Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LEGENDARY
This album is a classic. Emmylou is perhaps the greatest singer in country music, and she really shows it on this one and of course a countless other albums. Lots of great songs here. This re-issue also contains two previously unreleased songs which are great. The band plays really good and Emmylou and the group stays true to the country music tradition, and yet they...
Published on 28 Mar 2011 by Ronny Søgård

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pieces of the Sky-first impression.
To be fair I have only listened to the album once since it arrived a couple of days ago and EH is a class act in all that she does but I am a huge fan of Quarter Moon in a Ten Cent Town and this comes nowhere near in terms of the strength of the material and the production values.
Published 15 months ago by Gary Drain


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LEGENDARY, 28 Mar 2011
By 
Ronny Søgård (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pieces of the Sky (Audio CD)
This album is a classic. Emmylou is perhaps the greatest singer in country music, and she really shows it on this one and of course a countless other albums. Lots of great songs here. This re-issue also contains two previously unreleased songs which are great. The band plays really good and Emmylou and the group stays true to the country music tradition, and yet they still managed to bring something new and fresh to the genre with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'I stood on the mountain, in the night and I watched it burn ...', 27 Nov 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pieces Of The Sky (Audio CD)
This official debut album from 1975 is an impressively varied and emotionally stirring collection of quality songs that includes compositions by country legends like Merle Haggard, a Lennon/McCartney composition and a powerful Harris co-composition: her aching, poetic tribute to Gram Parsons titled Boulder to Birmingham. This reissue of Pieces of the Sky has been enhanced by the addition of two previously unreleased tracks.

Of the up-tempo numbers, If I Could Only Win Your Love, Bottle Let Me Down and Queen of the Silver Dollar are the most outstanding. Among the slow songs I love Too Far Gone, Sleepless Nights and the exquisite & tender Before Believing. Even her version of Dolly Parton's Coat of Many Colors, though firmly in the country tradition, sounds fresh. But perhaps the best track is Boulder to Birmingham with its striking imagery and melancholy tune. Emmylou's singing is spot-on, tasteful and sometimes understated, the arrangements are appealing while the virtuoso playing perfectly complements her spiritually resonant voice.

This is the recording of a genius just setting out on her creative path, one that would lead to bluegrass masterpieces like Roses in the Snow (1980), classic country albums like Blue Kentucky Girl (1980) & Cowgirl's Prayer (1993), famous collaborations like Western Wall (1999) & Trio and traditional devotional music in a folk vein on Angel Band (1987), as well as boundary shifting atmospheric rock classics such as Wrecking Ball, Red Dirt Girl & Stumble Into Grace. Pieces of the Sky shows that the mastery of songcraft and the authentic soulful approach were there from the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Debut Album, 31 Oct 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pieces of the Sky (Audio CD)
I bought this shortly after it was released and listening to these numbers again almost 40 years after they were recorded almost defies belief at the sheer quality of Emmylou and the vocal purity that is hers and hers alone. The distinctive Emmylou Harris sound is evident on the three original numbers: the ballad 'Before Believing', her self-penned tribute to her friend and mentor Gram Parsons, the beautiful 'Boulder To Birmingham', and the up-tempo Rodney Crowell opener, 'Bluebird Wine'. The covers are no less than superb, especially her interpretation of Lennon and McCartney's 'For No One' that tugs at the heart strings, Dolly Parton's 'Coat of Many Colours' and a rousing version of Shel Silverstein's 'Queen of the Silver Dollar' with Linda Ronstadt on backing vocals. For some reason this was not released as a single; 'Too Far Gone' and 'If Only I Could Win Your Love' were. There are two bonus tracks that are not out of place with the original release of the other numbers in 1975, (Emmylou's first major label recording). This is out and out country music by the doyenne of country music backed superbly by her accompanists. An outstanding, durable and endearing album and singer. A sheer delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The start of a great career, 23 Sep 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pieces Of The Sky (Audio CD)
Yes, there was an Emmylou album before this – the Gliding bird album on an independent label – but good though it was, it is this album that marks the beginning of Emmylou's career as we know it. Setting a pattern that would characterize many of Emmylou's albums, it featured many covers and few originals. Top quality musicians and Emmylou's superb voice ensured that the covers were often as good as, and sometimes better than, the originals.
On this album, there are three new songs, beginning with the rocking, upbeat Bluebird wine, the first of many songs written by Rodney Crowell that Emmylou would record. Even better is Boulder to Birmingham, a great ballad that has been covered by both the Hollies and Joan Baez. Incidentally, the title contains the names of two towns – Boulder in Colorado and Birmingham in Alabama. The other original, another fine ballad, is Before believing.
My favorite track here is Queen of the silver dollar, a song originally recorded by Dr Hook and the Medicine show. I like their version but Emmylou and her musicians improved on it and I don't understand why it wasn't released as a single. It was left to Dave and Sugar to take the song up the country charts. Their version is wonderful but still can't match Emmylou's.
Emmylou does a fine cover of Dolly's Coat of many colors, but this autobiographical song is the most personal of all Dolly's songs. Emmylou's cover is the best I've heard, but still not quite up to the original, although I'm glad she recorded it.
The other covers are all equal to or better than the original versions, and that is hifg praise indeed considering who the original artists were. Too far gone was originally recorded (as far as I can tell) by the late, great Dottie West in the sixties but remained obscure until Barbara Fairchild took it up the country charts. If I could only win your love was the first Louvin brothers song that Emmylou covered but certainly not the last. Bottle let me down was one of Merle Haggard's early classics. Sleepless nights was first recorded by the Everly brothers in the early sixties and was later covered by the Judds in the eighties. For no one is a Beatles song that first appeared on the Revolver album.
This, then, was a very strong debut album from Emmylou. It set the standard for the next few years. The style of the music would vary but the quality was consistently high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Country Albums Ever!, 6 July 2008
This review is from: Pieces of the Sky (Audio CD)
I really love this album. Emmyloyu has a great voice! She is one of the best female singers ever! The songs "Bluebird Wine", "Sleepless Nights", and "Boulder to Birmingham" are so beautiful and good! This is a 70's classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it is just so so good, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pieces of the Sky (Audio CD)
You know how it is, you're looking through your CD collection - what'll I listen to tonight? Well, do yourself a favour play this one. It'll brighten your day and gladden your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pieces of the Sky, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pieces of the Sky (Audio CD)
Great CD, great music. Emmylou's voice is beautiful as always and the backing music is great. This review could be a bit biased as I have been a fan of Emmylou Harris for more years than I care to remember and in my opinion she can do no wrong,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pieces Of The Sky (Expanded & Remastered) (US Release) (MP3 Download)
I have this on vinyl but don't play vinyl any more so was glad to download this one. Enjoyed hearing it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pieces of Sky, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pieces of the Sky (Audio CD)
I had this on cassette some years ago and was anxious to get it on CD. Very good sleeve notes to accompany a quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Emmy Lou at almost her best, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pieces of the Sky (Audio CD)
I bought this as my vinyls are stored away and had to listen again,the vocals are near perfect as ever-the best vocal I have ever heard by her is on vinyl and her version of Together again" on the "Elite Hotel" album but these are close!!!

If you ever want to compile a best "duos" album her and Gram Parsons are a must,she just wraps her voice around Gram"s never perfect pitch-but it works!!!

Once again an album that can be listened to at any time....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews