Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary Masterpiece - brilliantly enhanced
As I did with my review of Madonna's first album (remastered), I will start with comments on the actual track list, followed be comments on the digitally remastered version.

TRUE BLUE, in my mind, is probably Madonna at her most inspirational. Other flashes of excellence like RAY OF LIGHT and LIKE A PRAYER may indeed receive mention, but it is this album that...
Published on 5 Sep 2009 by BA Wilson

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Madonna grows up and discovers the power of drum machines
'True Blue' is fequently touted as Madonna's first 'grown-up' album and, hence, was the first one NME readers could admit to liking. The critics were right, however; the contrast between 'Dress You Up' and her next UK release 'Live To Tell' is quite remarkable - the squeakiness has diminished, the lyrics are more meaningful and Madonna has got rid of her rubber bangles...
Published on 8 Mar 2002


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary Masterpiece - brilliantly enhanced, 5 Sep 2009
By 
BA Wilson "Brad" (Johannesburg, SOUTH AFRICA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Blue (Audio CD)
As I did with my review of Madonna's first album (remastered), I will start with comments on the actual track list, followed be comments on the digitally remastered version.

TRUE BLUE, in my mind, is probably Madonna at her most inspirational. Other flashes of excellence like RAY OF LIGHT and LIKE A PRAYER may indeed receive mention, but it is this album that will always peg Madonna as a serious and brilliantly gifted artist. Five songs were released to great success internationally, viz. "Live To Tell", "Papa Don't Preach", "Open Your Heart", "True Blue" and "La Isla Bonita". Moreover, "White Heat" was a fairly large hit in South Africa, and "Where's The Party" stormed the charts throughout the Far East. It is this latter song which begs to be remodelled and re-released in time for Madonna's upcoming Greatest Hits package (the 2nd "Immaculate Collection"). I personally fail to understand why this song was never released internationally in the first place.

The album opens with "Papa Don't Preach" - a superbly composed, poetic tune that sets a rather gloomy ambience. This is followed by "Open Your Heart", an upbeat, inspiring piece which is full of energy and aplomb. "White Heat" ensues, with a child-like theme akin to "cops `n robbers". We are then confronted by some hauntingly beautiful material in "Live to Tell", probably one of Madonna's strongest and most sincere ballads to date. This seriousness fails to last though, for "Where's The Party" lifts the spirits once again, as the lyrics ask us to "free our souls" and "lose control". Succeeding this wonderful dance tune is the title track, "True Blue", a love-inspired pop song, full of imagination and excited girliness. This is followed by "La Isla Bonita", a Spanish-influenced pop tune with catchy lyrics and seductive percussion. "Jimmy Jimmy" is the next track, a bubblegum pop song which is, sadly, the weakest on the album. TRUE BLUE ends on a rather energetic note, with the South American carnival-style influence in "Love Makes The World Go Round" - a fitting finalé to a well-rounded, tireless pop album.

The remodelled version of this 1986 album can simply be described as "impeccable". "Digitally Remastered" it is, and in more ways than one. The entire package has been enhanced, including the lyrics booklet and back cover. Fans will be delighted at the inclusion of a full-length TRUE BLUE picture within the lyrics booklet (as was featured in the original cassette version).

One finds it hard to believe the clarity of each song on this refreshingly enhanced CD. Like the remastered first album, some tunes on TRUE BLUE sound even more dance oriented than before - as their beats are far more distinctive and vibrant. "Where's The Party" and "Open Your Heart" are examples. In fact, "Where's The Party" sounds far more exciting than it originally did! The drums throb, and the synthesisers are lucid and precise. The inclusion of two bonus tracks will please many fans. "True Blue" (The Colour Mix) is definitely one of my favourites. Shep Pettibone was a master at remixing Madonna tracks, and this one is no exception. "La Isla Bonita" (Extended Remix), however, is not characteristically different to the album version - it is merely an extended version, and not nearly as polished as something Pettibone would have performed.

The digitally remastered version of "True Blue" is phenomenal, and is a must for the fan and the musically informed. It certainly is worthy of being nominated "Top 10 Album Of All Time".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of the '80s, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blue (Audio CD)
As I've said in previous reviews, it's difficult for younger generations to udnerstand what impact the release of early Madonna albums had on the youth worlwide, particularly girls. This was released as Madonna changed her image from the exciting Crucifixes / lace tights/ crop tops one, to a much more subdued, jewellery-free one. It shouldn't have worked - she cut her hair, put on less make-up, almost became a tom-boy - it was such a drastic image change you couldn't imagine any of today's stars doing it. But she made a success of it because she is Madonna and she had attutude, but also because the music was just as darn good as that we'd loved on the Like A Virgin album. Madonna was exciting because she was constantly evolving - becasue she showed that not only could a woman be fresh and influential, but she could hold her own with the men when it came to making brilliant music.

So we all awaited this LP with bated breath - woudl it be as good as Like A Virgin? What could possibly top Into The Groove? Would she go back to the long hair and Crucifixes before too long? And this is what she answered us with.

This is, quite frankly, one of the best, most defining albums of the 1980s. Not only did it macth Like A Virgin, True Blue surpassed it. Love Makes The World Go Round, White Heat, La Isla Bonita, Papa Don't Preach, True Blue - all are excellent pop songs of a quality you just don't get these days. Madonna fans knew the instant we heard it that this album was her gift to us - that she hadn't just rushed out some cod disco pap to capitalise on her fame. No, she had taken her time over this, and given us a great album full of pop highlights. We may no longer have been singing Like A Virgin and declaring ourselves Material Girls for a laugh, but we were amazed at the message in Papa Don't Preach, and the great beat behind it. In Open Your Heart, Madonna made the simple removal of a pair of gloves into a sexy move. Every girl wanted to be Madonna in those days.

I don't think any female singer will ever again have the impact Madonna did. She not only gave us great music, but she became a massive part of our popular culture - in fact, she threw up our pop culture and turned it on it's head. Suddenly, in the greed-driven excesses of the 80s world, it was good to be a woman. We weren't second-class citizens anymore - we had a voice and we'd shout until we were heard. Getting noticed was no longer bad manners. And above all else - above the Poison Penn tabloid stories, the Like A Virgin video, the rumoured Marilyn Monroe obsession - Madonna helped us to express ourselves by giving us the perfect soundtrack to our lives. Purely excellent pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far from Blue, 6 Feb 2011
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blue (Audio CD)
Its often been coined as a summary of 80's synth-pop, though I'd personally argue that Madonnas 'True Blue' escapes a variety of the cliched' sounds we've come to associate with the era. In fact, its not such a bad summary afterall.

From a period when the young girl herself was indeed human (and didn't require 23 hours-a-day of yoga to stay in shape), we hear an album that presents many issues of the young, lending Madonna a guise of worship even though she herself barely broke sweat in making the album. 'Papa Don't Preach' is of course the lead document - a cry for understanding when the characters are blessed - or indeed doomed - by a child at such a young age. From here on its all about the energy, with 'Open Your Heart' (could be re-titled 'Open Your Cover Versions) lifting the mood, 'Wheres The Party' asking a genuine question in itself and 'Jimmy Jimmy' making both a humorous and thoughtful statement on the life of one Hollywood legend - though equally, asking the age-old question of why foolish girls date... fools!

Extended with a few bonus tracks for good measure, this isn't an album to be missed. It could be said that it demonstrates the 'right side' of 80's popular music, since its typical reverb and stage-drums are somewhat flat enough to avoid scarring your ears for life (unlike Bruce Springsteen), but all the while, its so potently synthetic that you can't help feel happy from giving it a blast. A seminal album from this mysterious character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, 21 Jan 2004
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Blue (Audio CD)
This the point where Madonna became critically acclaimed, and it is still a stand out album. It sold by the bucket loads, and whilst the album only comes with 9 tracks (+ the 2 added remixes on this remastered version), its not hard to see why.
Packed with hits such as: Papa don't preach, Open your heart, Live to tell, La Isla Bonita, and True blue, and fan favourites, Love makes the world go round and Where's the party, this album is like a trip down memory lane.
The best remix here is for La Isla, which uses the gorgeous backing vocals to full effect, and is basicaly an extended version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands the test of time, 28 Nov 2012
By 
Andrew Aldridge (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blue (Audio CD)
I had this album on vinyl but never got round to replacing it on CD until now. The price being a lot lower than was 20 years ago and already having most of Madonna's output on CD it seemed about time. I can honestly say I did not expect it to sound so fresh and immediate or make quite such an impact on me; I played it continuously for days. These songs are timeless and have worn really well; Papa Don't Preach, Open Your Heart, White Heat, Live To Tell - the first 'side' as per vinyl is literally one classic after another. But I was also pleasantly surprised at how I really liked tracks like Jimmy Jimmy that I regarded as filler 25 years ago. The remastering is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna at her peak. must buy for everyone whether you like her or not, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blue (Audio CD)
this is another 5* star album by the QUEEN!
Madonna really matured in this album compared to Madonna and Like a virgin. also contains some of the most iconic songs of all time. all of which are considered to be classic 80's

i think all of her fans should own a copy of this or don't call yourself a fan!

its her bestselling studio album

and its a great place to start if you haven't heard much by Madonna
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album!, 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: True Blue (Audio CD)
Bought this album to add to my Madonna collection and it did not disappoint :)
It has some of her best hits on it like Live To Tell and La Isla Bonita which are just great, along with other songs which sounds and go great also, really shows off her talent in this album and i would highly recommend this album to any madonna fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop Perfect, 22 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blue (Audio CD)
The biggest selling album of the 12 months it dominated the charts globally - this is eighties pop perfection - only bettered by 'Like a Prayer' and Michael Jackson's 'Thriller'.

A force of an album - moved Madonna on from a global superstar to an icon in the making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madonna-True Blue, 29 Mar 2008
By 
M. Barnes "OhMattyBoy" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Blue (Audio CD)
I would believe that this album was her first masterpiece upon both an artistic and creative level, and that most of the singles on it are timeless classics.
However, a couple of the songs in my opinion are pretty poor, and could have been replaced with better tracks, thus making the whole album a much better one. But still, I would consider it (due to the the great tracks that are on it) her best album out of any of the first three.

My personal ratings:

Papa Don't Preach - 5/5
Open Your Heart - 3/5
White Heat - 3/5
Live To Tell - 5/5
Where's The Party - 4/5
True Blue - 4/5
La Isla Bonita - 5/5
Jimmy Jimmy - 1/5
Love Makes The World Go Round - 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very strong Madonna album, 7 April 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Blue (Audio CD)
With five major international hits - True blue, La Isla Bonita, Open your heart, Papa don't preach and Live to tell - this is yet another brilliant album from Madonna, who set the standards for others to follow in the eighties.
Papa don't preach is about a teenager with an unintended pregnancy who decides to keep her baby. Live to tell is about an older and wiser woman who has learned not to believe men. True blue is, by contrast, a song about a woman who is happy with her man. La Isla Bonita is about memories of a holiday romance. Open your heart is about a woman who shows interest in a man but he does not reciprocate.
On this album, the five hits are unquestionably the best tracks, but the other four, all catchy, upbeat songs, are also worth hearing. This is an excellent album that includes some of my favorite Madonna hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews