Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best by a mile & a real treat of a rock album., 9 Aug. 2006
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marauder (Audio CD)
What a truly brilliant, no frills, uncomplicated,barn storming rock album. I've owned this since it first came out & I have never, never tired of it.
Yes - it is even better than the much admired "Highway Song Live" album(& that tells you how good it is).
"Strikes" , another fans favourite, although a very decent album, on the whole, gets nowhere near this classic in my humble opinion (the marvellous Highway Song,the standout track on "Strikes" excluded !!)
Every song is fantastic. Not a single poor track, no fillers, just pure unadaltered excellence.
From the storming "Good Morning" & "Dry County",to the slower "Diary Of A Working Man" & the uplifting "Rattlesnake Rock N Roller" , it's an album Skynyrd would have been proud of ,although a bit more frantic than anything they ever did(& isn't Ricky Medlocke playing with Skynyrd now ??)
A must for all rock fans - if you don't own this you really are missing out on an absolute gem, a definitive rock classic
I love this album - buy it & I'm sure you will too.
If you do buy only one Blackfoot album get this. If you buy this you'll probably feel the need to get Highway Song Live - go mad,get them both !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC,, 13 Feb. 2007
By 
This review is from: Marauder (Audio CD)
On a par with Highway song live. The bands best studio record "Marauder" is full of hard rocking, melodic, soulful, classic rock music. As a previous reviewer has said "there is not a dud track here". Buy it you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best rock albums I ever heard., 11 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Marauder (Audio CD)
Without doubt this was Blackfoot's finest album. From the storming opener 'Good Morning', to the wistful closer 'Searchin', every track is a corker, no fillers here. Ricky Medlocke produced the finest singing of his career to match the most consistent set of songs they ever released. The albums prior to this were more authentic perhaps (i.e. they sounded more like Lynyrd Skynyrd) and the albums after went further into commercial territory, but this album was the ideal mix between the two. This remains one of the best rock albums I ever came across, and 20 years on I can still listen to this with a big cheesy grin on my face. No frills, no pretensions, no A-Levels required to understand it. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, great fun!, 25 Oct. 2005
By 
Dr. A. Large - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marauder (Audio CD)
Blackfoot broke into a UK rock market dominated by the NWOBHM (New Wave of British Heavy Metal) acts in the early eighties. And they did off the back of solid Southern Rock albums like Marauder from 1981 as well as working hard on the concert circuit where their set features many classics from Marauder.
Blackfoot were great fun but could also be more melancholy, such as here on Diary of a Working Man. Social awareness appears too, in the form of Fire of the Dragon lamenting drug addiction. But it is the fun, uplifting songs where Blackfoot really shine and guarantee to make you smile. This album opens with Good Morning, and it is a great wake up call. Fly Away is a great pick-me-up and Dry County must contain the best double-entendre of any song (listen to it and work it out for yourself).
For the 21st century, the forty minutes or so of music seems a bit mean as there are no bonuses included. But the tracks hang together well and more tracks would be superfluous. The music is timeless and Rick Medlocke (now a member of Lynyrd Skynyrd) is just a great character vocalist. Recommended more than Molly Hatchet or Lynyrd Skynyrd any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blackfoot - Marauder, 7 April 2012
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marauder (Audio CD)
Blackfoot are a Florida based Southern Rock band started around 1970 by bassist Greg T. Walker and Singer/Guitarist Rick Medlocke (of Lynryd Skynyrd) Their style combines the flavor of Southern Rock with a mixture Hard Rock and Heavy Metal.

Marauder is the band's fifth studio album. It was released in 1981 and has went on to become one of the fan's favourite Blackfoot albums; released during the band's creative and commercial high point, and spawning the famous tracks `Fly Away' and `Diary Of A Working Man.'

This was to be the last Blackfoot album before they changed their sound dramatically with the inclusion of synthesizers and a change in songwriting approaches.

For the most part, the album is a mixture between storming heavy numbers like `Good Morning,' `Too Hard To Handle' and `Rattlesnake Rock And Roller' with mid paced Hard Rock tracks and slower, quieter tracks like the delightful `Searchin' as well as the aforementioned `Diary Of A Working Man.'

Stylistically, the album is a nice mixture of everything that the band are good at and the quality of musicianship and songwriting is excellent. The album, alongside Strikes and Tomcattin' is often considered to be one of the three best albums that the band have ever released.

If you want some want some very fun music that takes the Southern flavor of Skynyrd, Outlaws and Molly Hatchet, but delivers it with the intensity of Iron Maiden and Judas Priest, then there is nothing so suitable to your tastes as the classic era of Blackfoot, which definitely includes this album.

Overall, if you are interested in Blackfoot or want more Southern Rock but harder and heavier than usual, then you really ought not be without a copy of Marauder. Its well produced, balances heaviness and commerciality and is simply packed full of excellent music and live favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone has their favourite album from their youth....., 14 Jan. 2003
By 
This review is from: Marauder (Audio CD)
...and this is mine. By a mile. If not longer. When this was released it took myself and the Glasgow rock scene (All hail The Venue!) by storm.

There are no weak tracks, no fillers, no throw aways, just great songs, great energy and the feeling that you've just had a great old time listening to great rock'n'roll.

Opener Good Morning epitomises everything that was good about Rock music in the late 70's early 80's. If this song don't move you, you're dead, that simple.

It would be fantastic to see them all back together, rather than Ricky with some young muso's, but without Jackson Spires (RIP), who knows what will happen.

I was lucky enpough to be at the Glasgow Apollo when they toured this album, and it remains in my memory even now. We had a Confederate flag which the band signed afterwards, and which Ricky noticed from the stage. God, I wish it were then again!!!!

As you will have gathered I love this album to death.

Please buy it and listen. Trust me (and those other reviewers, too), you will not be disappointed.

Rock on.

C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Rock album of the last Century!!, 30 May 2013
By 
Doyle (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marauder (Audio CD)
Blackfoot effortlessly straddled the genres of Southern Rock (more Skynyrd than Skynyrd?) and a very British sound under the influence of Cream, Free, Hendrix with a bit of a nod to motorhead for the fast and furious 'Good Morning' (Motorhead with melody and soul!!) and AC/DC with the cruch of 'Payin for it' That said it is very much a unique sound with Rickey Medlockes second to none soulful vocals, Jackson Spires furious but inventive drums, the twin guitar assault of Rickey and Charlie Hargrett and Geg T Walker's 'gutbucket bass' (OK, i borrowed that phrase from the sleevenotes of Highway Song: Live) ....so, on to Marauder - Simple Blackfoot's finest hour, and the peak of their achievments. You get an incredible variety of light and shade from the grinding riffs of Good morning and TOO hard to handle, to the more introspective narrative of 'Diary of a working man, which is such a heartbreaking tale it really brings a tear to the eye of a grown man!! Then there is the good time Boogie Woogie of Rattlesnake rock and rolller with Shorty Medlocke's spoken and Banjo intro, and the Slowburning build up of Searchin'. These are real songs about life, unlike much of today's fake plastic music. Blackfoot don't just sing it, they LIVE IT!! You will NOT find a better Hard Rock album from the last century (and YES, I do have Physical Graffitti, Paranoid and Jailbreak!!) If you have never heard these Crazy Southern Rockers (and sadly many haven't ) then there is no better place to start than Marauder. Check it out!!
(If there was a 6th star, I would gladly give it!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the Blackfoot you`ll ever need, 9 May 2010
By 
Slurms McKenzie (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marauder (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic rock album. I loved it when I first heard it, way way back, and have just bought it again on CD, and do you know what? It`s still great, and sounds fresh despite being nearly 30 years old. There might just be a couple of other Blackfoot songs you feel you need - "Highway Song", "Train Train" and "Queenie" for example - but this is the best album; consistently high class heavy Southern-flavoured rock. Smokin` guitars, great lyrics and singing, power bass and drums. Skynyrd with the amps set to 11, and with the distortion on.
Song for song - "Good Morning", one of the great all-time album openers. "Payin' For It", a classic, classic track. "Diary Of A Workingman", wow, an absolute epic of slow build acoustic and heavy riff and solo. "Too Hard To Handle", another great rocker. "Fly Away", probably the most commerical track, but none the worse for that. "Dry County", Rickey addresses the horrors of a world without liquor...and in "Fire Of The Dragon", the real horrors of heroin. "Rattlesnake Rock 'N' Roller", Shortey Medlocke creates a great intro with his banjo-pickin`, great rocker. "Searchin'" - The only way to end a Southern rock album; slow intro with guitar solo, ending in furious multi-pronged guitar assault. I`ve never found anything wrong with that format! Brilliant album; not only was it not bettered by Blackfoot, it has hardly been bettered by anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Rockin!!, 28 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marauder (Audio CD)
From the moment 'Good Morning' tumbles out of your speakers and that daft grin develops from ear to ear as you listen to those wonderful lyrics about 'Long Haired Lazy Heads'(weren't we all,still are in my case) you know this is going to be good and it is,Blackfoots finest moment a superlative studio album which betters what went before(and with 1980's Tomcattin,thats a bold statement) and was never equalled by any studio disc that followed.

Highlights? are plentiful,actually every track is a belter, be it the pop sensibility of 'Fly Away',the strutting 'Payin For It',the blistering rockers 'Too Hot Too Handle,Dry County & Rattle snake Rock N Roller' whilst epics such as 'Diary of a Workinman,Fire of the Dragon and Searchin' All confirm how great a ROCK band they were.

This is the bands peak ,the best collection of songs they ever wrote and the playin simply superb,this should have taken them all the way to the top,that it didnt will always be a travesty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars forgotten classic, 23 Feb. 2010
By 
A. Jardine (cambs, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marauder (Audio CD)
After hearing diary of a working man on planet rock it reminded me of other songs from blackfoot and just had to buy this again, vinyl version is long hidden away.
an absolute blinding start with good mornin and its just high quality songs all the way through ending up with searchin.
Diary of a working man is one of the best songs from the early 80s, along with songs from blackfoots other albums (highway song easily compares to freebird) but for some reason blackfoot never got that much recognition.
Lead singer ricky medlocke is now lead guitarist with lynyrd skynyrd but for me it seems a waste of a superb singing voice and i wish that after this LS tour ricky rejoins blackfoot so that a new generation of people can enjoy what they have to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marauder
Marauder by Blackfoot
Buy MP3 Album£6.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews