Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four good ol' boys philosophize on aging
On "Old Dogs", Nashville legends Waylon Jennings, Mel Tillis, Bobby Bare, and Jerry Reed enthusiastically celebrate the phenomenon of growing older. Singing songs that are funny yet sad, proud yet a little regretful, rollicking yet world-weary, these four good ol' boys gamely personify the lines:
"Now I'm an old man tryin' to do a young man's job. Bouncin' round the...
Published on 6 Jan 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars old dogs no new tricks
all the artists on this cd have made better records individually.recording them together has been a waste of time and talent.its not bad ,just not great
Published 16 months ago by anthony willis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four good ol' boys philosophize on aging, 6 Jan 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Old Dogs (Audio CD)
On "Old Dogs", Nashville legends Waylon Jennings, Mel Tillis, Bobby Bare, and Jerry Reed enthusiastically celebrate the phenomenon of growing older. Singing songs that are funny yet sad, proud yet a little regretful, rollicking yet world-weary, these four good ol' boys gamely personify the lines:
"Now I'm an old man tryin' to do a young man's job. Bouncin' round the room goin sha boom sha boom, hopin my heart don't stop. I'm too old for all this rock and roll, but I'm too damn vain to stop. I'm just an old man tryin' to do a young man's job."
All eleven tracks express a bittersweet understanding of life not yet within the comprehension of country music's young bucks. Just listening to the marvelous lyrics composed by Shel Silverstein, you understand that these great performers - or at least the songwriter - have led full lives, and you, the listener, are being roundly entertained by the collective experience. Perhaps you have to be older and wiser yourself to appreciate the last sad track, "Time".
Figuratively speaking, I tip my Stetson to these four pros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and hillarious fun, 20 Aug 2001
This review is from: Old Dogs (Audio CD)
Waylon and Bare have worked together on and off since the early 60's, so they already have a great chemistry. Tillis and Jerry Reed are two more real funny guys - see JR in the Bandit films and others. And when you put Shel Silverstein in there too, its guarranteed to be a hoot. And it is. I've rarely heard a funnier album than this and it's great music too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Excellent as many superlatives as I can fit in this s, 28 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Old Dogs (Audio CD)
Being an old country hag this CD is everything I expected it to be and more. I have listened to the artists for many years and I am never dissapointed. A must for true country fans.
This is a fitting tribute to the late, and great, Shel Silverstein.
Rita McShane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smile, 29 Aug 2013
This review is from: Old Dogs (Audio CD)
One of the funniest records on Amazon. For sure!
One small down side, not all songs these guys did are on the album. Check out youtube for other songs from the same concert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Dogs - Great Tricks, 16 April 2010
By 
W. Veniard "Old Country Fan" (Amble-By-The-Sea, Northumberland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Old Dogs (Audio CD)
This is quite simply the best country CD I've heard in years

I mean, how often do you love every track of an album the first time you play it?

This is a stylish, funny and occasionally moving evocation of the joys of getting older
- performed by four guys who have simply learned how to present a song

Wish I'd been in the audience (or that there was a DVD of the show)

Recommended if you're over forty - or any age if you have good taste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music and Great Fun, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Dogs (Audio CD)
Album of songs all themed on getting old and life experience in general. Wry humour, great vocals. Enjoyed it greatly. Waylon's vocals and guitar shine through it all, and Jerry Reeds vocals are also unmistakeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars old dogs no new tricks, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Dogs (Audio CD)
all the artists on this cd have made better records individually.recording them together has been a waste of time and talent.its not bad ,just not great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Country music, 5 Feb 2011
By 
P. Burbidge (Cotswolds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Old Dogs (Audio CD)
I bought this because of the artist line-up, all old favourites, both meanings of old - aged, and artists of long standing. If you're ageing yourself, this is a good CD because it highlights the problems of ageing, in a musical and sympathetic way. If you're young it gives an idea of what you can look forward to,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album, 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Dogs (Audio CD)
I love this album! I am a great Country music fan and this is so wonderful to listen to! It would lift your spirit to buy this one and listen to it! It was such a great idea which all the guys had one day and what a successful album! And I plan to buy other ones they have recorded!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Dogs (MP3 Download)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Old Dogs
Old Dogs by Old Dogs
Buy MP3 Album£7.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews