Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fireflies....finally! And it's worth the wait., 24 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Fireflies [Us Import] (Audio CD)
It seems that many were not so impressed with Faith's last album 'Cry', and even though that I am not one of that 'many', it did take a few listens to get into. Not 'Fireflies' however. There are just so many really good songs here, it's hard to know where to start when I put the CD on. I'm not exagerrating when I say I've been humming the tunes for days. The mix of songs is excellent, and Faith's vocals are as amazing as ever. Standout tracks? 'Paris', 'You Stay With Me', 'Like We Never Loved At All', 'Stealing Kisses', 'Lucky One'..... I could go on. 'Fireflies' has been a long time coming, but it hasn't disappointed. So: Great songs + great singer = buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music that makes you feel good., 15 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Fireflies (Audio CD)
I am a really big fan of Faith Hill. She has a few albums under her belt now, all of which I own. She started her career very country and then evolved into country rock. This album, Fireflies, goes back to her raw country roots with just a hint of rock hidden between tracks.

This isn't my favourite of Faiths' albums, I prefer her rockier stuff but this is still a great collection of happy and sad music.

`Sunshine and Summertime' and `Mississippi Girl' are the very upbeat songs that you just can't get out of your head, while `If you ask' and `I aint gonna take it anymore' are the songs you listen to when you want to feel sorry for yourself.

I would recommend this album very highly, but I would urge you to go for her earlier stuff like `Breathe' or `Cry' and if your happy with those, you will no doubt be more than happy with this.

Great music whatever mood your in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth The Wait!!!!, 26 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Fireflies [Us Import] (Audio CD)
What a fantastic comeback album, Faith Hill has hit all the right notes on the new and fresh album. 'Fireflies' is a mixture of up tempo classics to fantastic heart-warming ballads. The amazing hit single 'Mississippi Girl' is a great number to open the album with. However the album is backed up with other great coutnry pop hits such as 'Sunshine & Summertime', the funny 'Dearly Beloved' and the outstanding 'The Lucky One'. Alongside these up tempo's hits are great ballads from 'I Ain't Gonna Take That Anymore' to the great duet with Tim McGraw 'Like We Never Loved At All'.
One of the besT songs on the album is the song 'I Want You', there are no filler on the album and this shows why Faith Hill is the best female country singer at the moment.
Fireflies is a far cry from the wayward 'Cry' album and still shows the country world she is still country through and through.
Fantastic!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Faith lights up the charts like a Firefly, 6 Aug. 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fireflies [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Audrey Faith Perry was born in Jackson, Mississippi, and began performing in public when she was seven. She later married music executive Dan Hill, and launched her first album "Take Me As I Am" in 1993 as Faith Hill. With her second marriage in 1996 to country music great Tim McGraw, she crossed over the country music line to sing pop music, with the hit single "This Kiss" in 1998. A string of pop and country hits followed, either solo or with her husband, leading up to this latest album "Fireflies", which has already chalked up a hit single "Mississippi Girl" written by John Rich (of Big & Rich)
As half of Country music's "hot couple", Faith Hill again proves that she is one of those rare artistes whose albums you can buy without even listening to it first, especially with four Grammy Awards and several Country music awards under her belt.
This one won't disappoint the country fans, but may not be enough to please her pop fan club, because some of the songs are a little slow. The album starts brightly with "Sunshine and Summertime", a happy ode to the season, and then launches into the autobiographical hit single which is as country as they come. Another typical country track is the hilarious "Dearly Beloved" about a wedding that will only last until the bride and groom find somebody new.
Other great songs are the dreamy "Fireflies"; the ultra romantic "Like We Never Loved Before" which she sings with hubby Tim; the catchy "The Lucky One" and "You Stay With Me". The only song I didn't like was "We've Got Nothing But Love To Prove", not for the patriotic message, which was well and good, but for the cheesy repetitive chorus.
After an absence of three years, this is a worthy welcome back for Faith Hill.
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back to her country roots, 15 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Fireflies (Audio CD)
"Fireflies" by Faith Hill was released on a CD on the label Warner Bros. in August 2005. There are 14 tracks on this album, and the total running time is about 57 minutes.

Faith Hill (born 1967) is married to Tim McGraw who is sometimes described as the King of Country Music. If he is the king, she is the queen. She has released several albums, some studio recordings and some compilations:

* Her first album Take Me As I Am was released in 1993.

* Her second album It Matters to Me was released in 1995.

* Her third album Faith was released in 1998.

* Her fourth album Breathe was released in 1999.

* Her fifth album Cry was released in 2002.

"Fireflies" (which is under review here) is her album # 6. Inside the jewel-case there is a booklet with 14 pages including three pictures of the artist. Inside the booklet you will find detailed information about the music on the CD. For each track you will find the title, the running time, the names of the composers, the lyrics to the song, and the names of the musicians who played on this particular track. The list of musicians is very long - too long to present it in this review.

If the CD is played on a computer, the titles and the names of the composers will show up on the screen.

Her first two albums were definitely country music. With her third, fourth and fifth albums, she crossed over to the world of pop. With "Fireflies" she tries to return to her country roots.

Some tracks are slow and soft songs, for instance tracks # 4, 5, 7, 10, and 12-14. When you listen to the lyrics, you will notice that some of the slow songs are also sad songs, especially tracks # 5, 7, and 10. Other tracks have a harder and more intense beat, for instance tracks # 2, 8, 9, and 11.

Track # 3 "Dearly Beloved" is a fast-paced country song with a happy mood, while track # 14 "Paris" is a slow song with a different mood; it sounds almost like a jazz song.

On track # 7 "Like We Never Loved at all" Tim McGraw sings a duet with his wife.

Faith Hill did not write any songs for this album. All songs on this album are written by others. But she has a powerful voice, and (in most cases) she knows how to pick some good songs. As far as I am concerned, there are no bad songs on this CD, but some tracks are better than others.

The title track "Fireflies" is not one of the best tracks here. Track # 2 "Mississippi Girl" (written especially for her) is one of the best songs on this album. Track # 11 "We've Got Nothing But Love To Prove" is an excellent track written by Darrell Scott, who plays the mandolin on this song (and on a few others as well).

"Fireflies" was a commercial success. In the US alone more than two million copies have been sold and worldwide more than three million copies have been sold. It reached # 1 on the US Top Country Albums, # 1 on the US Billboard 200, and # 1 on the World Albums Top 40.

The success is well-deserved. If you ask me, five tracks deserve about three stars: # 1, 5, 6, 10, and 14, while the remaining nine tracks deserve five stars. Therefore the whole album deserves a rating of four stars.

If you like country music - country rock or country pop - I think you will enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back Faith !, 17 Aug. 2005
By 
Kindle Customer (Airdrie,Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fireflies (Audio CD)
At last it seems Faith Hill has realised that it's her country music fan base that buys most of her albums. This still has tracks with pop crossover appeal,but is really a return to the country fold using some of today's hottest writers.Most of it is good stuff too! A lot of people must agree as the album has gone straight to No.1 in the U.S. pop and country charts in it's first week of release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent again!, 23 Nov. 2007
By 
Mr. Thomas Perkins (Plymouth, Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireflies (Audio CD)
Faith goes back to country again with this lovely CD, possibly her best yet. Some great catchy songs on here and well worth buying if you like Faith or Country music and perfect if you like both!! The best song by far is Missippi Girl (I know I have spelt it wrong BTW) it is such a great tune with great lyrics too and once you hear it it gets stuck in your head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not her best work but still good, 13 May 2009
By 
S. Haines "shazza" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fireflies (Audio CD)
There are a few lovely songs on this album, but one play through for me and then it goes back on the shelf for a long while - I love Faith Hill but 'Breathe and Cry' are much better, more rounded albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireflies (Audio CD)
Love Faith Hill, have all her discs and this does not disappoint. Hope she releases a new album soon. Definately would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireflies (Audio CD)
Another great Faith Hill CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fireflies (U.S. Release)
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews