Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The song remains the same?,actually they didnt!!!
Still im not getting embroiled in any arguements over Jimmy Page's trickery/deceit ,call it what you will,im just enjoying this for what it is ,a better version ,on balance,than the original release.

Back in the day,the vinyl release was spoiled by a tedious side long 'Dazed n Confused,performed underwhelmingly by a band that sounded bored(Plant in particular)...
Published on 30 Dec 2010 by Mr Blackwell

versus
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The song doesn't remain the same
I agree with Tom from the US.....do some homework! This latest incarnation is just 'better' 'cos of the increased number of tracks. The quality on the whole is, in my opinion, much worse than the 'original' CD set, therefore it only gets 3 stars. The guitar solo in probably Jimmy Page's greatest riff, ie in 'No Quarter' is cut to shreds. Two minutes of that track are...
Published on 10 Mar 2008 by Mr. Andrew C. Purchon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The song remains the same?,actually they didnt!!!, 30 Dec 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Still im not getting embroiled in any arguements over Jimmy Page's trickery/deceit ,call it what you will,im just enjoying this for what it is ,a better version ,on balance,than the original release.

Back in the day,the vinyl release was spoiled by a tedious side long 'Dazed n Confused,performed underwhelmingly by a band that sounded bored(Plant in particular) and the inexcusable decision to leave off 'Since I've Been Loving You'(which was one of the best bits in the original movie!!!).

Sadly the original CD release did nothing to improve the situation and it was no surprise when it was left out when all the discs were remastered.

So why should you buy this,well despite the studio trickery,edits and suchlike, the sound has improved enormously and the addition of 6 bonus tracks enhances rather than detracts from the overall package.

Disc 1 is 5 stars all the way with stunning moments such as 'Rock n Roll/Since I've Been.../The Ocean etc

Disc 2 has all the bloated,overlong moments such as Dazed and Confused/Moby Dick and Whole Lotta Love,they have all been performed better,its a pity bonus track Heartbreaker is stuck here,cos you wont listen to disc 2 as much as disc 1.

Overall 4 stars,improved sound quality,you can play disc 1 to death and ignore disc 2 if you wish,decent liner notes,and its great to have all the old photos back.It was never the greatest live album in the world in the first place,not sure why so many people expected the remaster to change that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overdue remaster, 10 July 2008
Good to see this has finally been remastered and the extra songs are welcome. One thing I cannot understand though is No Quarter has been edited from the original version, the previous release was 12:30 in length, this version is around 2 minutes shorter with obvious cuts in the mid-song jam section. Why on earth would you re-master an original and then cut sections of a song out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The song doesn't remain the same, 10 Mar 2008
I agree with Tom from the US.....do some homework! This latest incarnation is just 'better' 'cos of the increased number of tracks. The quality on the whole is, in my opinion, much worse than the 'original' CD set, therefore it only gets 3 stars. The guitar solo in probably Jimmy Page's greatest riff, ie in 'No Quarter' is cut to shreds. Two minutes of that track are missing in this latest collection just so they can squeeze on the admittedly excellent 'Ocean', which is in the wrong place anyway as it was their encore and curtain closing number after 'Whole Lotta love' in their live set. The greatest guitar solo in guitar history, in Dazed and Confused, after the violin bow set, is of a horrible quality as it's just taken directly from the movie which was rubbish, has too much bass and therefore not enough sound quality, and hearing both this one and the 'original' you will realise why the original edit is better. You might think you're getting more, but you're not, honestly. Do like I've done...take the extra tracks (with those from How the West was Won as well), and make your own 'mix' of the best tracks from all 3 sources. Its the best of all worlds.
If you're just about to buy this as your first live Led Zepp album, just because its got 2007 stamped on it, you'll be making a mistake!!
I'd say get the 'original' CD set and then compare the same tracks with this one, you'll soon hear which one is the better!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is another concert, keep your old CD version, 7 Jan 2008
Keep well your old TRRS cd, cause this is practically another concert.
Incredibly, Jimmy Page edited or changed several songs that are way better than the ones
he put instead.
The best and non edited versions of the older cd are Celebration Day, The Song Remains The Same. Moby Dick, Whole Lotta Love and No Quarter -the incredible guitar solo is absolute killer. The new version is nowhere near it.
Listen carefully and you will notice . The new cd is great, but not like the first one.
Of course the remastered sound is better, so just enjoy both cd`s like different concerts, different day on the Madison Square Garden. Good Extra tracks count too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time, really, 19 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. R. Williams (Twickenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The film was certainly not the best rock 'n' roll film ever. But the soundtrack album (bought in vinyl on release day by me)was the first chance to get a legal live Led Zeppelin album; and so things remained for many years.

The original release suffered from pretty poor sound, even for the early '70s.

I am so pleased that Page has got round to remastering this bugger, and to putting some unreleased stuff on it as well. "Heartbreaker" has been my favourite live Led Zeppelin number since I saw them for the first time at Bath in 1970.* I still cannot get enough live renditions of that one. In the film it did not appear properly, being broken up by footage of worries about the robbery event, that actually made no-one concerned poor. The full song is here at last.

This set probably does not capture the band on their very best night in terms of hitting the right note every time. But it captures the strength and improvisational ability of what was at the time the real best rock 'n' roll band in the world. The Stones and The Who were terrific, but joint second behind Led Zeppelin.

Anyone who does not buy this has a major gap in their collection.

*And I was at Knebworth 2 when they still didn't play "Heartbreaker," having played it the week before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best live album ever!, 19 Nov 2007
By 
This remastered and expanded version of 'The Song Remains The Same' is probably the best live album I have ever heared. The original album was always one of my favourites but this re-release surpasses it by a country mile! It is also even better than the superb 'How The West Was Won' album. The sound quality has been vastly improved and the inclusion of the previously missing tracks and corrected running order makes a huge difference! What also adds to the value of this album is that the majority of songs that were included in the previous release (e.g. Stairway to Heaven, No Quarter, Dazed and Confused etc.) are different versions of the songs taken from another night of the Garden concerts. So you are not listening to a song you have already heard before.

The stand out song of the whole album is definately 'Since I've Been Loving You.' This performance solidifies my belief that Jimmy Page is the greatest guitarist who ever lived!!! Just listen to that intro!

All in all this is truly an outstanding performance from the greatest rock band of all time and is definately well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Page: you've ruined my Christmas, 26 Dec 2007
With an improved sound and the addition of 'Heartbreaker' and a cracking 'Since ive been loving you' this should have been contesting for the number 1 live album slot with 'Who live at Leeds'

But instead Jimmy Page decided, in what could only be described as a fit of pure insanity, to edit some of the tracks.

The butchering of 'No Quarter' is particularly hard to take as the (now missing) instrumental section on the original album was it's finest moment.

Which just leaves it at number 1 in the most ironic album title chart. What a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars believe the hype, 13 Nov 2007
By 
stickman (south bucks , england) - See all my reviews
unlike most bands of their era , led zeppelin's legacy is still in tact.
their unfortunate enforced demise meant that they never released a dodgy album. sadly it also meant that most 30 somethings never saw them live. well here is our chance and with extras and goodies to please even the most difficult to please fan , it can only be described as a visual feast.
hats off to jimmy page for giving the fans what they want. if im gonna buy the album for a second the extras had better be worth it ... and they are. now if only the stones and pink floyd would do the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger, Better, Brilliant, 'bout time., 19 Nov 2007
By 
Crazy Bald Heid "kennyb63" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Despite being one of rock history's greatest live acts Led Zeppelin were badly underrepresented in the live album department. Until How the West Was Won was released a coupe of years ago - the BBC Sessions cd best captured the bands live sound, in the studio.

Well since 1976 there was the double album to accompany the slightly spinal tap Song Remains the Same movie. I loved the vinyl LP, despite its ropey sound, it was the only legal Zep live recording, the package looked great and that was enough for me. The original cd release was poor offering on any level, tinny and poorly packaged. This package certainly does much to put that right. The packaging is greatly improved and makes a decent fist of reproducing the original LP's booklet and the general feel of the album.

The additional tracks are welcome, from the Bring on Home intro version of Black Dog, the surprisingly delicate Over the Hills and Far Away, the greatest song ever- Since I've Been Loving - You now graces the set putting right a criminal wrong,a thumping Misty Mountain Hop and my personal live favourite the Ocean are all added. The set is now padded out to feel like a live show rather than the (poorly) edited highlights.

The rest of it you pretty much know. Moby Dick is still overlong without seeing Bonzo in action. Stairway to Heaven (Does anybody remember laughter?) is still majestic and the added Heartbreaker balances the second disc little better.

The sound is a huge improvement, not oversanitised but not dog rough either.

A great live document. And I would suggest a passable primer along with the excellent Mothership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play it one time for Elvis!, 29 Nov 2007
By 
C. Blackman "Evil_C" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, imagine this: It's 8:45pm on the evening of August 4th 1979. You're in a gently sloping field in Knebworth Park, Hertfordshire. The sun has long since gone down and all you can see on the stage are the standby lights on a series of Marshall MV100 amps. Figures are walking on the stage in front of the amp lights and suddenly... a staccato strike on the open D on the 6/12 SG double-neck rings the opening chords of "The Song Remains The Same". [That's how to use an electric 12 string!].

I still get a shiver running down my spine thinking about that moment even now. It was one of those life changing experiences. And this album takes me back there every time I hear it. Especially now! The original CD release always suffered from a rather two-dimensional sound, but the remastered sound is BRILLIANT.

This was always a favourite live album for me and my most played Led Zeppelin album. The packaging of the remastered CD looks great (kind of like a mini LP) but is functionally lousy - just try getting the discs out without touching the playing surface. But the music: WOW! So much better than "How the West Was Won", especially the 27 minute version of Dazed and Confused (you know, the bit from the end of the violin bow solo to the end of the track - totally sublime electric guitar playing from Mr Page proving that he even understands the super-lochrian mode!)

But what happened to "In between last time we came and this time..."? OK, thanks for the extra tracks, but this omission is in the same category as the deletion of the cough on the early CD releases of Physical Graffiti which Pagey himself lambasted. I'm surprised he let this one through.

But it's all about the music! There's that splendid title track referred to above (with the spine tingling open D), "Dazed and Confused", the Wah-Wah solo in "No Quarter" and that brilliant rock `n' roll medley in "Whole Lotta Love". And then you get the six tracks that didn't make the original release which I'm going to savour.

So, just turn out the lights, turn up the volume and soak up the joy of one of the finest rock bands ever doing what a rock band does best.

And as Robert says, "Play it one time for Elvis...Ah, rock on!"

Regards,
Clive Blackman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Song Remains The Same
Buy MP3 Album8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews