Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars74
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2008
This album is truly incredible. Beginning with the excellent wake-up call that is 'Deadwing' and then continuing with some of the best songs that Porcupine Tree have done in recent years, 'Arriving Somewhere... But Not Here', 'Open Car', 'Mellotron Scratch' etc..

The most interesting thing, I find, about this album is that Steven Wilson seems to have finally allowed some influence from one of his supposed favourite bands, the progressive thrash metal band Meshuggah, to creep into his music. The Heavy riff in 'Arriving Somewhere... But Not Here' is one of the best parts of the album and works incredibly in contrast with the quieter parts of the song.

My personal favourite part of the album is the guest solo by Mikael Akerfeldt of Opeth on 'Arriving Somewhere... But Not Here' as it is incredible to see how his style works so well with Porcupine Tree as well as Opeth.

If you like any of the Porcupine Tree albums from 'Stupid Dream' onwards then this is an album that you should definitely buy and even if you don't you should buy it! This is the sound of the modern Porcupine Tree and by jove is it incredible!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2005
This disc is truly a well crafted example of the DVD-Audio format, with the one downside being the use of 24/48 resolution for the 5.1 mix instead of the more open sound of 24/96.
This minor niggle aside, the album was written with multichannel in mind - and it shows. The mix is from Elliot Scheiner, and you are grabbed from the opening track (Deadwing) and does not let up until the final notes of "Glass Arm Shattering" die away to silence.
In addition to the main album, there are 3 extra tracks to boot.
No matter what type of DVD player you have, this album will play on all players with the addition of a PCM stereo and a DTS surround track in the Video_TS folder.
Perhaps the only other criticism I can think of is the lack of a 5.1 Dolby Digital stream to ensure widest possible compatibility as not all home setups are DTS capable - although to be honest, most are these days.
This album should be in everyone's collection as a superb example of how good multichannel music can be when done well.
Audio formats on the disc are
24/48 MLP 5.1 Surround
24/48 DTS Surround
24/48 PCM Stereo.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Is there nothing Steven Wilson can't do? From the lilting ballad of Lazarus, the hard rock of Shallow, the extended explorations of the title track and Arriving Somewhere, or the obscure tones of Mellotron Scratch - he doesn't miss a beat. Whether it is the lyrics, melodies, arrangements, sound production, all immaculate: truly a master of his craft. It is easy to imagine the halcyon days of 1970s Prog Rock and lament the failure of subsequent generations to match their achievements, but, in my honest opinion, Steven Wilson belongs in that class of musician. He stands with Genesis, ELP, Yes, Crimson, Tull and all the other Prog Legends as their equal not just because he matches them in the quality and imagination of his music making, but because he brings something new to the table. He adds to the canon of great songs and music from an age I thought lost to the commercial misery that has, and continues to, decimate the music industry, that is both the music and the industry.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 February 2011
whatever that means ! as a lifelong fan of yes, crimson, floyd, tull and latterly gentle giant i'd always been disappointed by the new wave of "proggers" - radiohead being OK but not in the same league. until Porcupine Tree and deadwing was the first i bought by them. a thing that struck me was the musicality and the original voice - down to Steve Wilson i presume but supported by other guys who are talented musicians and guests like adrian belew.
it's an album i listen to without thinking about indivdual tracks - they produce a soundscape (like the best proggers) that seems a single piece of work (concept isn't the right word) - they don't just rely on synthesised sounds and samples though (is that "ambience"?). great stuff, good serious music is alive and well.
PS - must be one of the least informative CD covers ever (even worse that OK Computer) - arty farty, style (dubious) over substance (lyrics, instrumentation etc)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2005
Since discovering 'In Absentia' last year, Porcupine Tree have fast become one of my favourite bands. The level of musicianship as well as the songwriting just simply eclipses what most other bands are capable of. This time around, Steve Wilson seems to have taken on some influences from some of the heavier bands that he's worked with and produced. There is some really heavy guitar on here which is heightened by its juxtaposition with atmospheric keyboards and sampling. There are one or two 'Pink Floydy' moments, particularly in the vocal department, but this is no bad thing and Porcupine Tree do have a sound that is totally their own. Where other so-called 'Progressive' bands like Dream Theater go out of their way to show you how many notes they can cram into a song, Porcupine Tree are understated and subtle, yet still with a majesterial power to move you into dimensions of sheer joy and emotion. This has been on my mp3 player since I first received the CD and at the moment I just don't want to listen to anything else. All other bands are now irrelevant!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Porcupine Tree's eighth Studio album, and for me personally, their best.
In fact, I think this is the best album Steve Wilson has created, full Stop.
Every track is fantastic, there's no filler on here, but my personal favourites are the opening title track Deadwing, the 17 minute all time classic Arriving Somewhere But Not Here, and the closing track Glass Arm Shattering. And the stuff inbetween isn't bad either.
A definitive, outstanding five star purchase, if you have any interest in modern progressive rock music this is the band for you and this is the pinnacle of their career.
Please check out Steve Wilson's four solo albums and the other nine Porcupine Tree albums as well though, they're all superb!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
This is my favourite Porcupine Tree album, so I hear you say why give it only 3 stars.

Well if like me you like to listen to music on your MP3 player then you would have wanted to be able to put this onto it.

Well the wonderful people of Sony have put copy protection onto the disc so you can play it in a standard CD player and DVD player but as soon as it goes into a CD-Rom drive you can't play it.

The album is for me the best album and would have been awarded 10 stars but due to the copy protection only gets the three. I recommend that you save your money and buy a high quality download from the bands official website, not only can you put onto a disc and MP3 player but you also get a live bonus track.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2008
I love all of Steven Wilson's work, and it is hard to say which Porcupine Tree album is my favourite, but this could well be it. Or stupid dream. None of them is any less than brilliant. However, if you have a 5.1 surround system (and if not, why not? I just got the amazing phillips system for only £99 and it's truly awesome) then this version of Deadwing is the way to hear it. In stereo the tracks are incredible. In 5.1 they will blow you away.
Get this. Get a 5.1 surround system if you haven't. Oh, and get EVERYTHING by Porcupine Tree, Blackfield, Bass Communion, and all of Steven's other projects. The man has the Midas' touch.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
One of the many things I love about the Tree (as I have come to call them) and its planter and tender, the godlike genius that is Steven Wilson, is that there's always so much going on in their/his music. The intriguingly named Deadwing is definitely no exception.
The first couple of tracks feature Wilson's trademark choppy, rampaging guitar, along with the stunning drumming of the Tree's percussion supremo Gavin Harrison, a man who must surely be one of the two or three finest rock drummers working today.
Guests on this 2004 outing are Adrian Belew and occasional Wilson musical cohort Mikael Akerfeldt. Keyboardist Richard Barbieri makes his presence felt, as on the long central track Mellotron Scratch, a superb example of Wilson's remarkable ability for extended musical thought (the bulk of both music & lyrics are by SW).
I came very late to this guy and the PT movable feast, and I can hardly believe what I've been missing. This isn't just 'prog rock', it's endlessly fascinating music, full stop.
Open Car is a stirringly great track, and like so many PT songs manages to be at once a fine, stomping rock number and a musically poetic, melodic meditation. So many of Wilson's songs wrong-foot the listener, quite apart from his lyrical gifts: he's one of those rare rock lyricists whose words don't look embarrassing in print. Far from it, they are invariably literate and often moving.
Deadwing is pretty much as good as anything I've heard by the Tree - favourites so far being In Absentia and Lightbulb Sun - and that's saying a lot.

Essential.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Its easy to pigeon-hole bands into various genres and sub-categories, because people feel the need to categorise bands. Porcupine Tree will probably be remembered by a devoted fan base years from now and it sadly looks like they will never break into the mainstream. If ever there was an album that could've done that, this is surely it. Its sad because this is one of the finest rock albums I've ever heard.

This album has the perfect amount of variation and pacing while maintaining cohesiveness. Its just as much the perfect hard rock album, as it is the perfect prog album. It has piano ballads, lengthy and precise instrumentals, atmospheric moments (bordering of psychedelia), distorted riffs, short rock anthems, and great lyrics. Its an album that I feel has universal appeal; its progressive rock moments never interfere with it simply being a great classic rock album. Likewise, it maintains a great balance between being a loud rowdy rocker and an immensely intricate sonic masterpiece. Some tracks may not 'click' instantly, and others will. I remember not being overly fond of tracks like 'mellotron scratch' or 'glass arm shattering' when I first listened to this album, yet now they sound as good as any of the album tracks.

This album has had plenty of plays on my CD player over the years and it's an album I always come back to, yet it always manages to impress me every single time I play it. Porcupine Tree may be destined to become a cult favourite, however I hope that one day they will become more than that, and finally get the recognition that they truly deserve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£5.49
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.