Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2CD+DVD - a reason for living
Bananarama's most fun and camp album is reissued here and it's very impressive. There's much more of a good thing, much more of Bruno Tonioli not wearing very much and most importantly lots of rare and unreleased tracks.

The group's first 100% Stock/Aitken/Waterman (more or less) album still sounds as much fun now as it did back then (I still remember buying...
Published 8 months ago by downkiddie

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars Reissue But.........
Make no mistakes, I love all the current deluxe reissues of Bananarama's albums. But the discs are pack so tight against cardboard & paper which make it next to impossible to take the cds & dvds out of the packages without scratching them! For Wow, the one I got had glue left at the edges of all 3 discs from the paper envelops that housed them. Edsel & Rhino should take...
Published 7 months ago by pcht


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2CD+DVD - a reason for living, 2 Nov 2013
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wow! (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Bananarama's most fun and camp album is reissued here and it's very impressive. There's much more of a good thing, much more of Bruno Tonioli not wearing very much and most importantly lots of rare and unreleased tracks.

The group's first 100% Stock/Aitken/Waterman (more or less) album still sounds as much fun now as it did back then (I still remember buying the vinyl on Oxford Street first time around). Some classic singles are here... "I Heard a Rumour", "I Can't Help It" and most of all the seminal "Love In The First Degree", which must be the best SAW production of them all. The rest of the album has their touch too, though the original album version of "Nathan Jones" has an interesting alternative sound. "Once In A Lifetime", a pretty Siobhan lead vocal ballad is another favourite, a pretty and thoughtful song to end the original LP on. Here though an incredible 19 bonus tracks come after it!

Their forays into the dance market are here in the B sides, including the original and remixed versions of "Mr Sleaze", the former being great fun with more lyrics, almost being a "proper" song. I remember the girls doing this song well on their 1989 tour.

As with all the other Edsel reissues there's a plethora of bonus tracks, some unreleased. "Reason for Living" is my favourite of the lot, being an earlier, pre-rewrite version of "I Want You Back". Same verses but different chorus, it's great to hear this from the studio master. There are other early version of the well knowns too, including a lower-NRG 12" version of "I Heard a Rumour" and another 12" of "Nathan Jones" which is a hybrid of the bass tone album version and the later single release.

We are also treated to a number of other scarce remixes, many on CD for the first time. The Hammond Version Excursion of "I Can't Help It" is a classic, and Pete Waterman's sentencing on the Jailers' Mix of "Love In the First Degree" is cheesy fun. All these however are superior in their album versions, all together in the first 10 tracks.

Anyone who has the 2007 Rhino release will be pleased to note "Strike It Rich" is here in its full 12" and album versions, rather than the edit mistakenly released on that album.

The DVD brings more greats, with all the videos, including the Jacqui tracks right up to the Comic Relief single "Help" featuring French & Saunders (& Kathy Burke). This is nicely produced as with the other Edsel reissues. The background music for the menus is an unreleased instrumental of "Love In The First Degree", and there are evocative late 80s TV clips from Wogan and Going Live. Seems like yesterday...

This is the definitive reissue of this classic album. Beautifully produced in hardback with extensive liner notes, lyrics and the original artwork. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Siobhan's exit party!, 10 Mar 2007
This final studio album from the original Bananarama line-up will be a welcome addition to anyone's collection. After their huge success (including a US Billboard #1) with Venus, it seemed inevitable that the group would return to the Stock Aitken Waterman production team in an effort to strike gold again.

And they did. Wow features several seminal Bananarama singles, including Love In The First Degree, I Want You Back and I Can't Help It.

This re-issue includes the original album version of Nathan Jones, featuring Siobhan, and the single version (which was re-recorded with new recruit Jacqui O'Sullivan). It also includes Mr Sleaze, which was listed as a flip-side on the AA-side single release of Love in The First Degree (and credited to Stock Aitken Waterman).

Considering this re-release includes bonus tracks, a disappointing omission is the single Love, Truth & Honesty, which, although admittedly released as part of the Greatest Hits Collection, does tie in with the chronology of singles taken from this album, and would have been a welcome inclusion on an expanded edition of Wow.

Regardless, this is an enjoyably confident pop album, and a glorious last shout from the original line-up. Although there were high points to come, the spirit would never truly be the same again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific!, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best CD from Bananarama... the Stock-Aitken-Waterman team are pure gold. Definitely would recommend this CD to any Bananarama fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best release from this dynamic trio, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wow! (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
This is undoubtedly the best release by Bananarama. There is not one bad dance/pop song on here and the remixes are great. The extra bonus is the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Pop fun, 14 Mar 2011
Whilst by no means the best Bananarama album this record was defiantley their most fun and a solid consistant pop record light on the ears and fire for the dancefloor.After the mammoth success of their hi nrg campy cover of Shocking Blues classic Venus the band decided to stick with producers Stock Aitken and Waterman for a polished gloss and some pure pop fun.The trio would be divided over this as Siobhan Fahey was clearly more inspired by the depth and artistry of her punk/glam rock/experimental pop sensibilities and would leave the band she helped to co found after over seven years mid way through the records set of single releases but despite a line up change and the addition of Jacqui O Sullivan for the fourth single I Want You Back the consistant success of the singles didn,t end.The record contains the smash hits I Heard A Rumour and Love In The First Degree which are amongst the most famous of all pop/dance hits ever and really put the Nanas on the map internationally.The pure pop fun of the rather sad I Want You Back released as the fourth single and given extra poignancy as Sionhan had left the band.I Cant Help It the last Bananarama single to feaure Siobhans vocal and music video/single sleeve appearance is a sexy dance track which kicks of the record.Also here are the uptempo anthems Bad For Me and Some Girls both of which would have made killer hits[not that they needed it at this time],the love ballad Once In A Lifetime,the bouncy Strike It Rich a song which as legend has it Siobhan objected to so much during recording that she covered her mouth whilst recording to signify her disapproval of the songs lyrics.The mid tempo Come Back and their famous cover of The Supremes classic Nathan Jones remixed and re recorded as the albums fifth single and incorporating Jacquis vocal.This 2007 re release contains the bonus dance driven b sides Clean Cut Boy,Ectasy ,Mr Sleeze and Amnesia [a song which appeared on The Roxy] the single versions of I Want You Back and Nathan Jones and remix of Nathan Jones with Jacquis vocals on the two single mixes and the remix.Siobhan would leave the group in Feb 1988 after appearing with the band at the BPI awards and releaseing I Cant Help It, she went on to form the hugely succesfull Pop art outfit Shakespears Sister but bandmates Sarah Dallin and Keren Woodward would continue with replacement vocalist Jacqui O Sullivan.As stated before the line up change doesn,t deter from both the pure pop exuberant fun that the group seemed to be about in this time and the success they enjoyed.This album is also great summer pop to listen to when the sun is blazing and as with 2005s Drama and 2009s Viva is a perfect for the dancefloor aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars Reissue But........., 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wow! (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Make no mistakes, I love all the current deluxe reissues of Bananarama's albums. But the discs are pack so tight against cardboard & paper which make it next to impossible to take the cds & dvds out of the packages without scratching them! For Wow, the one I got had glue left at the edges of all 3 discs from the paper envelops that housed them. Edsel & Rhino should take note that some of us collectors do not want to scratch our cds or dvds before we even put them in our players. 5 Stars reissue but no star for packaging!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars polished like mr sheen!!!, 1 April 2007
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
for the 4th album the nanas took up again with stock aitken waterman who were in full flow of hit after hit...sonia kylie, jason...the reynolds girls (oh dear!)

the album reached no.26 i thought it would have been bigger! it had their biggest hits on here "icant help it" "i heard a rumour" "i want you back" and "nathan jones" - all great pop songs but carried into the charts by great dance routines and the emergence of music tv..scantility clad boys and all!

the singles are great but some hidden gems lie in the album "some girls" "bad for me" and "once in a lifetime" which sends me into heaven!

the bonus tracks are "clean cut boy" which you can live without..but it does show where siobhan was heading with shakesperes sister.."mr sleaze" is a bit of a jam aka saw..."ecstasy" another saw waterman outing and not much to do with the girlies...and "amnesia" again more about saw doing their thing than the girls!

a great pop album and a little part of pop history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally Treated Myself, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Robert Thompson (East Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wow! (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Love Bananarama - been thinking of treating myself to these special repackaged CDs and I have started with the best of them - WOW !

Arrived very quickly after ordering - good packaging and a perfect CD inside

Very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a huge thumbs up, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wow! (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Love the 80's and had the original album WOW on cassette. The extra mixes and the booklet are simply fabulous and a much treasured addition to my PWL/SAW collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent remaster Edition, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Carlos Moreno "Hunter" (FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wow! (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Sound quality is amazing, the bonus remixes is the reason I bought this remastered edition of WOW that I’ve been waiting for years. The edition included almost every remix I wanted specially the House Mix of I Heard A Rumour which is by far my favorite Bananarama's song and remix tied with Venus. I wished they also have included the Miami Remix here, but I guess it was a matter of space, unless they release a 3 CD and DVD edition in the future. The video material is outstanding left me speechless. I loved the Videos but also their live presentations, I wished they would have included some more presentations or a live concert from the era. The Edition comes in a book type of case, with cool photos and great commentaries. I can't stop listening to it, since I received it. I want more and I was transported to 1987/88 once again, I loved it... 10 stars this remaster and 1000 more for Bananarama. I can’t wait for them to release the Drama album with the same treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wow! (Platinum Re-Issue)
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews