Customer Reviews


8 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So yeah, 12 Nov. 2008
By 
P. Warren (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art Of Saying Nothing (Audio CD)
Saw Imperial Leisure supporting Less Than Jake in Southampton the other night. Never even heard of them, but i went straight out to buy the album.

What more can i say?! (i actually thought they played better than LTJ, who are otherwise my favourite band).

An excellent sound. I also listen to a lot of RX Bandits, Sublime, Catch 22, Capdown etc. and these guys measure up perfectly, yet at the same time they are something else altogether!

(Y)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, upbeat album, 7 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Art Of Saying Nothing (Audio CD)
I saw these guys supporting Less Than Jake, and live, were much better than the headlining act - owing in part to the fact they were obviously having an absolute ball on stage. I put off buying the album for a while, I find that ska often doesn't translate as well on disc as it does live (LTJ are magnitudes better on stage).

I bought the album, and loved it. Every track has personality - there doesn't seem to be anything that could be classed as filler. I generally love on or two tracks on an album and am unmoved by the rest - but I listened to this album, in completion over and over again.

The band's sense of fun penetrates the album - from the superficial bounciness of the ska, right to the - fantastically dark at times - lyrics. There's a real stamp of Britishness too, from the London accent to the anthem-y chant of "that's what you get, mate, that's what you get for being a wanker" in Alperton.

Stars for me include 'Beast'; fast-paced and bouncy and 'In a letter', highly melodic and anthemy. Five stars for the hours I've spent singing along at the top of my lungs, bouncing on my seat, whilst driving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Those aren't pillows..., 9 Oct. 2008
By 
Mr. M. J. Turner "Saucebag" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art Of Saying Nothing (Audio CD)
A box of fireworks accidentally igniting in a brewery. Next to a Hoedown. In Kings cross. At Christmas. In fancy dress. In a good way.

Eventually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars English Reggae Ska Punk, 4 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Art Of Saying Nothing (Audio CD)
This band really could do with more notice. They offer similar style to The King Blues, but give it their own vibe and would love if these guys would get a chance to play with them. That isn't to say they're better than King Blues, but they offer their own music which is unique enough to stand out. The lyrics touch mostly on youth issues, but the humour and lyrics delivers it greatly. Much of the album about London life, but it still works. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get the party started!, 17 Sept. 2009
By 
Maria "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art Of Saying Nothing (Audio CD)
I stumbled upon this band by chance at one of their gigs in Carnaby Street and they were absolutely fantastic so I bought the album straight away. This is a great live band, but what's great is you can still feel the energy when you listen to the CD - go on, put it on your ipod and make people smile when you dance your way from work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Imperial Pleasure!, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
R. A. Packwood "Rebeski" (Wootton Bassett, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art Of Saying Nothing (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album, full of fantastic, energetic songs, with some heartfelt ones thrown in at the end. Definately for anyone looking for some new music or like anything resembling ska/punk/hiphop/fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars madness cracked open, 9 Nov. 2008
This review is from: The Art Of Saying Nothing (Audio CD)
Pump your life, forget the world, pogo from your skin to the deepest bits inside. Massive tunes fed by IL's non-stop energy. Colin Murray knows! Yours life is not complete till you catch one of their gigs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super Album, Adult Less-Than-Jake, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art Of Saying Nothing (Audio CD)
Super Album, which I would describe as an adult Less-Than-Jake. Very bouncy and lively, I expect to hear it on a adrenaline sport video soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art Of Saying Nothing
The Art Of Saying Nothing by Imperial Leisure (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews