Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin 2014 The Paris gig.......
OK, so all of the previous owners are familiar with the material here, best described by someone elsewhere in the reviews here as a collection of thinly disguised blues covers, to pad things out, along with a couple of new songs that Jimmy had been working on with the Yardbirds. I can't argue with that, but what I can say is that Zep took that stuff and made it their own...
Published 1 month ago by Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (...

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Upgrade on previous remastered CD
I was keener to hear if Jimmy Page significantly enhanced the sound of the original album on disc 1 than to hear the live radio broadcast on disc 2. I think that first disc sounds fantastic - the component sounds are well-separated, and the whole has terrific punch and grit. The bass has a warmth and detail I hadn't heard before, too. However, it does sound as if Jimmy...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. Jamie P. Kitson


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin 2014 The Paris gig......., 9 Jun 2014
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, so all of the previous owners are familiar with the material here, best described by someone elsewhere in the reviews here as a collection of thinly disguised blues covers, to pad things out, along with a couple of new songs that Jimmy had been working on with the Yardbirds. I can't argue with that, but what I can say is that Zep took that stuff and made it their own. They completely adrenalised it and took the material places that it had never been before. It was a stunning debut album by any standards. Jeff Beck had his version of similar material, which is great in it's own way, but not the aural trouncing that Zep gave it.

This new remastering really lets the whole thing breath a bit more openly, Pages acoustic guitar work and JPJ's pipe organ work being the main benefactors. There does appear to have been some sort of dynamic noise filtering used, perhaps even certain tracks have had noise limiting whereas others have not. Something strange is definitely afoot in the mix. The top end that gets pulled out with the usual noise reduction appears to have been sorted out by re-equing what was left.......or something along those lines. Everything still ends up as clear as the proverbial. Having said this, it works for me. It certainly has not sucked the life out of it the way Cedar noise reduction did when it came out. Crank up the amp and it is all there, ready to work your ears.

The bonus cd has a gig from Paris on it and this appears to be a source of some distress to some listeners. I am not one of those listeners. Sure I have heard better sound quality recordings, but rarely have I felt that the atmosphere of the gig was floating right out of the speakers. This gig is wild!! It is like the rock and roll equivalent of lighting a stick of dynamite and dancing through pools of petrol outside a nitro glycerine factory. I have heard dozens of Led Zep bootlegs and would have to say that this one is as good as any I have heard for getting close to what the gig must have been like. Yes, there are sound balancing issues, yes, levels get shifted, but the adrenaline flow is constant.

Six minutes into the last track, How Many More TImes, Page cranks out "that riff" during an improv section. He then plays "that riff" a couple more times......... Is this the birth of Whole Lotta Love? Worth hearing just for this alone.

Horses for courses...you might love or loath the sound quality(which was significantly better than I had expected going by some of the existing reviews) this gig has atmosphere and a quality that make it worth hearing at least once, if not a dozen times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Good Times Bad Times..." Led Zeppelin by LED ZEPPELIN (2014 2CD DELUXE EDITION), 2 Jun 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When the CD first arrived as a format in 1984 - few Led Zeppelin fans would have thought it would take 30 years for decent remasters of the fave crave - but unfortunately after hearing these dreadfully dull-sounding new versions - they may want to wait another thirty. It's not all bad of course but I'd swear that the "Mothership" 2007 remasters sound way better and far more alive - and the 2012 Japanese SHM-CD again features better sound. Anyway here are the details...

UK released 2 June 2014 (3 June in the USA) - Atlantic/Swan Song 8122796457 breaks down as follows...

Disc 1 (44:56 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 9 are their debut album "Led Zeppelin" - originally issued 12 January 1969 in the USA on Atlantic SD-8216 and 31 March 1969 in the UK on Atlantic 588 171 on vinyl LP

Disc 2 (71:16 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 8 are a PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED concert recorded live at The Olympia Theatre in Paris France on 10 October 1969 (Broadcast 2 November 1969 by the French Radio Station 'Europe 1')

The 3-way gatefold card sleeve features alternative artwork on the rear with the original back cover of the LP moved to the inside left flap. The two other inner flaps feature classy black and whites but I must say the alternate artwork leaves me cold. The 16-page booklet has gorgeous black and white/colour photos of the band live at the time - but that's where the good news stops. There are two pages at the rear that give you the basic track info but bugger all else - there are literally no liner notes - nor any history of the album and its importance - nothing from Page or Plant. It's good - but it could have been great - and frankly why isn't it? And as one other reviewer has pointed out - relistening to the album in its entirety - only hammers home what an astonishing debut it was (and still is). But in my heart that's nothing to the sound...

I'm certain the sound quality on this album is going to be a bone of contention for many. Don't get me wrong - it does sound very clean - it has power (if you crank it up) - but there's absolutely something missing. To my ears there's no life to these remasters - no air around the instruments - a sort of dead dampened feel to them. I don't know if noise suppression was used and the only reference to 'remastering' is craftily put on the sticker and not any part of the booklet (so no sources are listed). But to my ears the "Mothership" versions are infinitely better. I've done an A/B of the 4 ML remasters with what's on here - and the 2007 versions are full of real presence and power. "Baby I'm Gonna Leave You" for instance is very clean - but again - it feels oddly restrained. Tracks like the Acoustic and Tabla "Black Mountain Side" sound fabulous - as does the barnstorming finisher "How Many More Times" - but "Good Times Bad Times" and "Communication Breakdown" don't thrill like they should.

The live disc fluctuates wildly on the sound front - a best approximation is a passable bootleg recording. On the double-opener "Good Times Bad Times/Communication Breakdown" you can so hear the power and magic of a band tearing into its audience with a point to prove - but tracks like "Moby Dick" and "Heartbreaker" sound like rubbish (even if Jimmy Page's guitarwork is off the charts brilliant). Speaking of his axe - the guitar disappears into the mix way too often as does John Paul Jones' Bass and John Bonham's drums. Bluntly if any major label put this out as an official release - they'd be loudly panned by everyone including fans. Also where is the 1969 studio outtake "Baby Come On Home" or the brill "Travelling Riverside Blues" from the 1990-4CD "Led Zeppelin" Box Set - which would have made ideal bonus tracks on Disc 1?

I suppose it's a matter of taste when it comes to sound - and I'm open to correction. And there will be those who can quite easily accept what's on Disc 1 - but I for one have to admit to feeling major disappointment after all this wait. Thank God I didn't fork out ninety quid for the Super Deluxe. Answers on a missing mastertape please...

PS: see also reviews for the 2CD DELUXE EDITION versions of "II" and "III" (which are far better soundwise and contain genuinely excellent bonuses)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Zep were really about, 16 Oct 2005
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
Amid all the acclaim for their later albums, Zep's debut tends to be forgotten. Often held "responsible" for the rise of heavy metal, they were really a blues band who happened to play loud and with flamboyance. The folk tag is somewhat misleading. Although it was an influence, they played up to it later in what I believe was a reaction to the unwelcome heavy metal label. Having said that, blues in its original form is folk music so perhaps it's an appropriate observation after all.
As for the music, what I like most are the production, the coherence of the album as a whole and of course the playing.
The sound has a resonance which makes the album vibrant. There is a lovely balance between the predominant blues songs and the occasional diversion. The playing has the best of both worlds: virtuoso individuals playing off each other so that they work superbly as a unit.
Jimmy Page sets out his agenda within two minutes of the start with a blistering solo, while Robert Plant's aping of the guitar on "You Shook Me" gives you the shivers. "Your Time Is Gonna Come" features some spiritual organ playing by John Paul Jones on what is the nearest thing to a pop song on the album. Best of all however is "How Many More Times", which opens with a storming repeated riff and goes through several dramatic changes, including a quite psychedelic passage featuring some improvised vocal gymnastics, while even "Bolero" is thrown in. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take-off!, 12 Jan 2002
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
Zeppelin's début effort is a remarkable achievement. The "knock-knock" wake-up call of the surprisingly commercial opener "Good Times Bad Times" gives way to the labyrinthine acoustics of "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You". This is followed by Willie Dixon's blues tune "I Can't Quit You Baby", in an arrangement which steals from and improves upon the Jeff Beck Group's rendition. This segues into the moody, hallucenogenic "Dazed and Confused", a cornerstone of Zeppelin performances for years to come. What was side two opens with "Your Time is Gonna Come", in which a guitar figure pinched from Traffic's "Dear Mr. Fantasy" complements JP Jones' organics perfectly. This track leads straight into Page's eastern-styled acoustic piece "Black Mountain Side", which is followed by the high-speed riffage of "Communication Breakdown". Back to the Dixon songbook for "I Can't Quit You Baby", and then onto the album's finalé, the histrionic "How Many More Times", which freely borrows from Howlin' Wolf, Booker T and the MGs and a host of other sources, whilst remaining defiantly Zeppelin. Recorded in a mere thirty hours, and more than thirty years on, this sounds fresh, vital and powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For me it does not get any better than "Dazed and Confused", 24 Sep 2003
By A Customer
It all makes such perfect sense now in retrospect. You take two of the premier sessions artists in England rising from the ashes of the Yardbirds and pair them up with a couple of unknown 19 year olds from the Band of Joy and form one of the greatest rock groups of all time. Led Zeppelin's debut album remains a classic and its showpiece "Dazed and Confused" is the song I have listened to most often in my life; my favorite part is Bonzo's cascades on the drum as Jimmy Page loses the violin bow and finishes his guitar solo (I have learned from a reputable source that the song was originally written by Jake Holmes as a folk-rock type song, but uncredited on the album). One of the great things about the new Led Zeppelin double-DVD is that there are another four versions of "Dazed and Confused" on it, although admittedly you have to look for some of them. I finally get to see Bonzo do that bit on what, by contemporary standards, is a kiddie drum kit.
"Communication Breakdown" is the one "single" from the album because from the very beginning Led Zeppelin's best tunes were just too long for airplay. "Dazed and Confused" is 6:27, Page's acoustic arrangement of "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You" is 6:40 (the second best track on the album) and the final track, the under-rated "How Many More Times" is a heck of a lot longer than the "3:30" that is listed in the liner notes (go figure). The album begins with the introductory hard chords of "Good Times Bad Times" but also features the acoustic guitar and tabla drums on the folksy "Black Mountainside" as the group mixes and matches music styles. At this point Robert Plant is just handling the vocals, with Page, Jones and Bonham responsible for the new songs. For good measure they toss a pair of Willie Dixon's blues tunes, "You Shook Me" and "I Can't Quit You Baby," to reveal the exact nature of the group's musical roots even as they were on their way to being the definitive heavy metal band.
Everything that comes afterwards in the musical career of Led Zeppelin all comes back to the ground they claim on this album. Future albums will vary the calculus in terms of how much hard rock, acoustic, or blues appears on a given album, but you will find the template for the group's success laid out on this self-titled debut effort where they establish their album-oriented perspective. This is guitar rock beyond what we had heard in the distorted electric blues of Jimi Hendrix, Jeff Beck, and Eric Clapton. Ultimately, what makes it a great debut album is that Led Zeppelin continues to build on those foundation in eight more classic heavy metal albums over the next dozen years. This is one of the few albums that I still as vinyl (object d'arte), cassette (emergency use if the CD player in the car breaks down), and CD. If I get stuck on a desert island, guess what album I want...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking debut, 12 April 2010
By 
maz "maz" (Kent , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
Led Zeppelin 1 was created in a short time and on a shoestring budget. On listening to it, you'd think they had spent months perfecting it.It is quite simply an awesome debut.

For me the highlight is Babe I'm Gonna Leave You, a showcase for Plant's soulful vocals. Also the classic Dazed & Confused, with John Paul Jones's spine tingling intro and Jimmy Page's guitar work in the mid section. The blues based You Shook Me. Another great and hugely underrated song is Your Time Is Gonna Come, which, for me, is up with their best work

If you listen to Black Mountain Side, you can see why Page wanted John Bonham in the band. It's not Bonham's usual powerhouse style, it's
subtle and simple and meshes with Jimmy's work perfectly.

All in all a very good album and far superior to it's follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hammer of the Gods!, 20 Jan 2004
By 
Penguin Egg (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
Led Zeppelin's reputation as the world's premier rock band is richly deserved, and their debut album shows exactly why. Many bands drew upon the blues as the basis for their music; but few did it with the depth of feeling, conviction and understanding of Led Zeppelin. Their two Willie Dixon numbers that they covered on this album, You Shook Me and I Cant Quit You Baby, are a case in point. No effete and limp wristed attempt at the blues here, which typified the British blues boom at this time. Instead, they attacked the songs with a ferocity and depth of feeling that matches, in their own way, a true originator like Howling Wolf. They make the songs their own in a way a more reverential act, such John Mayall's Bluesbreakers, never could. Zeppelin never "ripped off the blues" as has so often been claimed: rather, they interpreted it in their own highly individual manner, and drew upon it for their own music.

What made them so good was that they were all so highly talented. Plant's range, volume and depth of feeling were amazing. Page's technique, both on acoustic and electric guitar, had been honed by years of session work until he reached the dazzling brilliance for which he became known. Bonham's awesome drumming is like nothing else before or since: thunderous, aggressive, but with such perfect and unusual timing. Bonham, more than anyone, defined the sound of Zeppelin. Then, ofcourse, you had John Paul Jones' subtle bass playing. Their talent is beautifully highlighted on the six minute forty-one second exercise in musical dynamics, Babe I'm Gonna Leave You. Page's percussive and rhythmic acoustic guitar playing is continuously punctuated by sudden and unexpected attacks of the rhythm section with Bonham laying down the beat as if he was beating time for the Gods themselves. Plant's voice is an instrument of power and beauty itself and on this track, he displays it to full effect. I have played this track repeatedly and it never fails to astonish me. When they keep themselves tight and focused, no matter how long the song, they are the most powerful band in the world. When they experiment and improvise, as with Dazed and Confused, then maybe their power diminishes a jot. Also, the short acoustic piece, Black Mountain Side, beautifully played by Page, does sound a little too much like Blackwaterside by Bert Jansch and I did find myself wondering why Jansch didn't get a much deserved credit. However, these are small criticisms. On this album, they displayed their musical credentials as both musicians and songwriters. Greatness was to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Upgrade on previous remastered CD, 3 Jun 2014
By 
I was keener to hear if Jimmy Page significantly enhanced the sound of the original album on disc 1 than to hear the live radio broadcast on disc 2. I think that first disc sounds fantastic - the component sounds are well-separated, and the whole has terrific punch and grit. The bass has a warmth and detail I hadn't heard before, too. However, it does sound as if Jimmy was scraping the barrel for disc 2: the sound quality is definitely in the 'good bootleg' bracket. The BBC Sessions CD has a 1969 Playhouse Theatre radio concert in much better quality, so this Paris show is a disappointment. Arguably, Jimmy could have used instead the Danmarks Radio soundtrack from the same year together with unreleased BBC material (eg, Dazed and Confused from that Playhouse gig). But - to be fair - he was obviously very short of attractive archival recordings from the first year in Led Zeppelin's illustrious career. Regardless, let's not lose sight of the most important thing: the music on disc 1 is unspeakably good - enough folk and Eastern distractions to give interest, but essentially a riotously manic heavy Blues outing. I've been severe with the stars because this 2-CD set is priced the same as the new LZ2 and LZ3 releases despite that inferior concert recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A debut that remains an essential check out!, 19 Feb 2006
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
A fantastic debut album and one of the best albums ever from one of the greatest if not the greatest band ever. Zeppelin's 'dazed and confused' is my favorite record a class record, the opener 'good times, bad times' is also awesome, a band on top form from start of there career to the end. Class songs like 'communication breakdown' the cover of 'you shook me' is great, 'black mountain side is also great, 'how many more times' is also a class record, later that year came Zeppelin II which to me is there best a great album, brillant. Truly amazing an album not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Classic, Bluesy Rock, 16 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
Zeppelins first album was a perfect example of classic hard rock with a great bluesy touch.
The album opens with the hard rocking 'Good Times Bad Times', with a great riff and pounding, soulful bass courtesy of the underrated John Paul Jones. The mood then suddenly changes with Zeps acoustic interpretation of the heart-wrenching Joan Baez number 'Babe I'm Gonna Leave You', and is followed by the Willie Dixon blues classic 'You Shook Me', in which Robert Plant delivers an outstanding vocal performance. On track four Zep return to hard rock with the epic, swaggering Dazed and Confused, with excellent precision drumming from the late, great John Bonham. Zep then proceed through the slow burning 'Your Time Is Gonna Come', which leads onto a re-interpretation of Bert Jansch's 'Blackwater Side', here re-named 'Black Mountain Side', with added tabla drums and acoustic guitar. Next up is the B-side of 'Good Times Bad Times', the rocking 'Communication Breakdown', and another Dixon blues standard, 'I Can't Quit You Baby'. The album then closes with 'How Many More Times', a showcase of the musical talents of this seminal band.
This album is definately one of the greatest ever, a winning combination of blues and rock, which will never be bettered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Led Zeppelin
Led Zeppelin by Led Zeppelin
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews