Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Todd-AO, 16 Sep 2003
This review is from: Todd (Audio CD)
Todd is the quintessential Todd Rundgren - a mixture of sublime timeless ballads ("A Dream goes on Forever", electronic wizardry ("In and out of the Chakras"), heavy rock ("Heavy Metal Kids"),

Actually it has some of my favourite Todd songs of all time:
- "The Last Ride" is quite sombre but set against a beautiful wall of sound, and makes you realise that there is always someone worse off than yourself
- "Don't you ever learn" basically reminds me of a relationship I had at the time. Bittersweet memories for me, but a great ballad for you.

Finally, I can still sing along with 20,000 people in Central Park on "Sons of 1984", still uplifting over 30 years later.

Go on, buy it, you won't regret it.

PS If you know what Todd-AO is, then you are a very old film buff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artist Sublime, 3 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Todd (Audio CD)
Bought this 30 odd years ago and it still gives me a buzz.This was one of several great albums released in 1974. The others being War Babies,Sheet Music,Secret Treaties,Pretzel Logic and Kimono My House. From the breathtakingly beautiful Dreams Goes on Forever through the surreal No 1 Common Denominator and ending with the wonderful Sons of 1984 this album is a testament to the most creative complete musician that ever breathed. Personally I think the period 1972 to 1978 was Rundgren at his creative peak. The great thing about Rundgren is that you cannot pigeon hole his style. Such was the diversity of his music. Todd shows him perhaps in his more experimental mood and is perhaps a more demanding listen than his previous offerings but equally as satisfying.

TR is not just a jack of all trades musically but the master of all of them. Buy this along with Something /Anything,A Wizard a True Star and you will rewarded with some of the most inspired music ever made. Faithful and Hermit in Mink Hollow are also worthy offerings

To TR's cult following - I salute you in recognising a true star and proving you are a discerning music lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ..."our dreams are magic", 4 July 2001
By 
phil thornalley (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Todd (Audio CD)
with his two previous albums todd had done 'pop'("something/anything") and psychedelic brainstorm ("a wizard, a true star"). for me the 'todd' album beats those as he achieves a mixture of both styles but with a depth that showed what they call 'artistic maturity.'
i heard the album in 1975 (yikes!) and was immediately struck by it's beauty.
lucious melodies ("useless begging"), pop gems ("a dream goes on forever"), various acid noodles ("drunken blue rooster") and gonzoid rock ("#1 lowest common denominator") make for a demanding but transcendental visit into the mind of todd in '74.
it certainly has little of the 'easy 'side of todd(ie.'i saw the light') that is understandably more popular but stick with the darn thing.....this dream is ...magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Todd's bullseye!, 1 July 2009
By 
D. J. Buckler (Nuneaton, Warks.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Todd (Audio CD)
What an album! For me, Todd Rundgren at his best. A strange and exciting mix of style and sound, true eclecticism, and extremely listenable because of it. I hear an almost alternate universe version of The Beatles White Album, without meaning to take anything away from what is a truely original plastic platter. And with the Lord Chancellor's Nightmare as well, breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 Aug 2013
By 
E. Lister "EWL" (Blairgowrie) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Todd (Audio CD)
This is classic Todd at his best. The guy is a musical genius. Their are certain tracks that just have to be listened to via headphones in order to appreciate the stereo effects, esp. the Useless Begging/Sidewalk Café/Izzat Love medley which is just superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an old friend, its nice to have back, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Todd (Audio CD)
i have brought this album in vinal when i was 12
then in cassett
I thoght i'd lost Tod for ever,as he is not exactly main streem
then when i saw these CD's I flipped, so nice to have him back
the album is brilliant. if you have never listned to Tod beafore give this a go,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't Todd Rundgren!, 1 April 2012
This review is from: Todd (Audio CD)
I've loved this album from the day I first heard it. I was lent an LP back in the 70's and right from the get-go just loved the wacky world of Todd.
Right now just listening to this LP as I write, Desert Island Discs can stuff the other music choices.
This and a Kick-ass sound system will do! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Todd (MP3 Download)
Great memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Todd
Todd by Todd Rundgren
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews