Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something Different for Sure
I have been a huge fan of LP from the start and as with their second album its hard to follow on from Hybrid Theory. Minutes to Midnight isn't as heavy as I would like but I am pleased that theres new 'styles'. Lets face it, they are still going to rock in concert with old tunes that we know & love. 'Given Up' rocks and 'What I've Done' is another great tune. After...
Published on 15 May 2007 by Mr. M. D. Golding

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something different indeed
Being a massive Linkin Park fan myself, I was literally horrified when they announced that that Minutes to Midnight was the band's move to explore the world of classic rock and hip hop. It was no surprise, then, that when the album came out, you could quite distinctly see the difference to a Linkin Park of 4 years ago.

However, this album isn't quite what you'd...
Published on 11 May 2007 by Mr. J. M. Palan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something Different for Sure, 15 May 2007
By 
Mr. M. D. Golding "Rockafella" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Minutes to Midnight (Audio CD)
I have been a huge fan of LP from the start and as with their second album its hard to follow on from Hybrid Theory. Minutes to Midnight isn't as heavy as I would like but I am pleased that theres new 'styles'. Lets face it, they are still going to rock in concert with old tunes that we know & love. 'Given Up' rocks and 'What I've Done' is another great tune. After listening a few more times, some of the material becomes more likeable. I had wished there to be a couple more heavy, signature tunes as this would have made an album with more range of style and feel more 'complete'. Good to know their back though!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different but still awesome, 31 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Minutes to Midnight (Audio CD)
I must say first that this album contains a lot of different material from Linkin Park than meteora or any of their previous albums. Nethertheless the band has evolved and the music, although different styles, is still as catchy and appealing as it always has been.

The album contains a mixture of slower paced songs -'Shadow of the day', a couple of traditional LP songs - 'What I've Done', an instrumental - 'Wake Up', and a lyrical masterpiece that is 'Hands held high'.
'Bleed It Out' draws in a completely new audience also, but manages to have the power to stay in your head all day long.

Overall the album is brilliant, the songs at the end of the album are less memorable but the power and uniqueness of the album make up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diverse, different, but still Linkin Park, 15 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Minutes to Midnight (Audio CD)
This album is certainly something different from LP. They seem to be moving away from the nu-metal sound that they're famous for and try something different. And this album is certainly that. It's extremely diverse and exciting, and thus should appeal to most people.

Of course, some fans may be disappointed by the new direction the band is taking, but they should listen to these tracks. The familiar sound of LP is still there, just with new ideas and instruments over the top of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars linkin park, what's happened.....?, 7 May 2007
By 
M. James "welshy" (Wales, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Minutes to Midnight (Audio CD)
Being a fan I got a chance to review the album, and It was instantly noticable that their are a little quieter than usual, more chart rock with a lot more vocal, but I've always thought that Chester (singer) has a good voice that he doesn't get the chance to really show it off (with all the shouting).

After a few listenings to the album I really think that it is great, the wife don't mind listening to linkin park anymore !!

so my verdict is......I Definitely see them going to number one with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a chance, 13 May 2007
By 
G. A. Walsh "LP Fan" (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Minutes to Midnight (Audio CD)
After reading the reviews below i was quite frankly shocked. Yes, LP have changed their style dramatically however this album contains some quality tracks such as What i've done, Valentine's Day, Leave Out All The Rest and The Little Things That Give You Away. There are other average tracks like In Between, Bleed it out and Given up but songs like Shadow of the day are disappointing for LP's standard.

I think they've did well in adapting in their new style of music. I feel in the next album that they will mix Nu-metal with their new style. I think with this album they'll acquire more fans because of the diverse range of songs and this is why i think this is why they've changed their style.

This album is totally different from Meteora and Hybrid Theorpy but it's still produces some quality tracks in its own way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something different indeed, 11 May 2007
By 
Mr. J. M. Palan (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Minutes to Midnight (Audio CD)
Being a massive Linkin Park fan myself, I was literally horrified when they announced that that Minutes to Midnight was the band's move to explore the world of classic rock and hip hop. It was no surprise, then, that when the album came out, you could quite distinctly see the difference to a Linkin Park of 4 years ago.

However, this album isn't quite what you'd expect. It is true that thay've tried to explore different genres and divulge from their nu-metal image, and they've done it quite tastefully though. It just doesn't sound like the Linkin Park that made songs like Papercut and Lying from You.

The album opens with an eerie instrumental which never really takes off...sort of an underlying them for the whole album in all honesty. The second song, Given Up, shows a lot of promise, but that's abuout it. Nothing special there at all for die-hard LP fans. Almsot all the resy of the songs sound like those off a Fort Minor album: clearly Shinoda has influenced this album a lot, and it's not so bad in places, but songs like Hands Held High and Valentine's Day really don't, unlike Hybrid Theory and Meteora scream Linkin Park (literally).

I was surprised by some songs on the album, namely In Between and No More Sorrow. No More Sorrow sounds like a normal Linkin Park song, again not quite teh quality of earlier albums, but a refreshing change from the dreary and slightly boring tone of the album as a whole. As for In Between, it's not normally my cup of tea. But Shinoda's Fort Minor were brilliant in their own way, and he's brought this touch of class back to band he made his name with.

One thing's for sure: they haven't become another faceless American boyband. The music isn't electricfying, and I'm sure a lot of people will be disappointed: I know I am. But they've had a stab at something different, and it's not half bad. All in all, not a bad album. Pity it was Linkin Park who made it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Right to change, 15 May 2007
This review is from: Minutes to Midnight (Audio CD)
So what if they changed. They have the right to change their style. First ppl complain that everything sounds the same and then they complain that it doesn't sound the same. It's called variety and LP has variety. For what it is, this album is good. They poored a lot into this album and should be shown some respect for it. If you're going to be a true LP fan, then understand what they did with this album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its different but still good, 7 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Minutes to Midnight (Audio CD)
i have been a mad linkin park fan and have all there albums from hybrid theory, reanimation, to meteora, live in texas and the jay-z stuff. it has been a long time for linkin park to release some new material and the album minutes to midnight shows a big progression from meteora. however it still has some great "classic" linkin park tunes which i am very exited about. "Givin up" sounds quite heavy and sounds a bit like slipnot with a large riff throughout. my other favourites are "no more sorrow" and "bleed it out" which they performed at the astoria last week which went down really well. i would have loved them to have 12 tracks like this one but unfortunatly it is filled with quite a few quiter songs which is a new sound for linkin park.

overall this album is quite a large step away from meteora but still has the songs to keep you listening to it repeatedly on your ipod. its not what i was expecting to be honest but i would definately reccommend it to anyone on the basis that it is a great record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised, 20 May 2007
By 
Sam Gallagher "Musical Maniac" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Minutes to Midnight (Audio CD)
Yeah i have to say, i really like this! I wasn't sure i would, but i do rather like the more melodic path they seem to have gone down. To me, particularly good tracks are Wake, Shadow of The Day, and What I've Done. It's definitely worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't please everyone, 15 May 2007
This review is from: Minutes to Midnight (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of LP since the first album, and I'm surprised with the back-lash this album seems to be receiving.

All bands should be allowed to progress for better or worse. Sure they could keep lazily banging off tracks similar to their first album, but they should be allowed to explore all of their musical influences, and to use the music to express their thoughts.

I've only listened to this through once, and it seems to be a great album. It probably could have done with one more nu-metaly track towards the end of the album, but overall it is a good mix of styles.

The thing I always liked about LP was their ability to mix styles, and they have explored that further with this album. I look forward to listening to this again, and to any further material that they release in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews