Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, why isn't this in the top 10
What words can you use to describe an amazing record like this?
How can it be compared to its peers (Coldplay, Radiohead, Pixies) and sill be resting at a lowly 1000 and something on the amazon.co.uk sales chart. And why, for that matter, has amazon not written a rave review of this record? Why is it that an album of such greatness will still go under the listeners...
Published on 3 Mar 2005 by philcone

versus
10 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars revelate this
an immense letdown. i first heard of this Irish band when i heard of their legendary sessions with the great obscure band OTT. Unfortunately this album does not have that same authentic raw groove that ott's album has There are some risible moments especially the album standout "Fake" which gives the sensation of Glen whispering harshly into the ear. It is the one song in...
Published on 7 Mar 2005 by Gaz Lowrab


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, why isn't this in the top 10, 3 Mar 2005
This review is from: Burn The Maps (Audio CD)
What words can you use to describe an amazing record like this?
How can it be compared to its peers (Coldplay, Radiohead, Pixies) and sill be resting at a lowly 1000 and something on the amazon.co.uk sales chart. And why, for that matter, has amazon not written a rave review of this record? Why is it that an album of such greatness will still go under the listeners radar becuase the feeble british music media daren't pick up on it because it doesnt sound like an 80's rip off band or a limited to three chords american sh*te punk/blues/rock band. Do you're ears a favour and fork out a tenner for this record, you will be so happy for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracker!, 4 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Burn The Maps (Audio CD)
I must admit, I'm biased. I've loved this band for over ten years now and thought the days of seeing them blow everyone away in Whelan's of Dublin were long gone. But no, they're on tour again, promoting this gem of an album. These guys can play, write clever witty lyrics and craft tunes that worm their way into your brain and have you humming like a manic bumblebee for weeks. They manage to mix rockin' pop with dark murderous rants. The album is great, but Glen's voice has to be heard live to be fully appreciated, so if you have the chance at all, get out there and see them. And buy the album, it's bleedin' rapi', roi'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its that good, 6 April 2005
This review is from: Burn The Maps (Audio CD)
This is the first album i bought from the frames but it wont be the last. It combines the tender, emotional kind of songs found on singer/songwriter albums, with the more commercial poppy feel to more well known bands. It has this reflective feel to it, i dont think its the lyrics, i havent paid much attention to them, but its the tender vioce and whispy violin that makes you think about things. Though not the best track on the album, "keepsake" is the perfect example. There isnt really a track that should be skipped as they all add to the atmosphere and mood of the album. Rarely do BANDS pull so many emotional strings, there are points that soar "fake" and there are points that scream beuty "locusts" and there are points that hit an emotional bottom "suffer in silence". It really is a very draining but thrilling expericance. The most commercial and easily accessible song is "fake" but i think " finally" is the best, a soaring chorus and fantastic dynmaics. Great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album!, 21 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Burn The Maps (Audio CD)
No longer an Irish secret, one of the best bands on the planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intensely beautiful, 12 Feb 2005
By 
Londonist (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Burn The Maps (Audio CD)
Dreamy, deep, intimate, evocative, meditative, intensely beautiful. Everyone who loves acoustic or folk music should take the time to listen to this album - it deserves massive success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is amazing!!!!, 25 Feb 2005
This review is from: Burn The Maps (Audio CD)
I am not usually one to write many reviews on here but feel dutybound to shout from the rooftops about how good this album is. I consider myself to have a huge knowledge of music of all types and but had only vaguely heard the name of this band, and have not seen any reviews for this. I saw this CD on a listening post in a record shop and out of curiosity due to the record label they are on listened to it. Its amazing, how I have not seen a whole batch of reviews lauding these guys as stars I do not know. I cannot really think of any comparisons but the best I could come up with was Coldplay but with tinges of sound experimentation "a la" Radiohead. Knowing how much the press love those two it makes you wonder that no-one much has picked up on this. It is however not the best comparison to be honest but best I can do for a band who have truly made an original sound of their own.
Its the kind of album you will listen to over and over again hearing new sounds and effects and will never get bored of cos so much is going on. Please buy it and line the pockets of a band that deserve your cash, then hopefully they will make another album of this quality.
Cheers for reding my gushing praise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real progression..., 24 Dec 2004
This review is from: Burn The Maps (Audio CD)
The Frames are one of Ireland's finest bands. Their previous release, For The Birds, was laid-back, folksy, moving and one of my favourite albums. On Burn The Maps, they show real progression, mixing the melodical sounds of For The Birds with distorted guitars (Fake, Finally), at times amazing drum work (Dream Awake) from fomer Therapy? drummer Graeme Hopkins, and some fabulous violin music (Happy, Keepsake).
The album opens with Happy, a solid song which, in true Frames style, reaches its peak at the very end. Finally is a bouncy rock song, and Dream Awake is a two-part masterpiece, starting off slow and pensieve, before bursting into a fantastic crescendo of soaring violin and stuttered drum beats. The next two trcks are less energetic. A Caution to the Birds is slow and mournful, but at the same time very beautiful, while Trying is a disappointing little ditty, which would have best been left off the album.
Then comes their first real pop song, Fake, catchy and loud, and quite quite good. Sideways Down is another pop song, though not quite as accessible. Undergalss is another rocker,a more grown-up Pavement Tune. Ship Caught In the Bay is another weak track, as Glen Hansard whispers his lyrics over some bizarre percussion. The highlight of the album is Keepsake, a tight, quiet song at first, which bursts into a huge release of distorted guitar and low pitched growling about insects. Colm mac con Iomaire compliments this wonderfully with possibly his best piece of work yet, his violin switching between two wonderful melodies. This track is played with the same intensity and energy as a live performance. The record then calms and slows down, with the Coldplay-esque Suffer In Silence, and the beautiful Locusts.
All in all, when this is released internationally in February, it might just be the album that finally puts The Frames on the map outside of Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars revelate this, 7 Mar 2005
This review is from: Burn The Maps (Audio CD)
an immense letdown. i first heard of this Irish band when i heard of their legendary sessions with the great obscure band OTT. Unfortunately this album does not have that same authentic raw groove that ott's album has There are some risible moments especially the album standout "Fake" which gives the sensation of Glen whispering harshly into the ear. It is the one song in which could have been written in the framses OTT days. They are undoubtably a very interesting band with a small future ahead them. Aiming this album at the teenybopper market does them no favours at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Non delivery, 21 July 2009
This review is from: Burn The Maps (Audio CD)
I am being asked by Amazon to review an item that was not delivered! Amazon sent the CD and were asked to replace when it failed to arrive. I was told to wait a further week before they would issue a replacement. A week passed, then they told me they were out of stock and could not send!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Burn The Maps
Burn The Maps by The Frames
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews