Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The song remains the same?,actually they didnt!!!
Still im not getting embroiled in any arguements over Jimmy Page's trickery/deceit ,call it what you will,im just enjoying this for what it is ,a better version ,on balance,than the original release.

Back in the day,the vinyl release was spoiled by a tedious side long 'Dazed n Confused,performed underwhelmingly by a band that sounded bored(Plant in particular)...
Published on 30 Dec. 2010 by Mr Blackwell

versus
28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The song doesn't remain the same
I agree with Tom from the US.....do some homework! This latest incarnation is just 'better' 'cos of the increased number of tracks. The quality on the whole is, in my opinion, much worse than the 'original' CD set, therefore it only gets 3 stars. The guitar solo in probably Jimmy Page's greatest riff, ie in 'No Quarter' is cut to shreds. Two minutes of that track are...
Published on 10 Mar. 2008 by Mr. Andrew C. Purchon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The song remains the same?,actually they didnt!!!, 30 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Still im not getting embroiled in any arguements over Jimmy Page's trickery/deceit ,call it what you will,im just enjoying this for what it is ,a better version ,on balance,than the original release.

Back in the day,the vinyl release was spoiled by a tedious side long 'Dazed n Confused,performed underwhelmingly by a band that sounded bored(Plant in particular) and the inexcusable decision to leave off 'Since I've Been Loving You'(which was one of the best bits in the original movie!!!).

Sadly the original CD release did nothing to improve the situation and it was no surprise when it was left out when all the discs were remastered.

So why should you buy this,well despite the studio trickery,edits and suchlike, the sound has improved enormously and the addition of 6 bonus tracks enhances rather than detracts from the overall package.

Disc 1 is 5 stars all the way with stunning moments such as 'Rock n Roll/Since I've Been.../The Ocean etc

Disc 2 has all the bloated,overlong moments such as Dazed and Confused/Moby Dick and Whole Lotta Love,they have all been performed better,its a pity bonus track Heartbreaker is stuck here,cos you wont listen to disc 2 as much as disc 1.

Overall 4 stars,improved sound quality,you can play disc 1 to death and ignore disc 2 if you wish,decent liner notes,and its great to have all the old photos back.It was never the greatest live album in the world in the first place,not sure why so many people expected the remaster to change that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overdue remaster, 10 July 2008
Good to see this has finally been remastered and the extra songs are welcome. One thing I cannot understand though is No Quarter has been edited from the original version, the previous release was 12:30 in length, this version is around 2 minutes shorter with obvious cuts in the mid-song jam section. Why on earth would you re-master an original and then cut sections of a song out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The song doesn't remain the same, 10 Mar. 2008
I agree with Tom from the US.....do some homework! This latest incarnation is just 'better' 'cos of the increased number of tracks. The quality on the whole is, in my opinion, much worse than the 'original' CD set, therefore it only gets 3 stars. The guitar solo in probably Jimmy Page's greatest riff, ie in 'No Quarter' is cut to shreds. Two minutes of that track are missing in this latest collection just so they can squeeze on the admittedly excellent 'Ocean', which is in the wrong place anyway as it was their encore and curtain closing number after 'Whole Lotta love' in their live set. The greatest guitar solo in guitar history, in Dazed and Confused, after the violin bow set, is of a horrible quality as it's just taken directly from the movie which was rubbish, has too much bass and therefore not enough sound quality, and hearing both this one and the 'original' you will realise why the original edit is better. You might think you're getting more, but you're not, honestly. Do like I've done...take the extra tracks (with those from How the West was Won as well), and make your own 'mix' of the best tracks from all 3 sources. Its the best of all worlds.
If you're just about to buy this as your first live Led Zepp album, just because its got 2007 stamped on it, you'll be making a mistake!!
I'd say get the 'original' CD set and then compare the same tracks with this one, you'll soon hear which one is the better!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time, really, 19 Nov. 2007
By 
Mr. R. Williams (Twickenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The film was certainly not the best rock 'n' roll film ever. But the soundtrack album (bought in vinyl on release day by me)was the first chance to get a legal live Led Zeppelin album; and so things remained for many years.

The original release suffered from pretty poor sound, even for the early '70s.

I am so pleased that Page has got round to remastering this bugger, and to putting some unreleased stuff on it as well. "Heartbreaker" has been my favourite live Led Zeppelin number since I saw them for the first time at Bath in 1970.* I still cannot get enough live renditions of that one. In the film it did not appear properly, being broken up by footage of worries about the robbery event, that actually made no-one concerned poor. The full song is here at last.

This set probably does not capture the band on their very best night in terms of hitting the right note every time. But it captures the strength and improvisational ability of what was at the time the real best rock 'n' roll band in the world. The Stones and The Who were terrific, but joint second behind Led Zeppelin.

Anyone who does not buy this has a major gap in their collection.

*And I was at Knebworth 2 when they still didn't play "Heartbreaker," having played it the week before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is another concert, keep your old CD version, 7 Jan. 2008
Keep well your old TRRS cd, cause this is practically another concert.
Incredibly, Jimmy Page edited or changed several songs that are way better than the ones
he put instead.
The best and non edited versions of the older cd are Celebration Day, The Song Remains The Same. Moby Dick, Whole Lotta Love and No Quarter -the incredible guitar solo is absolute killer. The new version is nowhere near it.
Listen carefully and you will notice . The new cd is great, but not like the first one.
Of course the remastered sound is better, so just enjoy both cd`s like different concerts, different day on the Madison Square Garden. Good Extra tracks count too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whats not to like, 26 July 2014
By 
K. Wadehra "Bass head" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am going to start by saying that the versions of No Quarter and Stairway To Heaven on this live compilation are the best I have heard, with their respective extended solos being absolutely mind blowing. The rest of the songs are amazing too, with some interesting twists, licks, solos and flavours to these live versions of the well known Zeppelin songs.
I have both the 'old' and the remastered versions and the aside from the gripe from some fans about the questionable editing and patching together of songs from the three Madison Square Garden shows, there is no question that these performances capture the band during a time when they were at their peak.
Agreed that these songs don't represent the above MSG shows faithfully, but its still Led Zeppelin all the way and I feel it enhances rather than takes away anything from these songs.
The remastered version sounds absolutely brilliant and is a big improvement over the previous and the 6 new additions to this cracking album are a very welcome addition and was a long time coming.
The most noticeable difference between the two versions of this album, apart from the new additions is the slightly shorter jam session and solo on No Quarter, the slightly different solo on Celebration Day (from a different night I believe), the slightly longer version of Dazed and Confused and shorter version of Whole Lotta Love on the remastered album. The rest of the minor differences are so miniscule that you will not notice them. I don't know if its just me, but I find the solo of Stairway To Heaven on the old version of this album much clearer and better than the one on the remaster.
I suggest getting both the versions, the remastered one for the six new songs and the vastly improved sound and the previous version for the longer versions and different solos on No Quarter, Celebration Day and Whole Lotta Love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars should always have been a triple?, 30 Nov. 2007
By 
Mr. John G. Green "superpath" (Maidstone UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There's was school of rock criticism, most prevalent at the NME in the '70s, that said almost all double albums should have been singles (and almost all live albums, unless they were by Sam Cooke or James Brown, should never have been released). Whole lifetimes were devoted to speculating what the world would have been like if The White Album had been a single platter. It all seems a bit academic now in the era of the cd and the download, but the Zep were hated in some quarters for releasing 2 doubles in the latter half of the '70s: their poor fans were being fleeced by these plutocratic rock stars it was felt.

I bought this with my paper round money after seeing it in Smiths, probably in the week of release (£6.49 I think). I liked the cover. I don't think I realised it was a live album 'til I got it home. It was my second Zep LP after Prescence, so clearly not yer standard rock school introduction to the band: but there must have been millions like me who came to their later stuff first? I remember being very disappointed by the studio version of stairway to heaven: it was so short!

What on earth did I make of it back then? The first 2 tracks were quite exciting, side 3 quite mellow, (the side I would come back to in later years: that's stairway & no quarter for neophytes). I would put Dazed and Confused on in the dark and try (and fail) to get into it. Moby Dick was used by my bedroom band as the drums for our home recordings (as was the crowd applause). Whole Lotta Love was just embarrassing.

So I've sort of grown up with this flawed album. And now with the expanded version you can get a much better experience of what a Zeppelin concert must have been like, but I can also see where Jimmy Page was coming from on the original release: he put on a couple of exciting tracks and then the ones that were completely different to the studio versions (dazed, no quarter, moby dick, whole lotta love). And he couldn't win then or now with critics.

I don't buy arguments that they were tired at the end of the tour: it seems just as energised as the critically well received The Way the West was Won. And I agree; I'm not a Zep expert, but it seems to be from a different show: different announcements, different song lengths, and a different sound. Most albums these days get decanted into the ipod and tracks listened to at random; it may be the upcoming concert (for which like most of the western world I haven't got tickets) but I keep putting this on (my wife isn't so impressed). And for some reason, unloading the dishwasher last night, Dazed and Confused sounded great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The song has improved, 26 Nov. 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this album the day it was originally released and the consensus among friends was that it was a disappointment. In a decade when so many less-regarded rock bands released exciting, classic live albums, it was a surprise that Zep failed to match them. The old faults are still there and tend to be on the better-known songs on the second disc. It's something of an endurance test too. The original album featured nine tracks across 100 minutes. The additional tracks add half an hour.

What makes this album so appealing for me is the brilliance of the first disc, which constitutes an hour of great value rock music, some of it high-energy, some of it beautiful. The segued opening tracks, 'Rock and Roll' and 'Celebration Day' comprise some of the most exciting live music you'll hear and were the biggest highlights of the LP release. The playing is incendiary, a quality that was restricted on the studio version of the former track. Most of the other less-heralded tracks also come into their own in the live arena, though 'Black Dog' and 'Misty Mountain Hop' arguably lack that extra kick.

Meanwhile, 'The Rain Song' is even tastier than its studio counterpart. Robert Plant's sensitive delivery complements Jimmy Page's gentle, dripping, epiphanic notes. The menacing blues of 'Since I've Been Loving You' is a winner as is the buoyant 'Over the Hills and Far Away.' 'The Ocean,' which always sounded to me like the sort of thing Zep could knock off in five minutes, is a joy in this context.

J.P. Jones's eerie 'No Quarter' is moved on to the first disc in exchange for the gargantuan version of 'Dazed and Confused' which took up the whole of the second side of the LP. 26 minutes seemed too long then and it does now, regardless of sundry effects and Page's guitar bowing. The momentum of the first disc is lost. 'Stairway to Heaven,' not surprisingly, doesn't match up to the standard of the original. 'Moby Dick,' which featured a drum solo of acceptable length on Zep II, becomes the dreaded extended version here. The new track, 'Heartbreaker,' is a welcome addition, but 'Whole Lotta Love' splutters to the end. Trying to replace/replicate the weird middle section was always going to be tough.

Despite its shortcomings, I reckon 'The Song Remains The Same' is full value for its price, given that you get a killer disc lasting an hour. You can always skip the second one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Page: you've ruined my Christmas, 26 Dec. 2007
With an improved sound and the addition of 'Heartbreaker' and a cracking 'Since ive been loving you' this should have been contesting for the number 1 live album slot with 'Who live at Leeds'

But instead Jimmy Page decided, in what could only be described as a fit of pure insanity, to edit some of the tracks.

The butchering of 'No Quarter' is particularly hard to take as the (now missing) instrumental section on the original album was it's finest moment.

Which just leaves it at number 1 in the most ironic album title chart. What a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best live album ever!, 19 Nov. 2007
By 
This remastered and expanded version of 'The Song Remains The Same' is probably the best live album I have ever heared. The original album was always one of my favourites but this re-release surpasses it by a country mile! It is also even better than the superb 'How The West Was Won' album. The sound quality has been vastly improved and the inclusion of the previously missing tracks and corrected running order makes a huge difference! What also adds to the value of this album is that the majority of songs that were included in the previous release (e.g. Stairway to Heaven, No Quarter, Dazed and Confused etc.) are different versions of the songs taken from another night of the Garden concerts. So you are not listening to a song you have already heard before.

The stand out song of the whole album is definately 'Since I've Been Loving You.' This performance solidifies my belief that Jimmy Page is the greatest guitarist who ever lived!!! Just listen to that intro!

All in all this is truly an outstanding performance from the greatest rock band of all time and is definately well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Song Remains The Same
Buy MP3 Album£9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews