Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! BUY NOW!
Well, I have been waiting a long time for this album to come out and I have got to say I have not been let down!

The Blackening is said to be a big epic of the metal canvas which I first thought would be a huge overstatement... but I was wrong! This album is a musical milestone for the awesome Machine Head... Kerrang! have given this album a 5 out of 5... and i...
Published on 28 Mar 2007 by Sarah Fairclough

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I once wanted Robb to adopt me!
I love Machine Head (and was into Robb's pre-Machine Head album Vio-Lence) so I bought this album upon its original release last year. Despite sticking with Machine Head through their "nu-metal" phase and the critical disaster that was "Spercharger", I just can't get into "The Blackening". Yes, its got it all, riffs galore, angst ridden songs like only Robb and crew can...
Published on 5 Nov 2008 by Lee Vickers


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Machine Head are back with a Bulldozer of an Album!, 26 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Blackening (Audio CD)
You thought 'Burn My Eyes' was Machine Heads crown jewel? You havent even seen this gleaming gem of raw riffs, blinding solos and heart pounding drum and bass action pitched at the top of something quite simply a masterpeice of an Album.

For a 9 track album it gave me the greatest 1.1 Hours of tentative listening and passion for a band that have taken their time to truly cook something Metal for any fan to devour!

With a 10 minute song (Clenching The Fists Of Dissent) thrown straight toward you the minute it hits your CD player you get a true sense of how awe-inspiring the next set of songs are going to turn out.

Listen to this album if you truly love Metal music in its most devasting and crushing form known!

Theres not one song on this album that wont get you off your seat headbanging and swaying slowly to Rob flynns rollercoaster of a voice.

The addition of their cover of Battery for Kerrangs 20th anniversary for Master Of Puppets is a welcome addition amongst the crazy anthems of Halo, Beautiful Mourning and of course the anthem of the year and beyond... Aesthetics of Hate!!

Stunning album worth every penny spent on it, no bull, No Pig Squeals, No illegal amounts of Breakdowns!

Just Metal.

***** 5 Star Album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back In Black, 30 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: The Blackening (Audio CD)
Through The Ashes Of The Empire reassured fans that the band were still capable of churning out hardcore thrash metal. What it also did was provide the blueprint for this masterpiece. The album may consist of 8 tracks but its quality over quantity this time as Machine Head's musicianship reaches a new level. Take for instance the duelling guitars battling it out on Aesthetics Of Hate, the side slamming riffage displayed on Beautiful Mourning and the headbanger's delight Slanderous. All of which proves Machine Head's existence within the world of metal is somewhat refreshingly welcomed once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gobsmacking riff frenzy!, 26 Mar 2007
By 
R. McKnight "McKnobby" (Co.Down) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blackening (Audio CD)
This album is as poetic as heavy music can get, with web like weavings of intricate guitar work and thundering drum beats carrying you through the whole album in what seems like no time at all.after having consulted your nearest time telling device though you realise that you were immersed in that medley of monster riffs for over an hour!

I rarely listen to an album more than twice within the day of purchase but this album simply demanded my attention be given to it, im on my third listen as im writing this and its all still very fresh and exciting. this one is going to be blasted out of the car windows all summer!

Having always been a fan i was of course looking forward to the release of this album and have not been dissapointed. after being a little sceptical at the inclusion of only eight standard tracks my doubts were soon cast aside when on first listen it was blatantly obvious that quality rather than quantity had been favoured by flynn and his merry(or not so!) metallers. every time i listen to it im discovering new intricacies that escaped me on previous listens and i grow to like it even more!

Bring on the belfast gig!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Its a turning point, 3 April 2007
By 
This review is from: The Blackening (Audio CD)
Burn my eyes- amazing album most of the other albums...amazing....ASHES - bloody brilliant- and now for the blackening.....if it wasnt rude to swear Id be jumping up and down shouting from the roof tops how good this album is...Im not going to compare it to master of puppets like many others have..because it isnt MOP...its damn bloody well better...Ok so this is the first machine head album where we have more that 2 tracks that are over 6 minutes long..but by god do those songs blow your mind...aesthetics of hate, a brilliant opening track to the new album, starting out with typical acoustic guitar playing with rob flynn vocals on top of that..and then it hits like a bolt of thunder...yes MACHINE HEAD ARE BACK...I dont want to bore you with explaining each track, because you should be out there buying and listening to this artwork not reading my review!!!! So go on what are you waiting for go out there and buy it for some drum pounding, guitar soloing madness!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Head are Back!!, 27 Mar 2007
By 
A. Everitt "The Rhinoron" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blackening (Audio CD)
So many people had written this band off a few years ago, and i have to admit, i was one of them after they released what i saw was a few dire albums that didn't "suit" them. I knew the old Machine Head was still there somewhere, and hoped it'd return. And it did! Through The Ashes... was amazing, but The Blackening... well, it makes Burn My Eyes and TTAOE look like child play. This really is a masterpiece of gargantuan proportions! Each song feels like a symphony, yet being destructively heavy at the same time. You can keep your new Lamb of God, Chimaira, Mastodon etc etc, Machine Head's new album is the only thing you'll be listening to for the coming months. Each new spin gives you something new to hear - you could have it on repeat all day and not get bored. This is definately an album you NEED to hear if you've EVER liked Machine Head, or even if you've detested them up until now, then give this a chance - you won't regret it i swear!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best since Burn My Eyes, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blackening (Audio CD)
The Blackening is easily one of the best examples of a true 'back to roots' approach after an embarrassing stint with rap-metal. Although 'Through the Ashes of Empires' was a solid detour into familiar metal, this is where front man Robb Flynn decided to truly take Machine Head back to what made Burn My Eyes a trash metal classic and build upon it with epic song structures spelling out themes of anti-war, corporate America and hatred towards those who truly deserve it (Aesthetics of Hate being a very verbal retaliation on an equally verbal attack on legendary guitarist Dimebag Darrel).

At times it feels overly long and bloated in terms of structure but the frantic energy quickly grows on you and it offers a ton of catchy hooks and guitar riffs that demand constant reply. The Blackening, while not one of the greatest heavy metal albums ever made, is certainly a crowning achievement for Machine Head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ow my this gave me more than a twinge!!!!, 26 Mar 2007
By 
Drp Bunford "DAI" (WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blackening (Audio CD)
i put the blackening on i have been excited about this one as i am a machine head fan soooo i put it on the first song 'Clenching The Fists Of Dissent' and was more blown away than a group of men on a stag night in amsterdam!!I SAW AFTER LISTENING TO IT 3 TIMES REALISED 10min35sec OF MY LIFE WAS BLISSFULLY AND HAPPILY TAKEN FROM ME best 1035 of my life as usualy the other good stuff dont last that long! but anyway you can never tell there were no boring moment when you think bludy hell hasnt it finished yet as i didnt realise how the lenght it was was how long it needed tobe!!! every song ive listend to and more than twice may i add was PURE F&*% METAL THIS IS A MUCH HAVE PEOPLE OF THE WORLD AAAAAAAHAHAHSDHAHAJHHA!!!!!!!!

In short yes i recomend this album it has the DAI SEAL OF APPROVAL T.T.F.N X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Return of the Kings!, 5 April 2007
This review is from: The Blackening (Audio CD)
Well what can I say about this release it is just mind blowing! I will say this from the bottom of my heart the metal scene has been quiet dull for the past year ok ok we had soem great releases from the likes of Lamb of God but the new Slayer wasn't amazing!! Slayer have now been knocked off of their throne of the Kings of Thrash! Machine Head people are the new kings bow down NOW!

Browsing through the not so tasteful record stor ein mmy town I caught a glimpse of "The Blackening"! I couldn't believe it I would have it without havign to wait 4 weeks to get it through air mail!!! Rushign to the counter I just through the money at the assitant I skipped town with my mates to get home to listen to it!And god was I grateful I did.

The perception that Machine Head have "Sold Out" will blow away with this mind-blowing release! The copy cats will not know to do when they hear this how will they match up to this release! Trivium will be bleeding from their fingers to get a solo as good as that on opening track "Clecnching the Fists of Dissent"! Bullet for my Valetien will rip out their vocal chords to be better than "Aesthetics of Hate"! yes ladirs and gentlemen Machien Head are back ALIVE AND KICKING! So onto the album my favourite track is "Halo" I know it is said all the tiem but this is the truth no song has been wrote liek this before from the intro music to the melodic vocals of Mr.Flynn to the doulbe bass ahlf way through this song will have you bouncing around your living room and grabbing your grannies walkign stick to play guitar on!!! Closing track "A farewell to Arms" is a great closer leaving us with so much more anticipation to hear the next Machien Head album!!

I've ehard people compare this to Master of puppets and South of Heaven this is nothing like those records Machine Head have stuck to their guns and given us a release better than "Burn My Eyes". I want to see eevryone pick this up and lose their minds with Machine Head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Machine Head destroy the competition, 27 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Blackening (Audio CD)
To many, Machine Head's main competition comes in the form of living up to their own former glories. Of creating an album that can step out of the shadow of their trail blazing debut, Burn My Eyes. It is safe to say that one of the most exciting, fresh and ferocious bands have indeed raised the bar yet again and have indeed stepped far, far away from the shadow of past successes.

The Blackening is a mamoth release. It avoids all the cliches whilst still being;

'heavy yet melodic,'

having all the best parts of their former releases put into one,

technical but well written,

and all the other cliches metal records tend to be riddled with.

This record is heavy, unbelievably so. And yet there is no cheap whiney chorus to try and gain appeal with fans who like something to sing along with. There is instead, jaw dropping, advanced and beautiful melodies that pull on the heart and grab hold of the mind that sit perfectly alongside Robb Flynn's gutteral roars that fire the soul. These are, without a doubt, Flynn's best vocal performances along with bassist Adam Duce who has contributed more backing vocals this record and sings his heart out at every attempt.

This is most definately the best parts of the Machine Head package out onto one album but it's also not as simple as that, it's so much more. The fire, fury and social commentry from the early albums is there. The emotion, melody and heartache from the later albums is there. The enourmous guitar tone, the harmonics, the massive riffs, the insane drumming, everything we know and love about Machine Head is on this record. But along with it all they have added a song writing prowness very few are lucky enough to posess. Nine minute songs fly by. Gigantic sections flow seamlessly into one-another. This album is over an hour long and has eight tracks but is in no way drawn out, overdone or self indulgent. These are just beautifully crafted songs that are long because they were born long. The first time i heard this album i sat on my bed and listened to the entire beast, it was the quickest hour of my life. Time really does fly when you're having fun!

This is the album the band wanted to make, and it shows. As bassist Adam Duce says, this band are now making the music they want to hear, and it's that honesty that the fans connect with and love so dear, it's that honesty that inspires the devotion that MH followers show, it's that honesty that has helped create a record that smokes the competition and will one day stand by albums like Master of Puppets, Reign in Blood and Among the Living as a metal masterpiece.

If you like metal, buy this album.

If you like any Machine Head song, buy this album.

If your love for metal has been faltering, buy this album.

If you're upset about the state of the world and where we are being led by it's leaders, buy this album.

If you can only buy one album this millenium, make it this one.

2007 is the year of Machine Head, either get in the pit, or miss out on one of the greatest moments in metal history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Classic, 15 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Blackening (Audio CD)
“Modern Classic” is a phrase that gets banded about far too often – and albums rarely live up to it.

However, The Blackening is one album that is truly worthy of the title and one every metal fan should appreciate, and turn up as loud as humanly possible.

The album is made up of 8 of the best thrash-metal tracks I have ever heard, and will be an album that I keep coming back to again and again.
The mix of brutal riffs and drums, combined with beautifully worked (and at times haunting) melodies – this is an album to just lose yourself in.

The back-catalogue of Machine Head does have some more dubious entries… but with this, they have certainly cemented themselves as one of the greatest.

I’ve had the pleasure of seeing them live a few times, and each time they have simply gotten better and better – and this album showcases just how good they are.

If you want an album to stick on, play loud and rock out to…
this is it.

It you want an album to lose yourself in on the bus/train…
this is it

…and if you want an album that will showcase that there will always be some musical genius round the corner…
this is it!

A genuine modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blackening
The Blackening by Machine Head
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews