Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young Maestro
The usual combination of Bruch and Mendelssohn concertos, so many recordings to choose from, why buy this one?
Well, this is a young man (a 19 year old Vengerov) with his first (loaned) Strad. There is a freshness and vitality in the performance. Listen to the accented runs in the last movement of the Bruch, and the separation and clarity of the individual notes in...
Published on 13 Sep 2002

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars wrong piece of Bruck. Not Amazon's fault
I heard the piece on Classic fm and looked it up next day, b4 ordering. It was the piece from the film 'Duet for Two' and I know I didn't make a mistake. Tried to look on the cover of the film 2 see if the music was listed and almost bought the DVD but too expensive. Hey ho! worse things in life
Published 12 months ago by Harriet Maxwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young Maestro, 13 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
The usual combination of Bruch and Mendelssohn concertos, so many recordings to choose from, why buy this one?
Well, this is a young man (a 19 year old Vengerov) with his first (loaned) Strad. There is a freshness and vitality in the performance. Listen to the accented runs in the last movement of the Bruch, and the separation and clarity of the individual notes in the first movement of the Mendelssohn. There is something new in this interpretation, which is identifiably Vengerov, and therefore something to treasure.
Personally I hardly ever listen to any of my other recordings of these concerti now, they just lack the pure tone, and excitement I hear when I listen to this.
However I suspect in later life Maxim may want to record these again, certainly his performance of the Mendelssohn is substantially different now, some 9 years later.
But then he's had 9 years more experience to bring to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young virtuoso, 18 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
Does the full complement of stars indicate a perfect recording ? No, of course not. Maxim Vengerov will no doubt go on to greater and better things.
What this recording does is capture a young maesto at the youthful peak of his powers. In an earlier age, like Paginini, he would no doubt have been accused of congress with the devil.
The energetic approach to both pieces undoubtedly has pitfalls, the second movement of Mendelsohn seems to find him all at sea and for this alone will exclude it from the pantheon of great recordings of this particular piece.
However he provides what is possibly the definitive recording of the Bruch, and finishes the album with an absolutely spectacular third movement of Mendelsohn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Performance., 8 Nov 2010
By 
J. Dunning-Davies (Hull, Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
This CD provides a fantastic performance of two superb, well-loved violin concertos - both containing moments of such beauty as to transport the listener into another world of true peace and tranquility. Maxim Vengerov has been acknowledged to be a supreme violinist for ages now and that, combined with the ridiculously low price, must make this CD amongst the very best of purchases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding CD, 21 April 2010
By 
Mrs. Roslyn Watson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bruch & Mendelssohn : Violin Concertos (MP3 Download)
I have always thought Vengerov is the best violinist by far and this rendition of both violin concertos only goes to prove it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure beauty, 2 Dec 2014
By 
Andrew C. Mitchell (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
Many people may choose excellent soloists and orchestras for these beautiful works. For me the pairing of the young virtuoso, Vengerov with the beautiful Gewandhausorchester Leipzig wonderfully and rapturously led by the long serving, well experienced Kurt Masur is both magical and unforgettable. I prefer this, over Anne-Sophie Mutter and the Berlin Philharmonic with Karajan.
The clarity of the soloist and his flexibility is both heart-warming and spiritually uplifting. The Bruch Violin Concerto is one of the top ten violin concertos of all time. The Mendelssohn Violin Concerto is one of his most loved works. The great 19th century violinist, Joachim had it about right when he remarked,'The Germans have four violin concertos. The greatest without any reservation comes from Beethoven. That by Brahms in its seriousness contends with Beethoven. Max Bruch wrote the richest and most bewitching. But the most intimate, the heart's jewel, is by Mendelssohn.' The gorgeous, seductive nature of the Bruch Concerto is revealed in this recording and the delicacy and love are shown in the Mendelssohn. A particular favourite movement of mine is the effervescent, shimmering brilliance of the final movement of the Mendelssohn. This is the recording to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Violin Concertos, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
Maxim Vengerov can do no wrong as far as I'm concerned. I love Bruch anyway, and this is fantastic violin playing. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bruch & Mendelssohn violin concertos, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bruch & Mendelssohn : Violin Concertos (MP3 Download)
I am so pleased that I decided to purchase this performance of both violin concertos.
I am very impressed by the skill , artistry and sensitivity that the performer displays with his interpretation, which greatly increased my appreciation and awareness of the potential of both violin concertos to really engage with the listener on an emotional level, and improve the depth of one`s understanding.
This is a very rewarding, and musically enriching experience that I would happily reccomend to everyone who enjoys classical violin concertos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Violin Concerto, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
his is an excellent recording of the Bruch and Mendelssohn violin concertos and I am really enjoying listening to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Violin heaven!, 28 Jun 2013
By 
J. Fernwood "arts lover" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
Vengerov once said that anyone could learn to play the violin if they practised enough, but I rather doubt it, and it would take most people years to get even close to his standard. In my view, he is one of the most skillful violinists around at the moment, and this is evident here. I have heard many versions of the Bruch, but this is up there with the best of them, and his handling of the Mendelssohn is equally mesmerizing. This is a splendid CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bruch concerto beautifully played, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Violin Concertos (Audio CD)
An exquisite interpretation by Vengerov.
Buy it and enjoy listening to a master violinist, who plays with such emotional sensitivity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bruch & Mendelssohn : Violin Concertos
Bruch & Mendelssohn : Violin Concertos by Kurt Masur & Gewandhausorchester Leipzig Maxim Vengerov
Buy MP3 Album£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews