Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Stills at his creative and brilliant best!
Stephen Stills at his creative and brilliant best surrounded by a selection of stellar musicians also at their peak including Jimi Hendrix and Eric Clapton. Whilst enjoying superstar status with Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, Stephen Stills was always essentially a bluesman. This becomes apparent with his gospel rendition of 'Church (Part of Someone', his blues jams with...
Published on 20 April 2002 by john_stracey@bluesconnections.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not bad not great
Published 3 months ago by Sam E


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Stills at his creative and brilliant best!, 20 April 2002
This review is from: Stephen Stills (Audio CD)
Stephen Stills at his creative and brilliant best surrounded by a selection of stellar musicians also at their peak including Jimi Hendrix and Eric Clapton. Whilst enjoying superstar status with Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, Stephen Stills was always essentially a bluesman. This becomes apparent with his gospel rendition of 'Church (Part of Someone', his blues jams with Hendrix and Clapton on 'Old Times Good Times' and 'Go Back Home' respectively and the acoustic classic 'Black Queen'. The fusion of music that resulted from these sessions remains a testament to the music of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic work by a underrated artist!, 29 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Stephen Stills (Audio CD)
Follwing his magnificent work on the original Crosby, Stills & Nash debut album, Stphen Stills presented his astonishing debut solo work in 1970. The 10 tracks showcased his flawless singing style, together with the trade-mark CSN harmonies, as well as solid organ and accomplished guitar work. Although the album features many guest stars such as Jimi Hendrix (on the electrifying 'Old Times, Good Times'), Eric Clapton (the stomping guitar solo on 'Go Back Home'), Ringo Starr and of course David Crosby & Graham Nash, Stills never lets them dominate this album, and that is in evidence with the haunting guitar masterpiece 'Black Queen', the gospel style 'Church (Part Of Someone', and the classic hit single 'Love The One You're With'. An album of this quality deserves to be bought at this price - the work of a genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stills at his dynamic best, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
Scott Ferguson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stephen Stills (Audio CD)
Stephen Stills' first solo album from 1970 is in my opinion one of the classic albums of all time. At a time when his musical creativity had reached the heights with the self titled Crosby, Stills and Nash album and the CSNY classic 'Deja Vu', Stills continued to produce wonderful music. The album starts with probably his best known solo song (and radio friendly hit) 'Love the One You're With' and gets better from there. There are no weak songs on this album but highlights are the collaboration with Eric Clapton on 'Go Back Home' which includes a storming EC guitar solo and the acoustic blues song, 'Black Queen' which sees Stills doing what he does best and confirms his standing as one of the great guitarists of our time. 'Old Times Good Times' with Jimi Hendrix hopefully gives us just a taste of a possible future release of more songs that these two great guitarists produced. All in all a must have album from a musician and songwriter who is for too underated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Times, Good Times, 2 Aug. 2002
By 
Mr P "radletteer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Stephen Stills (Audio CD)
From 1970 this offering from Stephen Stills is a classic. I am not a fan of Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young at all. But this is different. And what an array of guest musicians. Backing vocals from John Sebastian, David Crosby, Graham Nash, Rita Coolidge and Mama Cass. Hendrix plays on one track and Clapton on another. Booker T Jones is there too.
It kicks off with the well-known Love The One Your'e With then the georgeous Do For Others with Stills on his own.
All the tracks are first rate but Go Back Home with a tremendous solo at the end by Eric is probably the highpoint. Could have jettisoned the strings on To A Flame as far as I am concerned though. Gets a tad schmaltzy. Thats soon corrected with the next track a live performance of Black Queen with Stills on his own with guitar and voice. Its an emotional tour de force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic blues rock, 12 July 2010
This review is from: Stephen Stills (Audio CD)
One of the best if not the best album released from the CSNY stable. It's worth buying just for the acoustic guitar on Black Queen alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Sounds Amazing, 23 April 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Stills (Audio CD)
With guest artists such as Eric Clapton and Jimi Hendrix you would expect something rather special, but this album exceeds all expectations. Of the CSNY family group or solo albums - this is the best.
"Love The One You're With" is Stephens Stills best-known song, but this album has so much more to offer. My personal favourite is "Old Times, Good Times", but every track is outstanding.
There are very few albums which I would say - buy this whatever your taste in music (others include St Dominics Preview and Aladdin Sane), but this album is a joy to listen to and I cannot recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better then ever!, 24 Sept. 2011
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stephen Stills (Audio CD)
When people talk about classic 70's rock this is the sort of thing they are talking about. Great song writing and performance allied with genuine inspiration and a willingness to experiment with genres and arrangement. There is no real need to analyze 'Stills' in much detail, the other reviewers on this page have done that more than adequately. However, it would be worth saying though, that the remastering of the album is first rate. The album suggests to me that Stephen Stills rather then Neil Young was the true source of the sometime brilliance of CSNY. His all-round musical vision and versatility is truly stunning. What's more he gets to pull out of Eric Clapton some great playing on the slow-burning 'Go Back Home', one of the albums definite standout tracks. All in all, a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Steve after all these years . . ., 21 Nov. 2012
By 
R. Grant (Coimbra, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Stills (Audio CD)
My younger brother Jimmy had this album maybe 30 years ago and used to play it a lot. We learned some of the songs, too, to play and sing as a duo. That was fun. Buying the album in 2012 and listening to it again now I'm amazed at how well it has stood the test of time. Wow, he had Jimi Hendrix (not long for this world) solo superbly on "Old Times Good Times" and Eric Clapton (one of rock's great survivors) equally on form on "Go back home". Maybe what gets to you the most is how good Stephen Stills (at the age of just 24 or 25) is, playing bass, guitar, organ (great!) and just about everything. The solo acoustic workout on "Black Queen" is to die for. And isn't the cover photo lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too long a wait, 29 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Stills (Audio CD)
This is one of these albums that took me a long time to order. I recently was reviewing the Rolling Stone top 500 albums and I was marking those that I was missing in my collection to select the one's that I wanted. Somehow, this one had been eluding me for a while. It is not widely distributed in stores.
This is Stephen Stills at the top of his craft and with friends like Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, and Booker T helping out, I kept on asking myself what had taken more than 35 years to buy this one.
Highly recommended with a near timeless sound, a rare feat for an album that is not very acoustic in nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this, 19 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Stephen Stills (Audio CD)
This is one of my all time favourite albums. I bought it when it was released all those years ago and although I still have it and play it often I thought it was time I got it on CD. Have really enjoyed listening to it in the car.Its great. Now thinking of doing the same with Neil young!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stephen Stills (US Release)
Stephen Stills (US Release) by Stephen Stills
Buy MP3 Album£5.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews