Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovin' it...
Lots of people say that only `spotty kids' listen to Slipknots music (and that it isn't really music at all).

Well, I'm a well educated, self-employed 28 yr old, who has recently bought this album (along with `Iowa' and `The Subliminal Verses'). And all I can say is, that it's absolutely brilliant.

This will go down in heavy metal history as one of...
Published on 25 Oct 2007 by Not a Fanboy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Noose
The darlings of the nu-metal explosion, Slipknot ruled all that was metal at the turn of the century. They were fresh, vigorous and had anger and youthful exuberance coming out the wazoo. And they had eminent marketability. Their music was a sort of mixture between death metal, rap metal and hardcore with a bit of drum and bass for atmosphere. And their look, whatever...
Published on 4 May 2011 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovin' it..., 25 Oct 2007
This review is from: Slipknot (Audio CD)
Lots of people say that only `spotty kids' listen to Slipknots music (and that it isn't really music at all).

Well, I'm a well educated, self-employed 28 yr old, who has recently bought this album (along with `Iowa' and `The Subliminal Verses'). And all I can say is, that it's absolutely brilliant.

This will go down in heavy metal history as one of THE greatest albums ever made.

Slipknot are one of those bands (along with others [in my opinion]: Nirvana, Metallica, Rage Against The Machine, and Green Day) that defied convention. They created music in a style that they wanted to hear, and to stuff anyone else. They merge heavy metal with nu-metal with death metal, with heavy punk - in short - groundbreaking.

A lot has/is written about what Slipknots' songs are all about. But if you research what they say their intention was, and study the lyrics for yourself - you'll begin to see how poetic and intelligent, the songs actually are, through the beautifully crafted angry lyrics.

It's not mindless noise, you couldn't get any random person off the street to produce an album like this (unlike Pop music with `X-Factor' et al).

Definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FUTURE CLASSIC, 2 May 2004
By 
Pascal J Middlemiss (Spalding, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slipknot (+Bonus) (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant!! In 10 years time it will be to nu-metal music as Nirvanas Nevermind is to grunge! This band is a breath of fresh air to the sudden influx of nu-metal bands that appeared on the scene after Korns debut album. Slipknot have managed to create a form of melodic death metal which many thought could not be done. This album has been fantasticly produced by Ross Robinson (korn, Limp Bizkit) and signalled the rebirth of a dying nu-metal genre. Nu-metal is back and while this album is not for everybody, if you like the hard stuff then this is it! This particular version of the album is a must for any true slipknot fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest albums you could own, 15 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Slipknot Digipack (Audio CD)
From the looped intro of '742617000027' through to final track 'Scissors', the eighteen-legged hate machine known as Slipknot take you on a musical journey, the likes of which you may never have heard. This album has it all. From eardrum battering tracks such as '(sic)' and 'Surfacing' to slightly "mellower" tracks such as 'Wait & Bleed', there is something on this realease for every metal fan. Granted, the image may put people off as being a gimmick to sell more, but I personally heard them before I saw what they looked like, and if you listen to the CD and let the music take over, then you will forget that masks and boiler suits dominate the image. A large number of people will have this CD by now, but if you don't, it really is a must have album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best album ever, 8 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. Andrew Packham "metalheadman" (grantham, lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slipknot (Audio CD)
this is really the best.

admititly the digipack is better cause of purity

tracks

1- 742617000027 : good, smart build up to a great album 8/10

2- (sic): one of most brutal songs ever. superb 10/10

3- eyeless: another classic with an amazing climax 10/10

4- wait and bleed: not as brutal as the first 2 but still great 9/10

5- surfacing: your new national anthem. music dosen't get better 10/10

6- spit it out: a fast mash of techno and death metal 10/10

7- tattered and torn: an eerie, slow, epic masterpiece 9/10

8- me inside: not as good as the others. but still rips your face off 8/10

9- liberate: great opening riff. another stand-out track 9/10

10- prosthetics: one of my favorites. an haunting track indeed 9/10

11- no life: a bit like me inside. good chorus though 8/10

12- diluted: also one of my favs. some good use of samples 10/10

13- only one: bit forgetable. still. not to bad 7/10

14- scissors: well. truly one of the most hauntingly epic songs ever. an absolute gem. brill. 10/10

sercret track- eyore: keep the cd going after scissors for ten mins and you'll hear people talking. this goes on for a while then eyore kicks in. a nice treat at the end of the best album ever 10/10

buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of the past decade, 14 Nov 2008
By 
T. Edmunds (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slipknot (Audio CD)
Best album of the past ten years - I'm serious.

'Slipknot' crystalises all that is good about hardcore metal. I've loved this kind of stuff from the mid 80s, all the way from Celtic Frost through Naplam Death in the Lee Dorian days to 90s death metal. Great stuff that's always scratched an itch for me.

But nothing brings it all together like this album. It just gets everything so... RIGHT. The combination of emotion - raw aggresion, rage and a bit of humour - with melodies, awesome percussion, theatricality is spot on and quickly gets under your skin. Nothing quite else really comes close to making it all work so well. Vocals, riffs, samples - everything is just in the right place.

This is a truely stunning set of tracks that brings a smile to my face every time I listen to it. It is a special album and you should buy it immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Knot, 6 Sep 2007
This review is from: Slipknot (Audio CD)
This album is split into two halves. The first half sounds like a band who are adept at copying Korn and doing it well, with thier own additions to Korn's sound. The other half is vile, vomit-inducing and yet addictive insanity. I use the word carefully. This isn't the half-assed 'insanity' of The Used or Gallows - instantly replicated and fun to listen to. This is the insanity of Marilyn Manson and Eminem, which leads to many persons (mostly parents) baying for the artists blood.
Long Live The Knot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely amazing, 16 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Slipknot (Audio CD)
Slipknot are possibly the best band to come out of the nu-metal scene since Korn released their first album. Whilst bands like Korn and Limp Bizkit have gone softer and absorbed hip hop into their sound, Slipknot do no such thing - their music is brutal and unrelenting. Showing hatred for absolutely EVERYTHING, especially in the lyrics for songs like "Surfacing", their compassion for their music is fantastic. Brutality is the order of the day, most evident on the songs "Sic" and "Surfacing", but also throughout the entire album. Standout tracks are the first five excluding the intro ("Sic", "Eyeless", "Wait And Bleed", "Surfacing" and "Spit It Out"), plus "Purity", "Liberate", "Prosthetic", and "Scissors", as well as the bonus tracks "Me Inside" and "Get This" and the hidden track "Eeyore". Easily the best album of last year, and with a sold out UK tour and writing for the second album underway already, the best is quite possibly yet to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If In doubt, get it, 1 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Slipknot (Audio CD)
If you like metal and you want to hear something that is actually different from everything else that is being brought out at the moment, get this. The drummer has to be one of the best, most adaptable ones I have ever heard. Nothing that I own is so intense (nothing I own in this genre has nine members that are all amazing at what they do). Don't look at them as a gimmick, listen to the music and be impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly fantstic, 14 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Slipknot (Audio CD)
Considering I'm a fan of everything from Nirvana to Public Enemy to D'Angelo to Pitchshifter, I felt that be looking at Slipknot, that I wouldn't like the music (the sucker that I am!) Then I saw them on TFI Friday, and the performance blew me away, literally! So, I borrowed the album off a mate, and to my suprise, I really enjoyed it! The songs are beautifaully constructed with some great production work on it. The songs are even quite catchy and memorable, with the lyrics sticking out like a Steps fan at one of their concerts. Corey clearly indicates all his anger, and like other metal 'grunt' singers i.e. the guy out of Pantera, don't know his name, have got really good voices! What is the world coming too! Metal guys with sweet voices.
This album will chane your perception of everything on this planet, for certain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars full of beans, 7 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Slipknot (Audio CD)
OK, I listened to my friend's copy fully expecting to hate it, thinking "Hype Merchants" BUT... it really does grow on you. They are not as one dimensional as you might expect and while their sound is definitley an aural assault, they carry it off. The drums are some of the fastest I have heard and work well with the heavy sound. The 'knot are also in possesion of a good scratching DJ, unlike many bands doing the rounds at the moment, so all in all I was quite impressed. The vocalist of the band will never win any songwriting awards but for pure energy you can't fault him, and he even makes some growling sounds that are quite fun to try and sing along with. I would recommend having a listen before you buy but try and be open minded or you may be doing yourself out of a refreshing, energetic brew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slipknot [Explicit]
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews