Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elevation
An outstanding electric guitar album that has well stood the test of time, I remember first buying this the end of winter 77, a hard up student in London, after seeing Nick Kent's review in NME. I asked the record shop proprietor his opinion, he said - yeah, it's good, his voice is a bit strange though. Let me play some of it for you. And so I listened.

All...
Published on 9 Jan 2009 by J. Macdonald

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars tried something new.
Absolutely not my cup of tea but you never know unless you try different genre's, done this before & found gem's.
Published 6 months ago by rob


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elevation, 9 Jan 2009
By 
J. Macdonald (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marquee Moon (Audio CD)
An outstanding electric guitar album that has well stood the test of time, I remember first buying this the end of winter 77, a hard up student in London, after seeing Nick Kent's review in NME. I asked the record shop proprietor his opinion, he said - yeah, it's good, his voice is a bit strange though. Let me play some of it for you. And so I listened.

All these years and several formats later I'm still regularly listening to it with that same awe struck thrill I had back then. At the time I was smugly pleased with myself because nobody I knew had heard of them and, still, to this day when people are name checking their favourite albums, this one never gets mentioned, which is a bit strange when you consider that it is unquestionably the finest long playing record ever made.

OK, perhaps a bit over the top there, but let's get to the facts, just the facts. Television is neither a punk nor metal band. Nor are they prog-rock despite the 10 minute long title track. Garage band? Maybe so, but the musicianship & structure of the songs is at odds with that particular genre although the bare stripped back sound is one of 4 guys playing in a room with most of it recorded in one take. Comparisons are futile, however Television have been the inspiration for many subsequent guitar based acts. That instantly recognisable riff from the White Stripes "Seven Nation Army" is a close derivative of the bass part on "Elevation". Other bands of note under the influence of, I would say, early REM & U2, Yo La Tengo, the Blue Aeroplanes, Interpol, the Strokes, and probably Kings of Leon. You can also add to that list David Bowie in his "Scary Monsters" incarnation where he does a cover of one of Verlaine's later songs, "Kingdom Come".

What sets this band apart from the rest is the inventive twin guitar attack of Verlaine & Lloyd that has not been bettered or equalled before or since, although the Stones circa Taylor & Richards era come close, (Green/Kirwan?) In fact I wouldn't be surprised if one of their influences had been Mick Taylor, particularly if you listen to some of the solos on the albums "Goats Head Soup" & "Its Only Rock n Roll". There's a similar kind of languid fluidity and phrasing to their playing, the solos imbued with both melody and plot.

The interplay between the two (Fender Jazzmaster & Strat.)deviates from the conventional bloke rock swagger of lead & rhythm with infantile solos wrought from the top of the fret board at break neck speed. It is the exact opposite with Verlaine the more spontaneous & fluid, whilst Lloyd has a more considered style with all his parts meticulously worked out beforehand. Along with that haunting bass sound, particularly on "Elevation", one of the standout tracks for me, and crisp, precise drumming - listen to that clever counter-beat shuffle towards the end of "Friction" - these are "some of the greatest songs ever" (thank you Nick Kent).

However this album is not just about the guitars. Supplemented by plenty of backing vocals in classic call & response style, Verlaine's voice, nervous, edgy, perfect for these lyrics and these uncertain times - "I sleep light on these shores tonight" - "a whisper woke him up". Oblique, meaningless, elliptical some have said, there's nothing of the "my baby done gone & left me", or the splenetic vitriol of the cartoonish punk bands prevalent at that time, but instead their dark & moody nature adds a rich dimension to the angular spikiness of the songs putting you the listener in a position to imagine a meaning for yourself. "Tears...tears,rolling back the years. Years...years flowing by like tears. The tears I never shed, the years I've seen before" he sings passionately on the closing song "Torn Curtain" (of the original release), a tragic ballad of despair, the anguished cry of an inconsolable man lamenting a lost love and contemplating an already doomed future perhaps, and, as he invokes "burn it down...tears, tears, years, years" the music reaches its crescendo, the notes from Verlaine's guitar cascading with fury & finesse, the sonic, forlorn cry of a hunted whale, and Lloyd grinding out those weird chords amidst the crashing of the cymbals - "when beauty meets abuse". Astonishing.

This case is closed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A place in every new wave heart, 20 Feb 2007
This review is from: Marquee Moon (Audio CD)
So much could have been learnt from Television, but if even Tom Verlaine and Richard Lloyd could never again get within a million light years of what this album achieved (not even by reforming the original line-up) there's nothing to learn. It was an album that came out of nowhere: Television had been tipped for greatness since 1974 but nothing they did before this album remotely hinted at it. There are not all that many albums that anyone ever calls their Favourite Ever. This is certainly one.

Best guitar-band album ever? I've not heard anything better in the 30 years since and as for before, only maybe the best 12 Led Zep & Stones tracks ever would challenge it - and they're not on one solid single flawless album, are they. (You know, of course, that I wouldn't have mentioned Jimmy Page in 1977 without spitting, but you grow up.) Otherwise the only reference points would be Jeff Buckley's "Grace" - the guitar-heavy, Zep-ish tracks; and a few tracks on "The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads" which hint, sadly, at what Verlaine/Lloyd may have gone on to if their guitar partnership had continued to develop instead of dissolving into, well, two blokes with guitars in the same band like on "Adventure."

Key moments:

Venus, all of it, the most Most MOST perfect guitar song in history;

the moment you nostalgically get, for the 3,000,001st time without tiring of it, that the beat of Marquee Moon isn't where you thought it was the first time you heard the intro;

the recurring bit in Guiding Light where the elegiac guitar solo sounds like it's going to burst into a dual-lead Wishbone Ash thing which is an illusion caused by a couple of guitar notes in the backing but still, 30 years later, I hope...;

the first four notes of the solo in Torn Curtain.

I love Little Johnny Jewel, and for that matter The Blow-Up and numerous bootlegs and the so-called Eno demos and the officially-released 70s live albums. But yes, Marquee Moon is the only album anyone actually needs by Television, or needs on a desert island actually. The extra tracks are not much cop - except LJJ of course; and it will never QUITE be the same again as your precious vinyl copy with Nick Kent's review torn out of the NME in the sleeve - oh, just me? But if you haven't heard this, do. If you like any kind of rock music you're very much more than likely to love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Venus of the new wave, 31 Aug 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marquee Moon (Audio CD)
In 1977, a friend played me a 12" green vinyl single by a band I'd never heard of. It was 'Prove It'/'Venus' by Television. I taped it (as you did in those days) and discovered that I loved both sides. Before long, I was seeking out this album and played it over and over for days. Television shared a certain attitude with the other fashionable bands of the time, but their music otherwise had little in common with them. This is guitar rock with a lot of solos and no tracks under three minutes. Yet there's still an edge and an energy that sets it apart from the previous generation of rock bands.
There are punky rock songs ('See No Evil' and 'Friction'), dramatic songs ('Torn Curtain' and 'Elevation'), surrealism and wit ('Venus' and 'Prove It'), and a gentle interlude ('Guiding Light'). Then there's the ten-minute, epic title track, which builds layer upon layer and mesmerises you. Guitarists Tom Verlaine and Richard Lloyd share rhythm and lead duties, and their seemingly limitless supply of well-crafted and imaginative solos, combining the smooth and the slightly distorted, are a prominent feature of the album.
'Marquee Moon' is 45 minutes of unique rock music. As Tom Verlaine once observed, there are any number of ways to get from A to B on a guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 29 May 2007
By 
D. Thompson "tommo" (leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marquee Moon (Audio CD)
I was reading a book by the jouranlist/broadcaster Paul Morley and he was speaking about the Strokes and how they have celverly created a new trend within the 'retro' field. Throughout the 90's we have seen bands take influence from styles and music of previous years, be it acid rock, garage, rock, 60's british invasion etc...

What the Strokes did which is very interesting is, to rather than directly associating themsleves directly to a band - (easiest example - oasis - beatles) they look like they harked back to some punk/rock band from the seventies - people think of the strokes and say "oh yes they are some retro punk, garage band - influenced by the seventies) - but when you actually look at it - they didnt actually look like any band from the seventies that much, neither did they make any direct link to a band through their style of music.

They kind of created a retro style to something that was never actually there - hence, actually creating a new style itself...a sort of false retro image and sound, creating the impression they were taking influence to something that was never actusally there in the first place.

Well the relevance to this album is that - Television are unique - they dont really sound all that much like any other band of their era, they have a sort of 60's 'garage' aesthetic but never sounded too shabby.

They get linked in with the ever widening 'Punk' - but do not expect brash, angry attitude and thrashing guitars here, - not a mohican in sight. They could be linked a little to Wire in terms of stylistics but they are more melodic and dynamic (and not quite so - just out of art school- sounding).

The punk labelling they get is most likely from the view that they were making music alongside other young adults who found little to do with their spare time/lives and and this is apparent in the lyrics - they are not depressing but neither to do not offer rhymes of love and happiness, they make references to "lets dress up as cops - lets see what we can do", an anti establishment gesture and way of having fun.

Television are like the strokes in 2 ways - they too neither make any direct reference to a style of music or obvious predessecor but if the strokes were to linked to any band i would say they were like Television. They do not sound directly like them but their spiking style of music is sort of similar but television are not as up-tempo as the strokes and there is some similarity in the way the lyrics are sung too.

This album is not a typical 'punk' album, but an absolute classic of the time - is it clever, witty, thoughtful, spiky, melodic, brash and memorably different.

if often features in top 100 lists coz it really is it worth it - despite its lack of commercial sucess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genius beyond compare, 22 April 2006
This review is from: Marquee Moon (Audio CD)
Plausibly the best album ever made, from the spiky powerchord intro of 'see no evil' to the epic, operatic leviathan that is 'torn curtain', this album contains not a single bad track. spiky, jangly guitar lines, rumbling bass, some of the best drumming in contempory music and tom verlaine's strangled vocal all serve to drive the songs along in an edgy and yet decidedly enjoyable way. It also contains venus, a song which is, in my opinion, an example of that rare commodity- an infallibly perfect pop song.

essential stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marquee Moon deserves its 5 stars, 22 Aug 2007
By 
P. S. Palmer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marquee Moon (Audio CD)
For once I have to agree with all the previous reviews and ratings. This is an absolutely superb album. I have just listened to it twice over for the first time and felt compelled to write. It's that good. Every song is different yet has the same breathtaking musicianship weaving its ways through the whole album. I won't go into details as others have comfortably done that. For me this is the joy of music - up until a few months ago I had never heard of Television. Then, through Patti Smith, I came across Television. Bought it on a whim and loved it the moment I heard it. Now I can't believe it has taken me so long to discover them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best albums ever just got better, 25 Aug 2004
By 
Mr. D. P. Lloyd "darrenlloyd2" (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marquee Moon (Audio CD)
this is quite rightly critcally lauded.it has everything you would want from a classic album,brilliant instrumentation from a band at the peak of it's powers and superb lyrics from a poet/frontman.
the eight songs on the original album are probably the best eight guitar based songs you will ever hear.you'll get lost in the rippling rushing solos.you'll be anchored to the ground by tight work of the rhythm section.
anyway,this classic album just got better with the inclusion of little johnny jewel,the legendary single.
whooooa.
my advice,buy this cd,even if you have the original.
trust me,i'm a nurse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rebirth of 1977s musical landmark..., 7 Nov 2003
By 
Milt Ingarfield "milt_fm" (Arbroath, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marquee Moon (Audio CD)
In the days of punk, new wave or alternative music (all terms I hate) a beacon of music appeared in the form of Television.

This band along with the Talking Heads came around from the same place, 70's New York(CBGB's night club).
As this their début album shows these guys were different from the other bands around at the time, they played more than 3 chords.

I must agree with other reviewers that Rhino do superb re issue's, but in saying that,I personally would have preferred to have the original album on it's own and the bonus tracks on a separate disc.
The sound on this disc is so much better than the original issue that I can forgive this oversight,words can't do justice to tell you how much better the music sounds.
Gone is the thin weedy sound of old and now the album sounds so rich sounding and full of detail.
The opening track "See no evil" is just full of guitars and more guitars, the whole album is like this.
The 10 minutes and 40 seconds that make up Marquee Moon is even more staggering in it's sound and shimmering beauty than before with the improvement in sound that this disc offers the listener.

This re-issue has found the perfect home for the song "Little Jimmy Jewel (parts 1 and 2)" which was a single released before the album, it's great to hear it at the beginning of the bonus tracks.

The alternative versions of "See no Evil","Friction" and "Marquee Moon" are great to hear but add nothing new to the power of the original album,this album remains one of the most influential of it's generation and this re-issue shouldn't be missed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Talk To The Mountain..." - Marquee Moon by TELEVISION (2003 Rhino Expanded CD Remaster), 1 Aug 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marquee Moon (Audio CD)
When you think of the staggering influence America's TELEVISION has exerted over so many budding bands and songwriters - it's strange now in the glaring hindsight of 2014 to know that in the eye of the Punk and New Wave hurricane they were largely a British phenomenon. The New York band's 1977 debut LP barely scraped the lower 200 in the USA album charts but stood proudly at 28 in the UK. Both singles off the album - "Marquee Moon" (March 1977 on K 12251) and "Prove It" (July 1977 on K 12262) charted well in Blighty too (30 and 25). Their 2nd album "Adventure" from 1978 even went to No. 7. But none of it seemed to mean zip in the no-chart action States...

Whatever way chart-history judges them - I stare at this LP's rather dull artwork now and still get a sheer tingle of excitement. I've loved this record for nearly 40 years and it still sounds so ludicrously fresh to me when so many others have gone by the wayside. And dare I use that most clichéd of words - this album and their sound as a band is as influential now as The Clash, The Jam and even The Sex Pistols. So it's cool to see this superb expanded and remastered CD do that legacy proud. Here are the green-coloured vinyl details...

Released October 2003 on Rhino R2 73920 (Barcode 081227392024) in a card digipak with an extra flap - the CD breaks down as follows (77:27 minutes):

Tracks 1 to 8 are their debut album "Marquee Moon" - released February 1977 in the USA on Elektra Records 7E-1098 and K 52046 in the UK.
Tracks 9 to 13 are BONUSES new to CD:
Track 9 is "Little Johnny Jewel (Part 1 & 2)" - the A&B sides of their rare debut 7" single released October 1975 in the USA-only on Ork Records 81975.
Tracks 10, 11 and 12 are Alternate Versions of album tracks "See No Evil", "Friction" and "Marquee Moon"
Track 13 is called "Untitled Instrumental"

The 20-page colour booklet has liner notes by noted New York writer ALAN LICHT (even picturing that Ork Records 45 on Page 18) with snaps of Tom Verlaine, Richard Lloyd, Fred Smith and Billy Ficca and the CBGB's nightclub. The CD repros the Butterfly label of the original Elektra records America LP while the quality-remaster has been carried out by one of my favourite tape engineers GREG CALBI (assisted by Lee Hulko). For more of Calbi's fabulous work see reviews for Supertramp's "Breakfast In America" and Paul Simon's "Graceland". He's also done Bob Dylan (the SACD remasters), John Mayer, Paul McCartney and hundreds more. The audio is fabulous - full of muscle and presence without ever being overdone.

Neither Rock nor Punk - TELEVISION (like Talking Heads) were the very epitome of NEW WAVE and that jagged Yank edge they had seemed exotic to me then and still does. It some respects it's a perfect album - 8 great tracks that all work. It opens with the killer "See No Evil" (lyrics above) emblazoning that Television sound and melody into your heart. "Friction" still has that angry edge while the near eleven-minutes of "Marquee Moon" is stunning. The album finisher "Torn Curtain" has a melodrama that reminds me of Patti Smith's "Easter".

I had thought the extras would be filler - but thankfully they're not. The alternate of "Friction" has more guitar work but it's sloppy and not as tight as the finished article - and you can hear why it was dropped for the more polished version. Fans will know that the title track was put out on 7" and especially 12" single in the UK on Elektra K 12252 with a MONO variant of "Marquee Moon" on the B-side (the STEREO album version is on the A). But it's not on here. Rhino have obviously decided to exclude that in favour of the Previously Unreleased Alternate Version (and a good choice it is too). The "Untitled Instrumental" would have made a great B-side - especially if some lyrics had been drummed up for it. Their next platter "Adventure" was good too but just lacked that edge of greatness the debut had.

So there you have it - what a band and what an album.

"Face to face with a world so alive..." Verlaine sings on "Venus". Get this slice of New Wave Americana in your life pronto...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The other reviewers are WRONG, 18 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Marquee Moon (Audio CD)
This is a SIX STAR album, without a doubt. The line "Broadway looked so mediaeval, it seemed to flap like little pages" in "Venus"... enigmatic, poetic, humorous, disturbing.... I have known and loved this album for 23 years, and even in dreadful middle age (mine!) it still has the power to enchant and entrance. Rock music at the height of its powers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marquee Moon
Marquee Moon by Television
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews