.

The group's first 100% Stock/Aitken/Waterman (more or less) album still sounds as much fun now as it did back then (I still remember buying...
Published 8 months ago by downkiddie

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars Reissue But.........
Make no mistakes, I love all the current deluxe reissues of Bananarama's albums. But the discs are pack so tight against cardboard & paper which make it next to impossible to take the cds & dvds out of the packages without scratching them! For Wow, the one I got had glue left at the edges of all 3 discs from the paper envelops that housed them. Edsel & Rhino should take...
Published 7 months ago by pcht


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice re-issue with bonus unreleased stuff, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wow! (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Whatever the intentions, this ought to be at least a 3-CD release. Bonus unreleased material is there (and I'm very happy with this) but a lot of stuff is missing here. That said, it's a more than decent re-issue with a decent mastering. The vast number of versions / mixes missing here (due to lack of space I suppose) makes it essential for Edsel to release a collection of at least 2 CDs containing the missing releases from all re-issues ("Love Truth & Honesty" is a considerable loss here - also the 5min single version of "Strike it Rich" on the B-side of the U.S. 7inch never released on CD except in Japan) with some surprises of unreleased goodies from the vaults, maybe? I didn't have second thoughts on buying these re-issues and if we give this whole project a warm welcome, maybe we'll be rewarded with some bonus-es :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS THE ALBUM!!!!, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Bradley S Martell (calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wow! (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
IF EVER THERE WAS AN ABLUM THAT MADE BANANARAMA INCREDIBLY FAMOUS & WELL KNOW, IT IS THIS. GET THIS FOR THE REMIXES & THE DVD. THE HOUSE MIX OF -I HEARD A RUMOUR IS FINALLY RELEASED ON THIS COLLECTION, ALONG WITH - LOVE IN THE FIRST DEGREE- WITH THE UNRELEASED- -SPOKEN WORD INTRO. GET THIS!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories!, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wow! (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Happy memories from my younger days all in one CD. Thank you Girls! I will smile every time I hear this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 1 April 2013
This review is from: Wow (Audio CD)
After their success with 'True Confessions' it wqs clear that the trio of Keren, Sara and Siobhan were at their peak and was not going to be messed around with.
After the international success of Venus, led the band into the hit-making factory mill of Stock, Aitken and Waterman; who were responsible for some of the biggest selling 80's pop records and beyond.
Known for their trademark 'dancefloor' high energy sound attracted member Siobhan due to her fondness of Dead or Alive's You Spin Me Round (Like A Record) record.
Bananarama sought out a production relationship with the SAW group and was to put Bananarama at the top of the charts for a further three years. As a result of motown-like song 'Love In The First Degree' 'I Heard A Rumour' disco-themed 'I Can't Help It' and.possibly 'one of the cheeiest songs we have ever written - says Keren 'I Want You Back' and many more.
The WOW! album is a much needed staple which is still keeping the 80's genre alive, Bananarama have proved with this body of lyrically and musically diverse sound that self-song writing can prove better than highly technical and manufactural bands and records.
Justin Bieber, One Direction, Nicki Minaj, Katy Perry, Rihanna, JLS... This is how you make a good pop record... This is how you do it and taking into consideration that EVERY song WAS WRITTEN by all and only members means thqt they areas highly regarded song writters.more now than ever. The songs have lasted because of their originality and cleverness and the dancefloor gestural ability which each (and every) song evokes.

5 Stars.
Fantastic
A much needed add to any fan's collection or any fan of the 80's genre.
Everything which made the 80's such a success is right here.
Bananarama have sold more singles than the Spice Girls and more albums than Girls Aloud and The Supremes and in 1988 were featured in the Guiness Book of World Records as the most popular girl group of all time due to having the most chart entries.

I think the success and songs speak for themselves.
Well done Bananarama!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 22 Aug 2010
WOW! is the 4th album released by Bananarama in 1987.
It is entirely produced and co-written with the Stock Aitken Waterman production trio and is the last album by the girl group to generate significant chart hits in the U.S.
On March 19, 2007, Bananarama's first six studio albums were re-issued by Rhino Records. All re-issues are remastered and each includes several bonus tracks, consisting of B-sides and remixes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild, or What?!, 26 April 2009
By 
Jimmy Lovesey (Cardiff, South Wales) - See all my reviews
'WOW' (standing for Wild or What?) was Siobhan's last as a card carrying 'ram, and it followed on from the success of "Venus"(from their previous album, 'True Confessions') with an SAW produced album of shameless joyous trash! But boy, what trash!

"I Can't Help" It was as outrageously and in-your-face sexual as the 'rams had ever been at this point, with the girls purring "Boys say, I'm good enough to eat". The album then amps up the attitude with "I Heard a Rumour", which is another blinder of a single, as the girls mouth off at a cheating ex of theirs. The 3rd track ramps things up even further, with "Some Girls" - this is my favourite track on the album, and its gobsmacking that it never had a single release! In this the girls teasingly chide the cluelessness of most men when it comes to understanding women. "Love in the First Degree", the most famous track from this album, is almost dissapointing after the first 3 tracks. Sure, its a fun and feel good catchy pop-song, but lacking the personality and attitude of the earlier tracks. Thematically the placing of the track here is probably for the best, as the next track, a sweet love song called "Once in a Lifetime" would have jarred terribly after "Some Girls"! Next up is the moody but fun "Strike it Rich", which is slightly darker (a la True Confessions), and sees the girls screaming Life's a Bitch!. "Bad for Me" and "Come Back" are not stand out tracks, I'd probably class them as the worst two on the album, but that only goes to show how good the rest of this album is! They're both entertaining pop songs, albeit with a slower tempo than the opening tracks. "Nathan Jones" is the album picking up a gear again, but one can't help wishing that the remix later featured on the greatest hits album was the version here, as it would've fitted in better with the other tracks. The album ends on a bang with "I Want You Back", which ended up being the first single released with Jacqui on. One slight sour note, is for those seeking out the remastered albums, is that "Love, Truth & Honesty" (the new track included on the Greatest Hits released in 1988) isn't here as a bonus, as although it had Jacqui, it is more thematically a 'WOW' song than a 'Pop Life' one (and no, its not on that album either!) On the subject of bonus tracks, as well as single mixes the bonus tracks we do great are great fun - especially the fantastic "Mr Sleaze"!

'WOW' stands the test of time as a fantastic, feel-good pop record. In my opinion, its their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical SAW tracks, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Listening to this album, it's surprising how much of it I remembered from when I had the vinyl copy on it's original release in the 1980s. It's also obvious how the girls had given up by then and allowed themselves to be completely taken over by the Stock Aitken Waterman machine. Virtually every track features that monotonous clashing drum machine that characterized SAW productions at the time - there's no real power or verve to any track. It's the same old SAW stuff that could have been written for any one of their acts (except Kylie) at the time.

I Can't Help It is awful, as are the fillers that were never released as singles. However, I Heard A Rumour and especially Love In The First Degree are rally good songs. It;s plain to see (hear) that SAW simply stuck the girls' hits on the album then searched their stock for any less-than-good tracks to fill up the rest of it.

Shortly after this, Bananarama - as they used to say in Smash Hits magazine - disappeared down the dumper. You can see why Siobhan left to form the great Shakespears Sister. Jacqui left, and now Keren and Sarah continue to release album after album of cod disco pop under the name Bananarama. It's time to give up, girls, your legacy's assured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Siobhan's Finale, 21 Jan 2010
By 
Michael 80 (San Francisco,USA) - See all my reviews
This album signalled the departure of original member Siobhan Fahey,who left after the release of the third single I Can't Help It (best track). Elsewhere the megahits I Heard A Rumour,Love In The First Degree and I Want You Back kept the Nanas chartbound for a while earning them a place in British Pop history. Singles aside there's not much of Wow that is memorable. Fillers like Come Back,Once In A Lifetime and Strike It Rich are best forgotton. This 2007 re-issue does feature some bonuses (notably Amnesia) theme from the 80s show The Roxy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow! (Bonus DVD), 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wow! (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
i don't like this album very much, but, remains one of the best stock aitken waterman production. i prefer previous album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A load of rubbish if you ask me., 21 Nov 2013
This review is from: Wow! (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
First up, I will admit I don't know French, but not knowing French doesn't spoil this album at all. It doe a little, but not enough to really change your day. Not so much.

Right from the start you get a very unusual track, then that leads to another track that sounds like "Naaah, pssssyyyeeee, wooooah", and another and so on. It goes like this for about 17 tracks. It might be more, I'm in and out of a coma to be honest, so the meds make things a bit woozy.

Of course it would be nice to hear them sing in English, it would be nice to hear these songs in English, but then I'll take some of the blame for never learning French. It's my fault, ok? God, I feel terrible now. I'm so lazy, I never amounted to anything.

So we have a random album sung in a weird language, that being the case, if French doesn't bother you, buy it, sit back, listen, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews