Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Story Continues...
When I learnt that John Williams would not be scoring the fourth instalment of the Harry Potter franchise, I was excited to see what a new composer would do with this amazing opportunity. Patrick Doyle, a Scottish composer, whose most famous scores include "The Little Princess" (for which he would an award) and "Calendar Girls", although he is no newcomer to scoring...
Published on 17 Nov 2005 by Ben Tavener

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good work from Doyle, but let down by the last three tracks
Overall very well crafted music, with particular highlights in 'Hogwarts March,' 'Voldemort' and 'Hogwarts Hymn.' However, what I found extremely dissappointing was the last three tracks. Whilst fans of these featured artists may enjoy them, I certainly did NOT appreciate enjoying the beautiful Hogwarts Hymn then having this track followed by a screaming madman who...
Published on 13 July 2011 by Anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a HP fan then this is a must.
Great music from a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Five stars for both music and seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Williams....No Good!, 16 Nov 2005
By 
T. Dasgupta "tuhin1" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm sure this soundtrack will go with the visuals of the movie however as a standalone album it cannot compare with the genius of John Williams. Some good themes are here but as an overall soundtrack it is disappointing. Not sure about the songs, however Magic Works isn't bad. This soundtrack is ok but is the worst so far in the Harry Potter series. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ...not the best Harry Potter soundtrack, 30 Oct 2005
By 
John Vevers (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was apprehensive to learn that John Williams was not returning to "Goblet of Fire" as composer, instead it went to Academy award nominee Patrick Doyle. Unfortunately, this soundtrack just doesn't do the best it could've done. There is no real thematic material, and Williams' Harry Potter themes are seldom used. The music is dark and brooding, which will no doubt play well with the scenes on the screen but as a stand alone listening cd it is often hard to know one section of the film from the next - as it all sounds the same. The song's composed by Jarvis Cocker from Pulp will no doubt please some fans, but for me they were terrible. Once again, just noise and no theme. With the exceptions of the wondefully flowing "Harry Potters Love" and the scary, moody "Voldemort" this soundtrack is not the best in the series and I would strongly recommend any of John Williams' Harry Potter soundtracks over this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Hail Patrick Doyle!!!!!, 22 Dec 2005
Hi all!! Well what a breath of fresh air this was , firstly i have to say i did not like the new potter soundtrack but now i think it is by far the best one ,its much more varied than williams previous. Look out for tracks like the golden egg and harry in winter-Absolutely Awesome tracks!! and the one by cocker - Magic Works! -really does work, love the movie and a great score!!! thumbs up to the scottish composer!!!
Amazon Rules!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning sound track, 28 Nov 2010
By 
Mrs. Tl Mcnamara (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This sound track was very enjoyable. It brings visions of the film back when listening to it. A must for all Harry Potter fans or people who appreciate good quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What? Not Williams?, 29 Nov 2005
I went to see the movie this Sunday just past (27th Nov) and before I went, I looked up the album, interested to get it as I already have the other three Harry Potter scores. When I saw it wasn't John Williams' work I was severely disappointed and went to the cinema feeling a little anxious about the music. All I can say is although it isn't up to Williams' standards, it is still an exceptionally good soundtrack and I will (eventually) be adding it to my collection! Oh, and the film's pretty good too! :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overall Ok, but nothing special..., 20 Nov 2005
By A Customer
Overall, it is just "yet another film score", with some nice moments. I can imagine a lot of composers out there being able to do the same, if not better, given the opportunity.
Just one point of interest: am I the only one who thinks that the beginning of the "Potter Waltz" sounds suspiciously similar to the Love Theme from Cinema Paradiso??? It was very obvious to me since the first time I heard this piece of music on TV during all these preview programs...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the magic has gone from this 4th. soundtrack, 18 Nov 2005
By A Customer
Not realising that the 4th. soundtrack is not from the capable hands of John Williams I was looking forward to yet another magical musical installment.
A fairly promising start, vaguely reminding you of the familiar Harry Potter themes of previous soundtracks, but then I became more and more aware that this could not possibly be the work of John Williams. Further themes touch on Lord of the Rings-like tracks (but nowhere near as good) and the Hogwarts March would not be out of place in the new Wallace and Gromit movie.
The last few tracks are not even worth mentioning, they are just plain horrible.
I will have to watch the film to see how the track works as part of it, but on its own it is not worth listening to.
John Williams is no doubt a hard act to follow, and maybe there is no need to literally step into his footsteps, but this attempt has failed completely for as far as I am concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars new but not for the long listen, maybe?!, 6 Dec 2005
Not much Potter in the new soundtrack, maybe they shouldn't have used the trailer music?!. Wears thin in the long run if you ask me.
Has the Badelt connection their hands in it, and why could they have used the music for Lord of the Rings? Many questions, but the soundtrack is not so bad after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire (Standard Release)
Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire (Standard Release) by Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire Soundtrack
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews