Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Discovering passion in the Florida swamps
In ADAPTATION, the audience views sequences from alternating storylines, one from the present and one 3-years past, until both converge at the film's conclusion.
In the "past", New York journalist Susan Orlean (Meryl Streep) is researching a story, eventually to become the book "The Orchid Thief", about John Laroche (Chris Cooper), whose passion is collecting...
Published on 28 Feb 2006 by Joseph Haschka

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little too clever
I bought this because I saw it some years ago and thought I remembered enjoying it. But with Nicolas Cage playing two roles, neither very attractive, and a setting of insecurity and angst in the steamy southern US it wasn't so enjoyable this time.
Everyone works very hard, but the story is so improbable that even Streep can't save it
Published 20 months ago by Roger Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter bore, 3 Nov 2008
By 
N. R. Ducker (North East, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adaptation [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I was going to do an indepth review of this movie, but then decided why should I put the effort in when nobody on the movie did?

The acting is the best part of the movie, they create an empathy that is the only thing keeping you for turning the TV off.

The storyline, plot and development are not exploited to the full potential, the idea is there but the execution is not.

Don't be fooled into thinking this is a beautiful movie that will keep you interested and leave you stunned, as it will achieve neither.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very depressive, 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: Adaptation [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The film started off interesting. Nicholas Cage stars as twin brothers who are both writing screenplays that are opposite to each other. The film is very strange to begin with, and I actually thought it might be worth while after reading the good reviews. The film is so depressive near to the end that the attempt at giving it a happy ending really doesn't make up for it. I'm not going to spoil the ending for people, but there's really nothing nice in this film that I can actually spoil. If you like dull and depressive films then buy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 21 Aug 2003
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Adaptation [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I saw this film because I was so enchanted with Chris Cooper's wonderful performance in "Seabiscuit." He is good here as well, but the movie itself....well, it's just not for me.
"Adaptation" stars Nicolas Cage as twins Charlie and Donald Kaufman. Neurotic Charlie's job is to adapt the book "The Orchid Thief" by Susan (Meryl Streep) Orlean for the screen. He apparently has a very loose grasp of reality to start with, and, faced with monumental frustration, begins to put himself into the screenplay, and has the real characters doing fictitious things, including attempted murder (of him!) Toothless Chris Cooper plays John, the eccentric orchid hunter, who combs Florida's swamps for the elusive "moth" orchid and who, in Charlie's mind, falls in love with Susan.
It was never clear to me what was real and what was a figment of Charlie's mind. Even the existence of brother Donald is questionable at times. The film's story (it couldn't be called a "plot") is completely surrealistic. Add to this the fact that Charlie and Donald Kaufman actually wrote the screenplay for "Adaptation," and that Susan Orlean really wrote a book called "The Orchid Thief" about a real man named John, and I was left confused and repelled by the characters and their actions. It is impossible to know what is real and what is fantasy, and none of the characters (especially the protagonist, Charlie) mattered to me.
Nicolas Cage is just okay as the brothers; he was repulsive and unbelievable. Streep is always flawless, but this script has her playing an unsympathetic, unlikeable woman I didn't care about at all. Oscar winner Chris Cooper, the reason I watched the film, showed great range as an actor, and certainly deserves points for losing several teeth for this part. His character was slightly sympathetic but mostly disgusting.
I recommend this film to those who like off-beat, avant-guard film-making; there is nothing traditional or familiar here. It was not to my liking, but I'm sure there are many who would enjoy this energetic romp into chaos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Adaptation, 16 July 2011
This review is from: Adaptation [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I didnt get it!!

I struggled to watch it all the way through, i keep thinking i better give it another go to see if i was just missing something, but havent been bored enough to do so yet!

Very disapointed as i LOVE Meryl Streep, but they do say every good actor has at least one bad film...This is certainly hers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You're guaranteed to be bored out of your skull, 11 Aug 2008
This review is from: Adaptation [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film is so bad i felt like someone was trying to punish me very VERY slowly how the actors looked at the script and thought "Hey, this'll make millions" must have been either drunk or stoned or both, and the leas said about the film the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Orchids as the meaning of life !???!, 7 Mar 2004
By 
S. Kumar "sunil72" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adaptation [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Having watched Memento and finding it a masterpiece of cinema, a friend (who didnt understand memento) suggested watching this...
SO...thinking this would make for a great evening of post pop corn debate and discussion...we put it on
To say we walked away empty would be an understatement of grand proportions
In summary:
- if you admire Orchids watch this
- IF you like bland and poor scripting watch this
- If you dig random ambling plot lines watch this
give someone a free meal in Africa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adaptation [DVD]
Adaptation [DVD] by Spike Jonze (DVD - 2008)
£3.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews