Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Todd Rundgren's 1973 psychedelic masterpiece comes to life
Brian Wilson started the trend several years ago when he performed the album "Smile" for the very first time. Recently, Van Morrison performed the entirety of "Astral Weeks" to rave reviews, as did Lou Reed with the "Berlin" album last year and the year before that.

It was only a matter of time until the enigmatic pop raconteur, Todd Rundgren, re-visited his...
Published on 23 May 2009 by Treat Reynolds

versus
1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
I heard this album ONCE as a teeneager in about 1975 when at a party with some "cool" older people. At the time, I tought it was fantastic.
Years went by and I never plucked up the courage to actually buy it (I experimented with Utopia "Oops, Wrong Planet"...) and an opportunity to hear it didn't arise.
The other week I was watching Danny...
Published 21 months ago by Ricky


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Todd Rundgren's 1973 psychedelic masterpiece comes to life, 23 May 2009
By 
This review is from: A Wizard, a True Star (Audio CD)
Brian Wilson started the trend several years ago when he performed the album "Smile" for the very first time. Recently, Van Morrison performed the entirety of "Astral Weeks" to rave reviews, as did Lou Reed with the "Berlin" album last year and the year before that.

It was only a matter of time until the enigmatic pop raconteur, Todd Rundgren, re-visited his 1973 psychedelic masterpiece "A Wizard, A True Star" (he'll perform the British Premiere of this seminal album at the London HMV Hammersmith Apollo on 6th February 2010).

A Wizard, A True Star defied the law of gravity when it was originally released on an unsuspecting public 36 years ago. The vinyl edition of the album clocked in an hour's worth of running time, and back in those days, albums, on average, lasted 30-35 minutes.

Forget about the running time shenanigans, think about the music. It was insane but melodic, pretty but subversive, poptastic but bombastic, sexy but banal, exciting and futuristic, progressive and intuitive.

Rundgren encapsulated everything glam rock and prog rock, pop and soul couldn't fathom - a reason to live, and a reason to believe.

From the technicolor blast of "Zen Archer" to "You Need Your Head", "You Don't Have to Camp Around", "Just One Victory", "Dogfight Giggle", "Does Anybody Love You?", "Just Another Onionhead", "Never, Never Land" to the essential "International Feel" - this was the album that made David Bowie do a re-think, and also made every half decent rock star throw the rulebook out the window.

From Daft Punk to Hot Chip, all the really cutting edge bands look to Wizard as the peak of sonic perfection. If there's one psychedlic prog rock pop album you need to add to your collection, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why isn't more music like this??!!?, 30 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Wizard, a True Star (Audio CD)
I wasn't sure about this at first, but after finding an old vinyl import copy, it has rarely left my turntable! International Feel is a great opener of the 'uplifting anthem' type; Zen Archer complete with arrow sfx is class; Rock and Roll Pussy sounds like early 70's Zappa; Sometimes.. is one of the best soul/ ballad songs ive ever heard! Some of the synth sounds are a bit dated, but hey, this is the early 70's - all synths sound dated! In short,a superb record - buyit NOW!! Truly, dey dont make em like dat no more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best, 25 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: A Wizard, a True Star (Audio CD)
It is a serious injustice to award this album only 5 stars. Worth at least 7. Perhaps Todds finest and most intense work and demands several listens to appreciate what a superbly talented musician Todd was. Just one Victory always leaves me in a cold sweat and When the Sh -t hits the fan middle break suddenly erupts is there any other artist who can make an album as good as this. No.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rundgren's Kaleidoscopic Masterpiece, 22 April 2013
I don't think I had ever read anything where Todd Rundgren talks about this 1973 masterly 'concept' album - until just now in fact, in the form of the Guardian's article revisiting the making of the album 40 years on. Rundgren does not, however, address the album's perhaps rather immodest (but maybe justified) title, but instead blathers on about what he was hoping (largely unsuccessfully I feel) to achieve with his new 'project', Utopia. Now, of course, Utopia did do some good things, albeit, for me at least, they eventually pursued their prog-rock tendencies rather too far. Similarly, Rundgren put together a great set of 'pop' songs on Something/Anything and had some great moments on Todd (A Dream Goes On Forever, Heavy Metal Kids, Sidewalk Cafe, The Last Ride, etc), but there surely can't be much doubt that A Wizard, A True Star represents the peak of the man's musical achievement. As something of an aside, the fact that the album only charted in the US at number 86, whereas certain other concept albums of the same period occupied the charts for weeks on end simply beggars belief.

It is difficult to know where to begin with such a diverse and idiosyncratic sets of songs. Suffice to say that there really should be something for everyone here, from the sublime (Hunky Dory or Bacharach-like?) melodies of Never Never Land (from the musical Peter Pan), You Don't Have To Camp Around, Sometimes I Don't Know What To Feel, Does Anybody Love You?, Zen Archer and I Don't Want Tie You Down, through the dynamic, sweeping (Ezrin-period Alice Cooper-sounding?) rock of International Feel, When The Sh?t Hits The Fan, You Need Your Head, Is It My Name? to the quirky pop sensibilities of the likes of Tic Tic Tic It Wears Off, Rock And Roll Pussy, Flamingo and Just Another Onionhead. In describing such a multiplicity of styles, I haven't even managed to get on to the 'completely out of left field' phenomenon that is the superlative soul medley of Curtis Mayfield's I'm So Proud, Smokey Robinson's Ooh Baby Baby, The Delfonics' La La Means I Love You and the eccentric, jazzed-up version of The Capitols' Cool Jerk. That then (pretty much) only leaves album closer the adopted concert-closer and positive anthem Just One Victory (which I would consider in the same vein as something like Springsteen's Land Of Hope And Dreams). If that wasn't enough, the man assembled a great cast of supporting musicians for the album, particularly on the brass - featuring jazz men Randy and Michael Brecker and ace sax player, David Sanborn.

All-in-all, a remarkable achievement that has been on and off my 'turntable' for nigh on 40 years - albeit, I probably hadn't listened to it for the best part of 20 years in the latter part of the period, but like all true classics it eventually comes back to bite you. Is there anything of comparable diversity and quality that has been produced since its release? One album, in particular, springs to my mind - The Magnetic Fields' magnificent 69 Songs.

Oh, and to cap it all, it is also (allegedly) Danny Baker's favourite album of all time (I think that should be treated as a positive - only kidding Danny).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "…The Best Example..." – A Wizard, A True Star DELUXE EDITION CD (2014) by TODD RUNDGREN, 22 May 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Wizard, A True Star (Audio CD)
Coming after the double-album artistic high of "Something/Anything?" in March 1972 – in the eyes of most fans June 1973’s single LP "A Wizard, A True Star" only cemented Rundgren’s genius even more. It was psychedelic, fun, melodic and more adventurous than the double that preceded it – and it was cool too. It’s hardly surprising therefore that Edsel have chosen it as one of three Rundgren albums worth celebrating with a packaging upgrade ("Something/Anything?" and "Todd" from 1974 are the other two). Here are the Zen Archer details…

UK released 19 May 2014 (27 May in the USA) - Edsel EDSA 5028 (Barcode 740155502836) is a single CD reissue of their October 2011 Expanded Version of "A Wizard, A True Star" - only this time it’s in a case bound hardback book (56:00 minutes). The attached booklet within has liner notes by Paul Myers from his superb tome "A Wizard, A True Star – Todd Rundgren In The Studio" and is an excellent read. The gatefold sleeve to the Bearsville vinyl album is here – as is the lyric insert that came with original copies. Unfortunately the barely legible hand-written details and lyrics on that page insert are now shrunk – and even more unreadable. The hard card case bound book has a details sticker on the outer shrink-wrap that easily peels off (if you want to attach it to the book cover).

There is no new remaster that I can hear – this is the Edsel October 2011 version - that in itself was a Peter Rynston UK master using the 1993 American Rhino remasters. Don’t get me wrong – the sound is superb – but the only real upgrade here is the packaging - which is a rather lovely thing to behold…

Producing and playing every instrument whilst being (admittedly) stoned out of his tiny fuzzed-up mind – “Wizard’s” various 19 tracks sound like a splurge – but a good one at that. “Zen Archer”, “Le Feel Internationale”, “Sometimes I Don’t Know What To Feel”, “I Don’t Want To Tie You Down” and the fabulous upbeat glory to “Just One Victory” – it’s all so melodic and trippy cool. Tracks like “You Don’t Have To Camp Around” and “Rock And Roll Pussy” with their one-minute madness can admittedly irritate and the cover versions medley of 10 minutes may overstay it’s welcome somewhat – but the melodies are all gorgeous. And at a playing time of 56 minutes – the original vinyl LP was always a compromise as a listening experience – so the remaster alters all of that – and so much for the better.

Rundgren would release the massively disappointing double album “Todd” next in May 1974 - but would regain his crown with November 1974’s “Todd Rundgren’s Utopia” which was an entirely Prog Rock album - and is a masterpiece of the genre in my eyes – especially the astonishing 30-minute Side 2 opus “The Ikon”.

It won't be everyone's cup of Darjeeling for sure and some may feel that in 2014 it's rather dated now. But for me this is a very cool reissue indeed – and from here its jump back Jack to "Something/Anything?" for more of the Toddster's glory daze…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wizard ? no... a Genius, 16 Nov 2007
This review is from: A Wizard, a True Star (Audio CD)
This is the album that could have killed music because after listening to it everyone else should have just given up.

Clever lyrics, fantastic artwork/montage on inner sleeve,(on the LP version). great attention to detail,this album needs a few listens,before you realise where Todd is coming from and........ headphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the wizard that was an amazing star, 7 April 2008
By 
This review is from: A Wizard, a True Star (Audio CD)
after hearing this album on the way home from cardiff to swansea on a friends tape player in the car, I immedietly bought it here on amazon, that must have been about 6 years ago now. In a nut shell its without a doubt todds finest album and Im pretty sure he's not going to top it. From start to end its pure genius and it is still as regular as clockwork on my turn table. the songs are amazing and the production is class, buy this one before any other of his albums and it wont dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unadulterated True Wizardry, 21 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Wizard, a True Star (Audio CD)
The immense body of work by Todd, not forgetting his many accomplishments as a producer, have this album at its pinnacle, in my humble opinion. The mere fact that even on the previous Something/Anything he had laid down most of the tracks by himself put him way ahead of his time and doing Mike Oldfield like things well before Tubular Bells. It took me a while to get into him back in the 70's but once I became a fan...I have never wavered in my admiration for his range and exceptional abilities.
This album could well have the earliest of 'New Music' despite the rudimentary electronic equipment of the time, it should be listened to loud...from beginning to end of its 59 minutes by which time, if its a first listening you will want to hear it again and again and again to come to understand the vastness of the versatility and the beauty of its composition. Truly a classic, ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential, 17 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Wizard, a True Star (Audio CD)
This album is like a condensed history of all the best things about pop music done in Todd's own inimitable fashion. From the opening of International Feel to the glorious ending of Just One Victory the listener is taken on a magical ride the likes of will never be heard again. Creativity, passion, imagination and talent all go to make A Wizard A True Star the Salvidor Dali of pop. No wonder Prince was such a fan, this album potrays Todd's genius to the full
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Todd is Godd, 27 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wizard/A True Star (MP3 Download)
Already had the remastered CD . For some silly reason I hoped that MP3 download would cut out some of the gaps. This is impossible with MP3 unless you use something like Rock BOX.
All the same a brilliant album from on of Rock/Soul musics genuouses . Very annoyed with myself that I didn't make the effort to see Todd perform it at London Hammersmith February 2010.
Would appreciate any feed back haow to deal with MP3 gaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Wizard/A True Star
A Wizard/A True Star by Todd Rundgren
Buy MP3 Album£8.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews