Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic thrash album!
This is an absolutely rocking heavy metal album and possibly a little underrated. It's easily Max Cavalera's best work since leaving Seplultura and in my opinion better than anything they did. (Though I realise that's a controversial statement!) It's beautifully produced (by Max himself) and literally every tune is of the highest quality.

Unlike Soulfly's...
Published on 5 Feb 2007 by T. J. Warne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok but def not sepultura
Huge fan of sepultura pre roots , heard this was quite thrashy and closest can get to old stuff. In general is ok but not really grabbing me. It does have old school thrash elements but not nearly close enough for me. Too many songs in my opinion, maybe do fewer but better songs? Guess Soulfly just not my thing.
Published on 21 Aug 2010 by Raddog


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic thrash album!, 5 Feb 2007
By 
T. J. Warne "Metal obsessive" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Ages (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely rocking heavy metal album and possibly a little underrated. It's easily Max Cavalera's best work since leaving Seplultura and in my opinion better than anything they did. (Though I realise that's a controversial statement!) It's beautifully produced (by Max himself) and literally every tune is of the highest quality.

Unlike Soulfly's previous albums this doesn't get bogged down in endless lounge doodles and ethnic beats. Instead it goes from one crushing riff to another, with some almost dance-music like flourishes such as 'Riotstarter.' Tracks like 'Arise Again' and 'Frontlines' are pure classic brutal thrash.

If you're looking for no-nonsense, straightforward quality heavy metal then I would strongly recommend this. Don't be put off if you don't like previous Soulfly albums, this is much better. There's no rapping and virtually no guest-singers! There's enough variety and brutality to keep you happy for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulfly, 20 Sep 2005
By 
Michael Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very very interesting album. On the first few listens i was a bit blunted due to the fact that as with their previous effort's, its more back to basics and less "experimental". I quite enjoy soulfly for the very fact they dont sound like all the other bands out there. The blend of hard and smoothe with the fast and tribal has allways been what set them and sepultura apart form the crowd.
In my initial ignorance i had no idea just how good this album is, its truly a grower! This is potentially the best Soulfly record yet! its desolate and heavy while retaining a quality that lets you get deeper and deeper with every listen.
As with Tool - this wont please everyone but hardcore Soulfly'ers will not be dissapointed - just listen carefully and you'll be pleasantly surprised as benath the bludgeoning noise; beats the melodic heart of a juggernaut! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Max has gone back to the primitive..., 2 Nov 2005
Max Cavalera has gone back to the primitive (if you’ll pardon the pun) and created an album which is very much inspired by his roots (again, pardon the pun.) This album sees Cavalera going back to his glory days of Sepultura and Nailbomb, writing downtuned bottom string riffs reminiscent to those off his most successful albums. An example of this is track five, ‘Arise Again’. The clue is probably in the title. Obviously inspired by Sepultura’s ‘Arise’ era, thrash riffage, gang vocals and with a hauntingly melodic guitar solo. Another stand out track is ‘I and I’. Yet again a full paced thrash anthem with heavy breakdowns for those mosh pit maniacs. In this track you get a full mix of what Soulfly is about, the heaviness, the trademark Max Cavalera shout and the instrumental. It’s like having bread without butter. On this release however the butter has been scraped on and scraped off. There’s significantly less of it on the Dark Ages’ predecessor, Prophecy. A clever move, I must say. Even myself, the most dedicated of Soulfly fans, finds the instrumental experimentations tedious. There is just one totally instrumental track, which is entitled ‘Soulfly V’. These are almost a tradition now on Soulfly albums, so it is forgiven. On the limited edition album you also get three bonus tracks. Two of which are live versions of ‘Seek ‘n’ Strike’ and ‘Prophecy’.
For the first time in Soulfly’s history, Cavalera has kept the same line up for two albums running. His second clever move. This is probably showing promise, as this is their best album since their self titled debut back in ’98. It shows that if a band are playing together long enough, they can work well together and produces monster records such as this.
Be sure to check them out on tour in January and February of next year for an unmissable live show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cavalera & co return to form, 16 Oct 2005
By 
L. Kelly (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Soulfly have never been my favourite band, quite often seeming more like a vehicle for Max Cavalera to exorcise the Sepultura demons of old as he distanced himself from the band that once catapulted him to stardom.
As a result a number of previous Soulfly tracks have seemed only half-finished. The experimental nature most prevalent on Sepultura's legendary 'Roots' album was taken to the next level, but the metal music underpinning it all was undeniably lacklustre. Max received a lot of criticism for this, fans and critics alike pleading for something more.
With Dark Ages, Soulfly certinly deliver. Adopting an almost stripped down, back to basics approach these songs are faster, harder and more brutal than this band have ever been. The tribal drums and ethnic instrumentation is still present, but this time it takes a back seat to the thunderous metal sounds.
I for one consider this a spectacular return to form, and implore others to give the album a try. Even if Soulfly have never been your 'thing' before this disc may just change all of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a return to form, rather a whole new take, 17 Jan 2006
By 
Many years ago I got Soulfly's first album and it blew me away. I still play it from time to time, and it never fails to impress me. However, as Soulfly released subsequent albums it became clear that they had found their blueprint and were reluctant to shift from it. I rapidly lost interest in the formulaic writing style and tired sentiments.
This album forces me to forgive them for all that. It seems Max is actually angry again, and his band have developed a truly crushing sound. Each track is fresh and new, and the album as a whole is so perfectly structured I can happily sit and listen to it all without growing bored. Riotstarter is by far the most experimental song, and when coupled with tracks like Soulfly V or Arise Again, shows the true breadth of talent in this incarnation of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back To The Primitive, 1 Oct 2005
Max Cavelera has received both criticism and praise for the work he has done with Soulfly. For the old-schoolers, Maxs decision to leave Sepultura ruined a ground breaking band that still had a lot of potential. For the nu-metallers, Soulfly was a band created by one of the Godfathers of the Thrash metal scene, and therefore couldnt be anything but fantastic. This album, their fifth, finally has fallen snugly into the very tight space between keeping the older Sepultura fans mildly happy and yet also 'keeping the faith' with the newer Soulfly fans. It cannot be denied, although I'm sure several people will anyway, that tunes like Babylon give a certain 'tip of the cap' to Chaos AD. There are even a few lyrics, that make you stop and press the rewind button for verification. "Who has won?..." on the anti-war song 'Frontlines'(Beneath The Remains anyone?). With rumours abound of a Sepultura reunion, are we being led back towards the old song writing style? Carved Inside has the fast, yet detailed approach to guitar playing that has been missing from Maxs playing since Arise. Which leads to yet another song title, 'Arise Again'. For Soulfly fans, this a darker album than previous releases but has more substance for thought. For Sepultura fans, should a reunion happen, we know for sure that Max could supply the goods. Arise Again?! Two ton, Max, TWO TON!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars and beyond..., 17 Mar 2006
This album IS for max cavalera fans all round but those who loved him when hes mood was - thrash thrash destroy - rather than kinda experimental nu metal then get this. Sounds like it should had been chaos a.d's follow up, i think it is better than chaos because it is more emotional and thrashy than chaos a.d. The speed at some parts of this album reminds you of sepultura of old, not going as far as beneath the remains, but this is truly max gone back to his thrasher roots. If u like soulfly kool! get this,(tho ive heard of some soulfly fans who think the rather nu metal sounding first album(s) were the best, not liking this thrash masterpiece to much, so beware if you like nu metal better than thrash). If you loved sep but werent too keen on soulfly for the simple fact max's new music wasnt fast enough, thrashier enough or techniqual enough, lacking those shredding solos heard alot by Andreas Kisser in sep, forget what you knew b4, this is a new start and its cruel! vitriolic and bloody sweet too!The (bitter/sweet)mix of this album is chilling.This is for the thrash heads.
I loved Ascendancy but if you thort that was classic thrash reinvented think again... dark ages surrounds us...
\m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars and beyond..., 26 Mar 2006
This review is from: Dark Ages (Audio CD)
This album IS for max cavalera fans all round but those who loved him when hes mood was - thrash thrash destroy - rather than kinda experimental nu metal then get this. Sounds like it should had been chaos a.d's follow up, i think it is better than chaos because it is more emotional and thrashy than chaos a.d. The speed at some parts of this album reminds you of sepultura of old, not going as far as beneath the remains, but this is truly max gone back to his thrasher roots. If u like soulfly kool! get this,(tho ive heard of some soulfly fans who think the rather nu metal sounding first album(s) were the best, not liking this thrash masterpiece to much, so beware if you like nu metal better than thrash). If you loved sep but werent too keen on soulfly for the simple fact max's new music wasnt fast enough, thrashier enough or techniqual enough, lacking those shredding solos heard alot by Andreas Kisser in sep, forget what you knew b4, this is a new start and its cruel! vitriolic and bloody sweet too!The (bitter/sweet)mix of this album is chilling.This is for the thrash heads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Max in fury, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Ages (Audio CD)
After the 5star Prophecy,comes this.
Another 5 star effort of pure thrash mayhem.
Max in top form,feeds our hunger.
5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Soulfly - Dark Ages, 26 July 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark Ages (Audio CD)
Soulfly's fifth studio album Dark Ages caused the public to reassess its negative views on Soulfly when it was released back in 2005, and begin to take the band seriously as an actual band and not just a side project.

The music is harder, faster and darker than previous Soulfly albums had been and sheds much of the bouncy fun riffs in favour of harsh thrash metal pounding and high speeds.

Lyrics on the album and interviews the band gave around the time spoke of the album's connection to Sepultura's Arise album in a (cynical?) attempt to draw in the very fans who'd been dismissing Soulfly all this time.

The album is much more thrash centric, with a few punky sections a few of the bouncy sections of old but with much less of the tribal jam sections that were on other albums for the last minute or so of most songs. It may actually have been a mistake however, as the album is kind of dull and the only variety (such as the dance influenced Riot Starter) is out of place. For all its attempts to draw a thrash audience, it isn't a very successful thrash record and beyond that it is only a good Soulfly record, but uneven with a bit of what seems like filler and some experiments which just don't work.

The album isn't all bad however, highlights include the pounding `Arise Again,' which is good despite its questionable motives and the unusual `Innerspirit,' which mixes the band's previous sound of clean bits and tribal sounds with a very dark style reminiscent of Machine Head's The More Things Change album.

In conclusion; Dark Ages may be a lot of people's favourite Soulfly album historically, or because of the hype around Max's supposed return to thrash, but as with all Soulfly albums the first few songs are brilliant but the album as a whole doesn't fully live up to the standard they set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Ages
Dark Ages by Soulfly
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews