Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected
I bought this on a whim, just out of interest really, and didn't expect that I'd go back for repeated listens. On the one hand the score is quite predictably "Hollywood blockbuster"-ish with lots of big drums, urgent marcato strings and dark industrial synth sounds. But you get past that, and the vision of the score becomes clearer over repeated listens, and I began to...
Published on 31 Oct 2008 by P. Warren

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing
Whilst I really enjoyed the music that Zimmer and Howard produced for the film itself, I am a little disapointed that the album appears to be the "highlights" of the score, rather than a definitive reproduction of it. For example, you only get literally about 4-5 seconds of the opening scene (where the window is blown out and the robbers get onto the roof) (the tracks are...
Published on 8 Sep 2008 by B. J. Lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected, 31 Oct 2008
By 
P. Warren (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this on a whim, just out of interest really, and didn't expect that I'd go back for repeated listens. On the one hand the score is quite predictably "Hollywood blockbuster"-ish with lots of big drums, urgent marcato strings and dark industrial synth sounds. But you get past that, and the vision of the score becomes clearer over repeated listens, and I began to find it a very satisfying piece of work, and as an album, feel that the narrative and coherence works really well: the album flows seamlessly. Recommended for children of darkness everywhere.

On a different note, some reviewers commented that the album leaves off some of the score - but the CD comes in at 73 minutes, so you can't really complain that you don't get your money's worth. Possibly a double CD album would have nailed it 100%, but then maybe the album wouldn't have been so coherent, and anyway, it means you've got an excuse to watch the film for those missing parts eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belter, 22 Jun 2009
By 
As a soundtrack aficiando this ranks as one of my favourite of all time. I'm a big fan of both composers, and didn't think Zimmer would top either Gladiator or Hannibal but this is equally as good. The mark of a soundtrack in it's own right is that it can hold it's own without the film, whilst complementing the film and adding to it. This achieves that admirably. The opener "Why so serious" is electrifying, the use of sub-bass is brilliantly done and the use of the ticking clock very original. I love the way synthesiers have been used in harness with strings, it adds something mystical and gritty to the sound, reminiscent of Blade Runner and other Vangelis work.

All in all a brilliant piece of work, well worth buying the more expensive package for the second disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it again, 14 July 2008
By 
J. Reilly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard have done it again. An effortless masterpiece that thrills and chills with a grace that only they can produce. The film has not been released yet but the score is so emotional that I am sure that those that loved Batman Begins wil not be disappointed. Love and tragedy is played out perfectly throughout; the pace of the action sequences and high tension wire of suspense is so taught and precise that you really can get lost in Gotham and escape. Nolan credits Zimmer & Newton Howard for one of the reasons as to why he wanted to return to the Batman films. My only disappointment is that there are no lines from the characters within the soundtrack itself; but this soundtrack is so amazing it does not need the support of the cast. Some great orchestral high rise spiraling as Zimmer produced in Hannibal that provide real eerie moments of hairs on the back of your neck and goosepimples all at once. If this film is as good as its soundtrack then this will be the film of the year. I cannot wait.
RIP Heath Ledger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to your Zimmer collection, 15 July 2008
By 
Paul Tang "asfafa" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having heard the few audio teaser clips at the Dark Knight Score website, I knew I had to purchase this CD, and it definitely does not disappoint. There's a lot of electronic sounds in this score which may irritate purists, but it adds wonderfully to the tone and atmosphere of the music, making the film menacing.

Those who purchased the Batman Begins CD will recognise a few themes in this score, but they are not prominent and there is plenty of new material and themes. The tempo is also increased which puts you on the edge of your seat.

I am really looking forward to seeing this film, and the quality of the score bodes well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superior soundtrack, 14 Aug 2008
By 
Kevin Hall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Those who remember the Danny Elfman epics from the the Tim Burton films may well be surprised at how different this score is. Where as Elfman used a much more uptempo score with flurries of brass, the Zimmer/Howard score is alternately high percussive or symphonic with strings. Hans Zimmer's score is driving and percussive, similar in style to his scores for Crimson Tide and Gladiator but a a very dark feel all of its own. His music picks out the isolation of both Batman and the Joker, the former with a heroic, determined feel and the latter with dread and fear.

Like all great scores it can almost tell the story through music in its own right; John Williams' great scores for Star Wars is the kind of tradition this music belongs to. One of the best film scores I have heard in a long time and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Soundtrack, 29 July 2008
By 
T. Tordrup - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This soundtrack is a dark but beautiful soundtrack. I heard the soundtrack before I had the pleasure to see the movie. Before seeing the movie the soundtrack was good, with good tracks, but it seemed to miss something. Now that I have seen the movie, and know what the emotional feeling of the movie are, the soundtrack great... For me I now feel the anger, sorrow of the movie, but also feel of courage and men that are ready to sacrifice them self for the freedom of others.

The Soundtrack should be heard as one big seventy-five minutes track, there are really no stand out tracks, that but one. The "Why So Serious" (track number one), also know as the Joker theme. First times I was listening the track, I felt it was chaotic and strange. But know I understand it represents the Joker perfectly... He is chaos, but he is also a really intelligent enemy of the Dark knight also, and The Joker has a master plan, its hard too spot for all the confusion and anarchy. The same goes the "Why So Serious" track, listen carefully and you will discover that there is more to it then chaos.

It is a four star soundtrack by it self. But a Five star soundtrack if you have seen the The Dark Knight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star!!, 19 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. B. J. Thackray (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Top class package, for a top class soundtrack! Cannot fault this set as a companion to one of my favourite films.
All the best films have amazing soundtracks, this is no exception second disc is equal in quality to the first.
Packaging is superb, totally recommended for all soundtrack buffs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing piece of score, 3 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely one of my favourites from Zimmer. This and Hannibal are, for me, his best scores so far - and that includes the awesome Gladiator volumes.

As a standalone, listenable piece all the way through (not like a myriad of soundtracks) this really is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST LIKE BATMAN: DARK, CHAOTIC & MAJESTIC, 31 July 2008
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ever since THE ROCK and THE LAST SAMURAI had such an impressive soundtrack to be released! Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard did an incredible job in not only adding to the action on the screen but also capturing the essence of this new Batman.

Moving, exciting and ingenious. A true Masterpiece that can stand on its own as a piece of orchestral art. Strong percussions and nervous strings; brief melodies that build even higher tensions and the ever present thin black line of the Batman Theme to tie it all together. It is only deserving that the best movie this summer is accompanied also by the best Soundtrack.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 15 Mar 2009
For a person who has never really listened to the scores and music in a lot of films, this was my first time I have ever really listened to a movie soundtrack before. And what amazing work from Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard.

This product is very good, and the 2nd disc is even better featuring a lot of the scores from the movie. The only real problem I had was the way in which the discs were held. But not a really big problem if you're just going to listen to the discs in a CD changer.

Overall, really happy with purchase. An excellent soundtrack that truely made The Dark Knight complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Knight - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Standard Version)
The Dark Knight - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Standard Version) by The Dark Knight - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews