Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2007
Personally I found plenty to keep me listening, and especially enjoyed Regina spektor and Ben harper, but also - surprisingly - A-Ha. Its a grower... I think the U2, REM and Aguilera tracks are probably in there for the publicity they generate or something, but its the non-stadium type artists that really make this compilation.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2007
I think people are forgetting the fact that it is for charity, It is a good way to make money. Amnesty International is a great organisation and I think this album needs to be bought purley on that fact alone.
John lennon was a peace protester so it is logical to cover his songs. Don't get so uptight, I am a big lennon fan aswell. I am sure he is up there in the clouds proud.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2007
I can see why John Lennon purists may balk violently at his work being covered by such wide variety of current artists: inevitably, there will be the odd unconventional interpretation. For the non-I-code-in-notepad individuals out there, however, this is a decent disk with several wonderful renditions of some all time classic tracks. And it's for a good cause. Nice one.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2010
Here is a very great easy way to raise money in support of aid for Darfur in Africa. This album of John Lennon cover songs was put together a year or two ago, and features many interesting, great, rockin and surprising choices of bands and artists who do their own thing with some classic inspirational tunes by one of the most popular, well know song writers in the world ever. Give peace a chance. Especially good are the tunes from Green Day, Lenny Kravitz, U2,Regina Spektor. Check this out and help Amnesty International.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
Amnesty International was founded in the 80s and its a long and winding road with so many of the World's most dangerous regions wide open for abuse and living in poverty.In the Sudanese parched region of Darfur there's not enough water.Women have to travel up to 10 miles a day to scoop out filthy water from a makeshift well thus risking not only being poisoned but atacked by the militia sent out by the Government.(which is another story as the Government are after their farms)Their husbands work as laborers on the Solar powered constructions which are supposed to provide the much needed water for less than 2 dollars a day while the Government in Khartoum live high on the hog.
Amnesty International didn't exist while Lennon was alive but he would have been doing benefits if it had
Using his songs for a charity record begs the question-is this going to be the same as Bangla Desh where any moneys made goes into the pockets of the administrators?
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2008
I had high expectations upon buying this album - looking at the talented bunch of artists who had provided the covers I was expecting a diverse array of interpretations of some great songs.

However my expectations weren't totally fulfilled - a few of the songs are disappointingly rushed through, seemingly without emotion and without individual interpretation. For me these included U2's Instant Karma and Avril Lavigne's Imagine most prominently.

Despite this there are some great recordings: Regina Spektor's Real Love, God by Jack's Mannequin, REM's #9 Dream and Corinne Bailey Rae's I'm Losing You are really beautiful, among others. Add in the fact that it's for a good cause, I'd definitely recommend purchasing this album, though it might disappoint certain quarters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
This album is as troubled as the people who inspired it, whether they be John Lennon - whose songs are at its heart - or the desperate folk of Darfur. There are surely highs, like Jack Johnson's beautiful version of 'Imagine'. But the lows are lower, e.g. Avril Lavigne's ritual torture of the same song. And there's another thing: we keep hearing the same song. Surely, given the length and breadth of the Lennon portfolio, we didn't need repeats? If you want to support AI's campaign (which you should), then this is worth buying. But if it's a worthwhile addition to your Lennon collection, then look elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2009
The concept of this album was a good idea. As were most of the artists and chosen tracks, in my opinion. Some tracks are repeated (and some good tracks are missing!) but luckily with enough time in between so to sound new again. Like alot of tribute or charity records some track/artists work and others just don't. Better than elevator muzik but best used as background music for dinner parties as there enoough songs to become conversation pieces.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Liked the idea of this CD as my husband and I are both major John Lennon fans. Some songs are done better than others but particularly enjoyed "Working Class Hero".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
Outstanding!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)