Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top dvd - on a top site...
Sorry about the title, couldn't resist it; but it makes sense to buy this dvd on Amazon, cheaper than on the BBC site even.

This was an excellent series on TV, and it is good to have it on DVD. In a series of instalments Parry takes us down the mighty river, from the tiny trickle up a volcano at Nevado Mismi, down to the Atlantic Ocean. While we get a lot of...
Published on 7 Dec 2008 by Henk Beentje

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thrifty on Amazon images
This is a good dvd as long as you're interested in learning things about the Amazon region from the inside.Most of the stories are very interesting and Bruce Parry is convincing.However this documentary is not for those of you who would like to see the beauty and vast expanses of Amazonia and the Amazon river.The landscapes Parry travels through are fleetingly...
Published on 3 May 2010 by Evangelos Tozos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top dvd - on a top site..., 7 Dec 2008
By 
Henk Beentje "Henk Beentje" (Kew, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
Sorry about the title, couldn't resist it; but it makes sense to buy this dvd on Amazon, cheaper than on the BBC site even.

This was an excellent series on TV, and it is good to have it on DVD. In a series of instalments Parry takes us down the mighty river, from the tiny trickle up a volcano at Nevado Mismi, down to the Atlantic Ocean. While we get a lot of nature, the main thing - as always with Parry - is/are the people living on the river and interacting with it. These vary from Indians slowly changing from their habitat and habits to loggers and miners, and Parry lives with each group for a while and takes part in their daily lives. The great thing about Parry is that he is a genuinely nice guy who is seriously interested in all that goes on, and his enthousiasm is contagious without becoming tiresome. He manages a real rapport with the people he lives with (briefly, but still!), and that includes loggers and miners, not people I thought I would greatly care about. I pay tribute to Parry for making me like those loggers - no mean feat.
But the best (and sometimes saddest) parts are those with the original Indian inhabitants, some of which we see hanging on to their old ways, but starting to suffer from outside influences; like the fever the child of some of Parry's friends is suffering from. I would have liked to hear how that story ended.
There are also scenes in large nature areas, run by the Government in collaboration with local people, as long as the locals adhere to a set of rules to ensure sustainability. Parry first shows us a group already on the Reserve, and then another group who wants to become part of the scheme too, but is still into illegal fishing, just to survive. Again, Parry manages to make you feel sympathy even for the people who are spoiling their own environment. He is very good, you can tell he really cares about what he is telling us about , and this is an excellent DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful multiple view on the life in the Amazon, 16 Feb 2009
By 
R. Boerboom "Randy" (Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
Bruce Parry gives you a beautiful look on the Amazon with a clear message; 'we'll need to protect the Amazon for all humanity'. Bruce Parry meets different kind of people during his trip from the source of the Amazon until the Atlanic Ocean. He speaks with the people who live in and work in the Amazon; the Indiantribes to the woodindustry and cocaplants. Trying to understand the lives from their point of view without judging them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic adventure i would highly reccomend this dvd if you ..., 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
What a fantastic adventure i would highly reccomend this dvd if you are the sort of person that is interested in climate change in the amazon and wanting to know what it is like to be in a tribe as Bruce Parry has such a way of telling you and describign smells and sights around him it is really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
Bruce Parry best ever travel writer so unassuming and so great to watch his adventures. My Grand-daughter who lives in NZ is going to the Amazon and I told her she must watch this video first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CHRISTMAS GIFT, 3 May 2013
By 
S. Trudgill "canary fan" (east anglia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this as a Christmas Gift for a friend - and he was thrilled with it!! A Great TV Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
I love this show

Bruce is awesome at getting inside the mindset of the tribes involved. It is fun, enjoyable and educational
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
Bruce Parry as always does a wonderful job following the mighty Amazon, introducing himself and us to the indigeonous peoples and spending time with them, seeing life from the perspective of tribespeople, miners, loggers, and those involved in the drug trade. We see the variety of people living by, from and off the Amazon and its tributaries.

My only disappointment was that I wanted to see more of how these people lived and survived. To understand better their interaction with the river and the impact it had on their lives, but nonetheless this series is an excellent watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
Superb teaching resource for pupils learning about ecosystems and the rainforest. Easy to use in bitesize clips and lower ability pupils have found this a particularly engaging way of accessing information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed watching this when it was on TV. Decided to buy it on DVD so could use clips for it in class as current topic on rainforests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Parrys Amazon - simply wicked, 27 May 2011
This review is from: Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because I had seen the 'Tribe' series on television and never got the chance to see much of the Amazon trek whilst it was on TV. I very much enjoy Bruce's style of documentary making. All the trademark elements of the tribe series are there - the instant immersion into tribal cultures, the psychedelic experimentation with various tribal 'drugs', and the affection and warmth displayed in every episode by the tribes peoples toward our Brucy. All this without a hint of cynicism or false intentions. Refreshingly, and as in his previous series, Bruce doesn't try to appear as something he is not, and is very aware of how his perceptions and biases should be tempered in order to bring the viewer the best experience of the cultures he intends to assay. He succeeds in this brilliantly, the focus of the show firmly on the tribal cultures and issues around them, whilst all the time Bruce is continuing to maintain the humble attitude that affords the show such credibility.

It is also great fun to watch and looks at the issue of maintaining tribal culture in a much broader sense to include the realism of a nation such as Brazil, which is very much a tiger economy, and thus has the issues associated with such success. It is in weighing up these weighty issues of development pitted against ancient culture, in a balanced way, that provides for the optimism that both can coexist that truly is a remarkable feature of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amazon [DVD]
Amazon [DVD] by Bruce Parry (DVD - 2008)
£7.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews