Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

  • Soul
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars95
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2009
I loved Seal's version of A Change is Gonna Come and I love the choice of songs on the rest of the album. All the vocals are great - no gimmicks or radical arrangements which would jar with the memory of these much loved classics just excellent soulful singing by a very talented bloke. A great homage to past genius. My personal highlight is Michael Thompson's guitar on People Get Ready.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
Top quality tracks. When an artist does a "Cover" album it's usually when they are on their way down and don't have any new stuff to sell but not in Seals case. This is Seal singing some of his favourite tracks and i'm so pleased he realsed this album as his voice with these fav songs makes a perfect CD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2009
...and Seal has just the voice to do it. Great production, great voice, great songs. Don't be put off by purists comparing these versions with originals, recorded in some instances back in the 1960s. Any such comparisons are an irrelevance. This is top drawer stuff. Go buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2009
Heard him sing "It's a Man's World" on a TV programme and it completely blew me away. Bought the CD and it completely lived up to my expectations. Seal's voice is so versatile and so easy to listen to. Would recommend this CD without reservation.Soul
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2009
Iheard the track Change on the radio & liked it so I thought it would be good to buy the album. However the critics in many papers did not give a good review.Take no notice of the critics this is a 5 star + album & I cannot stop listening. His best for years!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2009
Soul

Amazing and soul soothing voice! I have bought this cd for my boyfriend for Christmas and I got an engagement ring in return :)

We both simply love it! It is played in his car all the time and gives really good vibes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
I have all of Seals CD's and this is different from his normal style but just as brilliant!It is an easy listening CD, his smooth soul voice carries well through all the tracks.If you are a Seal fan or just enjoy soul, this is the album for you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 May 2009
Bought for my wife but the more you listen to him the more you like his music
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2008
Just the thing for a lazy winter's afternoon, in a comfortable chair, with an hour or so to spare before dinner. Conjures images of slow waltzes, American smooth, passion and romance. Not the deepest voice, but a mellow, musical and pleasant sound, drifting from one track to the next seamlessly. A must have for relaxation, a glass or two of red wine, and maybe some alluring company.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
This has to be one of seal's best albums for a long time.
It sees him ditch his usual electronic/dance tunes for some old favourites.
Best tracks include the James Brown classic "Mans World" and "Free".
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)