Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best debut ever
Best debut ever? Quite possibly. When this hit, jaws dropped. Literally. It tore up the old order, chewed it up and spat it out. It completely redefined how to to hard rock. The best front man and guitarist ever, combine with a brilliant rhythm section (and secret weapon backing vocals) to blow the pants off every once before and after. Guitar colleges divide the...
Published on 10 May 2010 by Alister King

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY! Not from this source anyway- until Quality is assured
This is the second time I've bought this album in the last few years (probably from the same source as I am short minded) and the second time I've had garbage to listen to: the album sounds like it was made during an armed robbery or a car crash etc- it is a crap recording and definately not the quality i'd like to spend my money on- if amazon will have it back- they...
Published 17 months ago by Mr G Holford


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best debut ever, 10 May 2010
By 
Alister King "Big Al" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Van Halen (Audio CD)
Best debut ever? Quite possibly. When this hit, jaws dropped. Literally. It tore up the old order, chewed it up and spat it out. It completely redefined how to to hard rock. The best front man and guitarist ever, combine with a brilliant rhythm section (and secret weapon backing vocals) to blow the pants off every once before and after. Guitar colleges divide the syllabus between before and after Eddie. Listen to Eurption to find out why. the ultimate guitar bomb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the greatest debut album, 19 Feb 2010
By 
Little Cat Voom (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Van Halen (Audio CD)
I read a brilliant line recently that said who would you want to represent Earth in a massive inter-galactic war? The answer was of course 1970s Van Halen with David Lee Roth! I`ve loved VH since I discovered them in the 80s as a twelve year old boy. If I was off to the proverbial desert island tomorrow and had to pick something by Van Halen...well, it would be between this and "Fair Warning". I suppose this might be the better choice for a life of isolation though - it is brilliant in all the right musical ways but will make you smile too (something "Fair Warning" is less likely to do due to it`s darker mood).

This album really does feel like it was made by a bunch of young guys who have too much energy and talent to be anything other than superstars. Because that`s what it is. The standard of musicianship and originality is so incredible, I just wish I had been buying records at two years of age, instead of wasting 1977-1987 without Van Halen in my life. This remastered version is definitely worth buying - it`s as it should be heard. The guitar-capability-shattering "Eruption" explodes from the speakers with the tone Eddie has spent his life chasing, "Ice Cream Man" seems funnier and Roth even more sleazy, "I`m The One" showcases each band member at their best and their harmonies in the middle are bookended by Roth brilliance and Eddie creating fretboard-singeing speed...I haven`t even mentioned "You Really Got Me" - which now sounds utterly wrong by The Kinks! - and "On Fire", "Little Dreamer" etc. This is solely because I`m trying to keep this review briefish, and once I start thinking about how much this album means to me still, and how different my life would be without having heard VH...I`ll never stop writing. They are still my favourite band, even though nothing new has been released in this millenium (ok, there were three songs on "Best Of Both Worlds" which were frankly embarrassing, and had a real contractual obligation feel). Were they to never release anything new again, they have still given me thousands of hours of entertainment and have recorded my all-time favourite albums. If you`re reading this and haven`t heard it yet, then don`t panic - buy this to experience the full-on power of early Van Halen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your going to have Fun Fun Fun...., 17 Jan 2012
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Van Halen (Audio CD)
Arguably the greatest debut album ever...

Arguably the greatest Heavy Rock album ever...

Unquestionably MY favourite rock album of alltime..

From the moment those horns open the disc to the final strains of 'On Fire' you'll have a permanent smile,this is party music,not too be taken seriously,its to be enjoyed,Van Halen spells F-U-N.

This disc released in '78 set the template for latter day rock,it showed that heavy rock could exist in 2-3 minute sound bites,revel in 'Eruption'.. one of the finest recorded guitar solo's,the stunning power pop of 'Jamie's Cryin or 'Little Dreamer'.

Warm to the sound of a band at its peak,even though its their debut,thrill to the classic rock of 'Aint Talkin 'Bout Love','Atomic Punk' & 'Runnin With The Devil,smile at the audacity to cover the Kinks' 'You Really Got Me' and make it their own while laugh at the humour of 'Ice Cream Man'.

Having said all that it should not be overlooked ,the stunning musicianship found in the band , Eddie Van Halen, a master in his field,his brother Alex,solid and dependable on drums,Michael Anthony,the unsung hero of this band,superb bass player(listen to the bass on 'On Fire') and fantastic backing vocals/harmonies,with David Lee Roth's non vocals compulsive listening and what a front man.

I've listened to this album for 30 years plus,it never fails too cheer me up,the digital remaster has enhanced the sound,its perfect.

ps We should thank Gene Simmons for financing the demo.although i read many moons ago that D L Roth felt Simmons was auditioning the Van Halen brothers to replace Ace and Peter in Kiss,they did play on his demos for the Love Gun album,can you imagine what that band would have sounded like ha ha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh... the days when rock was about having fun..., 17 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Van Halen (Audio CD)
Yes, Van Halen 1 is definitely an album that shows a band who are genuinely having a good time. There's also the small point that it is filled with brilliant songs. Eddie Van Halen's virtuoso guitar playing may seem rather strange to people who grew up after Nirvana killed proficiency in rock guitar, but I dare any sane and sensible person not to get addicted to the catchy riffs and wonderful tone of this guitar god. As for the lyrics, well, David Lee Roth does tend to repeat himself a lot in any given song, but there aren't many singers who could have sung "Aint talkin' 'bout love" like he did, and what he lacks in actual singing proficiency he makes up in attitude. As for the stand out songs, well, "Runnin' with the devil" and "Aint talkin' 'bout love" are superb, "Eruption" is breathtaking (for the uninitiated Eruption is Eddie Van Halen's groundbreaking guitar solo), "Atomic Punk" thunders along with true rock 'n roll attitude, and "Little Dreamer" is a pleasantly compelling song. This album is short, but that's a good thing, because you'll be needing heart surgery by the end of "Eruption", and that's only the second song. Also, it's short length prevents the inclusion of any boring filler tracks. Be warned, if depressed as hell nu-metal is your thing (don't worry, you'll grow out of it), then this album isn't for you. This is a band that is enjoying themselves (it was recorded in 1978), and it's one of the most important rock debuts ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Van Halen: Still good after all these years, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: Van Halen (Audio CD)
I've enjoyed Van Halen since seeing them as support to Black Sabbath at Southampton Gaumont many, many moons ago. I guess that reveals something about how long I've been enjoying Rock music generally. Based upon the longevity of my credentials I would say that this, their first ablum, r(R)emastered, and in digital CD format is every bit as good as ever it was. Kids learning guitar still try to get "Eruption" into their "widdling" list and with good reason - it's still a crowd pleaser. I could say something about each track but I would be wasting your listening time. If you are serious about your Rock, and especially if you like to have all the important music in your collection, I would say it deserves to be included as much for what has followed as a result of their early stuff as for what it is today - great listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Fantastic, 29 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Van Halen (Audio CD)
Having bought this Album on "Plastic" in 1980 and then replaced in 2000 with CD version, I have to say that the remastered version takes me right back to my youth and rubbish attempts at copying EVH!

My 13 year old Godson has just "found" Van Halen and this is his favourite album. Considering it's 32 years old and that a 13 year old Boy classes it as his Fave, its a reflection of just how stunning this work is. In 1978 it was years ahead of its time, nothing else out there could touch it.

As many others have said, just buy it, you must have it and it's a bargain price. Listen to Ice Cream Man and tell me it didn't blow you away ! Same applies for Atomic Punk and I'm on fire....

If you buy it, remember to crank it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not since hendrix, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Van Halen (Audio CD)
Not since Hendrix has the electric guitar been so majestically explored and technique of another worldly type been applied to create a supreme rock album of immence power and effect. The solo Eruption did for the 70's what voodoo chile had done for the 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album. Great on vinyl., 29 July 2009
By 
sotirios basiakos (Thessaloniki, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Van Halen [12" VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is a seminal recording and every rock fan should own it.
Concerning the vinyl issue, I have to say it is a great pressing. Not like may new LPs. It is very silent, with a great lively sound.
This is what Eddie's "brown sound" is supposed to sound like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-mastered sometimes doesn't work this DOES, 22 July 2009
By 
J. Jackson "jj" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Van Halen [12" VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is a very quick review of this Back to Vinyl 180g, in two words "Get This" version as it has simply outstanding sonics across the board trust me it sounds fantastic and I have a very modest system. Single vinyl with insert gatefold single sided info, vinyl very nicely pressed. Top marks all round
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest Van Halen Album, 18 Feb 2004
This review is from: Van Halen (Audio CD)
This is probably my favourite album from Van Halen. Having my dad play it everyday when i was young i suppose helps but this has a huge variety of different songs and having met Eddie Van Halen Recently it's rekindled my liking for it. I would recomend buying this album for it will defiantly make you wanna rock!! go for it!! it' also pretty cheap for quite a rare album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Van Halen (Reissue)
Van Halen (Reissue) by Van Halen
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews